About the Utah State Law Library
The State Law Library is open to the public. Our hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., except federal and state holidays.
- Patrons are welcome to:
- use the library's computers to access XChange, OCAP and forms on the court's website;
- access our print collection (briefs, superseded Utah code, and other materials);
- use the library's copier and scanner.
- Due to the Judicial Council's Administrative Order dated July 28, 2021, court patrons and personnel are required to wear masks in court buildings, including the Utah State Law Library.
- Patrons should practice physical distancing from staff and other patrons.
Library staff are also available to help by phone and email.
Patrons can access XChange at many district court locations. Call ahead to verify that a specific courthouse has XChange access.
The Utah State Law Library serves the legal information needs of Utah's courts, executive agencies, legislature, attorneys, and the public. While our collection is located in Salt Lake City, library services are available to everyone.
Legal Research and Advice Policy
Court employees are prohibited from giving legal advice. Advising people what the law is and how it applies to their situation is practicing law, which is what lawyers do.
Library staff are able to help you use the library, but we cannot research or interpret the law for you.
See the court's Finding Legal Help page for information about sources of legal help.
Law Library Staff Can:
Law Library Staff Cannot:
Computer Use Policy
The Utah State Law Library provides public computers to access court, government, and legal resources on the Internet.
- You may use our computers for court, government, or law-related research.
- You may save files to a flash drive or email documents to yourself at no charge.
- If others are waiting we will impose a 30 minute limit on XChange users, and a two hour limit on all other users.
By state law, only specific groups of state government employees may check out materials from the law library. All others are welcome to use materials in the library.
The Utah State Law Library has existed in some form since the Utah Territory was established. In fact, Congress appropriated $5000 for the library in the same enabling act that created the territory.
It took a couple of years for the collection to be purchased, and in 1852 the territorial legislature created the position of territorial librarian, with an annual salary of $400 and $150 for contingent expenses.
In 1890 the legislature broke up the library's collection, directing books "more useful to the University library" be given to the University of Deseret (today's University of Utah). Only the law-related books remained in the collection.
Utah State Library
When Utah became a state in 1896 the Territorial Library became the State Library.
Utah State Law Library
In 1957 the legislature changed the name of the library from the State Library to the State Law Library, and established a new, separate State Library.