Finding Legal Help
You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help.
Como encontrar ayuda legal
Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.
Asking to Remove Your Name from Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry
There are two ways a person can ask to remove their name from the Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry:
Whether you can make a request to the Department of Corrections or must file a petition with the court depends on the circumstances of your case.
Request to the Department of Corrections
Some offenses that used to require registration on the sex offender registry no longer do so. If a person is on the registry for one of these offenses, they can make a request to the Department of Corrections to remove their name from the registry. (Utah Code 77-41-113)
A person can make a request to the Department of Corrections to remove their name from the Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry if they were placed on the registry for the following offenses:
- a class B or class C misdemeanor for enticing a minor, Utah Code 76-4-401;
- kidnapping, based on Utah Code 76-5-301(1)(a) or (b);
- child kidnapping, Utah Code 76-5-301.1, if the offender was the natural parent of the child victim;
- unlawful detention, Utah Code 76-5-304;
- a third degree felony for unlawful sexual intercourse before 1986, or a class B misdemeanor for unlawful sexual intercourse, Utah Code 76-5-401; or
- sodomy, but not forcible sodomy, Utah Code 76-5-403.
After a request is made to the Department of Corrections:
Once the Department of Corrections receives the request for removal from the registry, they will check the registry for the person's current status and determine whether the person qualifies for removal.
The Department of Corrections will notify the person in writing about their decision within 30 days of the request and payment of the fee. If the Department of Corrections determines the person:
- qualifies for removal from the registry, the Department of Corrections will remove the person from the registry.
- does not qualify for removal from the registry, the Department of Corrections will provide a written explanation for their decision. The decision is final and not subject to administrative review.
If the Department of Corrections cannot provide a decision within 30 days, they will notify the person that the response may be delayed up to 30 more days.
There are no forms on this website for making a request to the Department of Corrections to remove a person's name from the registry. Contact the Utah Department of Corrections Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry for more information:
The Department can charge a fee up to $25.
Petition Filed in Court
A person can ask the court to order that their name be removed from the Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry if:
- they were convicted of an eligible offense (as described in the Eligible Convictions section below);
- at least five years has passed after the day on which the their sentence for the offense terminates;
- the offense is the only offense for which they were required to register;
- they were not convicted of another offense (excluding a traffic offense) after the day on which they are convicted of the offense for which they are required to register (as evidenced by the certificate of eligibility)
- they have successfully completed all treatments ordered by the court or the Board of Pardons and Parole relating to the offense;
- they have paid all restitution ordered by the court or the Board of Pardons and Parole relating to the offense;
- they have complied with all registration requirements of Utah Code at all times
or, if they are required to register under Utah Code 77-41-105(3)(a),
- at least 10 years have passed after the later of:
- the day on which they are placed on probation;
- the day on which they are released from incarceration to parole;
- the day on which their sentence is terminated without parole;
- the day on which the they enter a community-based residential program; or
- for a minor, the day on which the division's custody of the person is terminated;
- the offender is not convicted of another offense that is a class A misdemeanor, felony, or capital felony within the most recent 10-year period after the date described in Subsection (1)(b)(ii), as evidenced by a certificate of eligibility issued by the bureau;
- the offender successfully completes all treatment ordered by the court or the Board of Pardons and Parole relating to the offense;
- the offender pays all restitution ordered by the court or the Board of Pardons and Parole relating to the offense; and
- the offender complies with all registration requirements required under this chapter at all times.
The offenses eligible for removal by petition to the court include:
- Section 76-4-401, enticing a minor, if the offense is a class A misdemeanor;
- Section 76-5-301, kidnapping;
- Section 76-5-304, unlawful detention, if the conviction of violating Section 76-5-304 is the only conviction for which the offender is required to register;
- Section 76-5-401, unlawful sexual activity with a minor if, at the time of the offense, the offender is not more than 10 years older than the victim;
- Section 76-5-401.1, sexual abuse of a minor, if, at the time of the offense, the offender is not more than 10 years older than the victim;
- Section 76-5-401.2, unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old, and at the time of the offense, the offender is not more than 15 years older than the victim; or
- Section 76-9-702.7, voyeurism, if the offense is a class A misdemeanor.
In addition to the requirements described above, a person asking to be removed from the registry by petition to the court:
- must have successfully completed all treatment ordered by the court or the Board of Pardons and Parole relating to the conviction;
- must not have been convicted of any other crime, excluding traffic offenses (but not including driving under the influence or reckless driving); and
- must have paid all restitution ordered by the court;
- must have complied with all the registration requirements at all times as required in this chapter, as evidenced by a document obtained by the offender from the Utah Department of Corrections; and
- the office that prosecuted the offender, and the victim, or if the victim is still a minor, the victim's parent, must be notified and provided with an opportunity to respond.
Certificate of Eligibility
Before filing a Petition to Remove Name from Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry, the petitioner must obtain a Certificate of Eligibility for Removal of Name from the Sex Offender/Kidnap Registry issued by the Bureau of Criminal Identification (bci.utah.gov) of the Utah Department of Public Safety.
The petitioner applies to BCI for the certificate. There is a fee to apply for the certificate. It will take time for BCI to issue the certificate.
BCI performs a records check to determine whether a petitioner is eligible to have their name removed from the registry. If the petitioner meets all of the criteria for eligibility, BCI will issue a certificate of eligibility to the petitioner. The petitioner should file the petition to remove their name from the registry immediately after receiving the Certificate of Eligibility because the certificate is valid for only 90 days from the date it is issued.
There is a fee to apply for the certificate and a separate fee to issue the certificate. The application fee must be paid at the time the petitioner submits the application, and the issuance fee must be paid before BCI will issue the certificate.
If the petitioner wants to have the certificate of eligibility sent to someone other than themselves, they must also complete BCI's Third Party Release form and submit it with the Application.
Filing the Petition
A person asking a court to remove their name from the registry must file a petition with the court, as well as a copy of the original Information (the document that charged the person with a crime), and a copy of the court docket.
The petition should be filed under the case number of the original case.
The petition must also be delivered to the office of the prosecutor that handled the original case. The prosecutor will notify the victim (if there is one) that a petition has been filed. The victim has the right to object by filing a written objection with the court, and must do so within 45 days after they receive a copy of the petition.
The prosecutor must provide the following to the court within 30 days of receiving the petition, if available:
- presentencing report;
- any evaluation done as part of sentencing; and
- any other information the office of the prosecutor feels the court should consider.
After the Petition is Filed
The judge will review the petition and all documents submitted. The court will schedule a hearing if one is requested by the prosecutor or the victim.
If the petition is granted
If the judge determines that it is not contrary to the interests of the public to do so, s/he will grant the petition and order removal of the offender from the registry.
If the judge grants the petition, the court will send a copy of the order directing removal of the offender from the registry to the department and the office of the prosecutor.
If the petition is denied
If the judge denies the petition, the offender may not submit another petition for three years.
The filing fee for a Petition to Remove Name from the Sex Offender and Kidnap Registry is the same as a complaint as described in Utah Code section 78A-2-301(1).
There are no forms on this website for a petition asking to be removed from the registry. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low-cost ways to get the help of an attorney.
- Fee Waiver
- Filing Procedures
- Finding Legal Help
- Free Legal Clinics
- Going to Court
- Rules of Civil Procedure
- Utah Code section 77-41-112
The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.