Name or Sex Change (Gender Marker) - Minor

Page Menu

Introduction

This page explains how to ask to change a minor's name, legal sex (sometimes called a gender marker), or both. A minor is someone who is under 18 years old. You cannot change a minor's name or legal sex to avoid creditors, fines, or sentences in criminal actions, or to commit fraud. The court will not change a name to one that is bizarre, too long, ridiculous, or offensive to common decency and good taste.

The page explains:

 

When can you change a minor's name or legal sex?

There are some requirements before you can change a minor's name or legal sex. Answer the questions below to learn more.

Yes - you must wait until the minor's lawsuits are all fully resolved and they are no longer on probation or parole

No - answer the next question

Yes - go to Step 1

No - you must wait until the minor has lived in the same county for at least one year. Then you must file in that county

 

Steps to ask for a name or legal sex change for a minor

There are 5 steps to changing a minor's name or legal sex. Sometimes you can skip the first step, but you must complete all other steps.

If you are not asking for a legal sex change, go to Step 2. If you are asking for a legal sex change, you must give the court proof that the minor is receiving appropriate clinical care or treatment for gender transitioning or change by a licensed medical professional. This can be a letter from a doctor.

You must include this proof when you file your court papers.

Once you have your proof, go to Step 2.

Fill out these forms:

  • 1158XX
  • Petition for Minor's Name or Sex Change - PDF | Word
  • Notice of Hearing on Petition for Minor's Name or Sex Change - PDF | Word
  • Order Changing Minor's Name or Sex - PDF | Word

File the papers with the district court in the county where the minor has lived for the past year. If you are asking for a legal sex change, include proof of treatment, and if you are asking for a name or legal sex change for a minor 10 years old or older, include the Department of Corrections Certification.

Pay the filing fee. If you can't afford it, you can ask for a fee waiver.

The court will schedule a hearing. If the minor is on the Sex and Kidnap Offender registry, send a copy of the Notice of Hearing on Petition for Minor's Name or Sex Change to the Offender Registration Program at least 30 days before the hearing. Mail or email the notice of hearing to:

Offender Registration Program
14717 South Minuteman Drive
Draper, UT 84020
registry@utah.gov

Some courts require you to take a Special Step. This could be required if the minor is 10 years old or older. If you are required to do this, once you complete the Special Step, go to Step 3.

Once you have filed your papers, go to Step 3.

If the other parent agrees with the petition, have them fill out this form:

  • 1247XX

File this with the court.

If the other parent does not agree with the petition, you will need to have them served with these documents according to Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 4:

  • Petition for Minor's Name or Sex Change
  • Summons (choose the right one depending on whether they live in Utah or not)
    • Summons (In State) - PDF | Word
    • Summons (Out of State) - PDF | Word
  • Notice of Hearing on Petition for Minor's Name or Sex Change

Once you have served the other parent, file proof of service with the court.

If you can't find the other parent you can ask the court for permission to use alternative service. For information about the process and forms, see our Alternative Service page.

Once you have either gotten consent or had the other parent served and you have filed proof of service with the court, go to Step 4.

The court will schedule a hearing after you file your papers. You must attend. At the hearing, the judge may ask you questions about your petition.

The judge will review the petition. If everything is in order, the judge will sign an order changing the minor's name or legal sex.

Once you have the order from the court, go to Step 5.

To change the minor's birth certificate, go to the Utah Office of Vital Records, pay the fee, and present a certified copy of the court's name or sex change order, as well as a valid picture identification. The Vital Records office is located at:

Utah Office of Vital Records and Statistics
288 North 1460 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-6105

You can also ask for an amended birth certificate by mail. You can write to:

Utah Office of Vital Records and Statistics
P.O. Box 141012
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1012

Some courts require an extra step. If the minor is 10 or older (if the minor is under 10, go to Step 2), start with this form:

  • 1705FA 

If the minor is on:

  • the Child Abuse Offender Registry, you cannot change the minor's name or legal sex.
  • the Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry, you can change the minor's name or legal sex, but you must convince the court that the change is not against the public interest.

Fill out the form and mail it with a self-addressed stamped envelope to the Offender Registration Program at the address listed on the form. If you do not include a self-addressed stamped envelope, the Offender Registration Program will not return the form to you. It may take some time for the Offender Registration Program to complete the form and return it to you.

Once you receive the completed form, go to Step 3.

 

Forms

Required Forms

  • 1158XX
  • Petition for Minor's Name or Sex Change - PDF | Word
  • Notice of Hearing on Petition for Minor's Name or Sex Change - PDF | Word
  • Order Changing Minor's Name or Sex - PDF | Word

Some courts require this if the minor is 10 years old or older

  • 1252XX 

Required Forms for the Other Parent's Consent, or to Serve the Other Parent

(Choose from one of these categories)

If the other parent agrees with the petition
  • Consent to Minor's Name or Sex Change - PDF | Word
If other parent does not agree with petition
If you can't find the other parent