
Rule 14-705. Admission by motion. 1 

(a) Reciprocal admission. An Applicant is eligible to be admitted by motion if the Applicant 2 

meets all the requirements of this rule. Admission by Motion is not a right; the burden of proof is 3 

on the Applicant to establish by clear and convincing evidence that she or hethe Applicant: 4 

(a)(1) has paid the prescribed nonrefundable fee and filed the required Complete 5 

Application as a Motion Applicant; 6 

(a)(2) is at least 21 years old; 7 

(a)(3) has been admitted by bar examination to practice law before the highest court of a 8 

U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia; 9 

(a)(4) holds a First Professional Degree in law from an Approved Law School; 10 

(a)(5) has successfully passed the MPRE; 11 

(a)(6) has demonstrated that the U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia that 12 

licenses the Applicant reciprocally allows the admission of licensed Utah lawyers under 13 

terms and conditions similar to those set forth in this rule; 14 

(a)(7) has been Actively licensed and lawfully engaged in the Full-time Practice of Law 15 

as defined in Rule 14-701 in the reciprocal jurisdiction(s) where licensed for 60 of the 84 16 

months immediately preceding the date of the filing of the application for admission is filed. 17 

For purposes of admission purposes under this rule, with the exception of lawyers practicing 18 

in Utah with a House Counsel license, any time practicing at an office located in Utah will 19 

not be counted as time practicing in a reciprocal jurisdiction; 20 

(a)(8) is a member in good standing in all jurisdictions where currently admitted; 21 



(a)(9) has a proven record of ethical, civil, and professional behavior and has never been 22 

disbarred or resigned with discipline pending, or their equivalent, in any jurisdiction and is 23 

not currently subject to lawyer discipline or the subject of a pending disciplinary matter; and 24 

(a)(10) is of good moral character and satisfies the requirements of Rule 14-708;. 25 

 (b) Continuing legal education requirement. All Applicants admitted to practice law 26 

pursuant to this rule shall complete and certify no later than six months following the 27 

Applicant's admission that she or he has attended at least 15 hours of continuing legal 28 

education on Utah practice and procedure and ethics requirements. 29 

 (b)(1) The Board may by regulation specify the number of the required 15 hours that must be in 30 

particular areas of practice, procedure, and ethics. Included in this mandatory 15 hours is 31 

attendance at the Bar's OPC ethics school. 32 

(bc)  Application Form form and content of application. The Board may require additional 33 

proof of any facts stated in the application. In the event of the failure or the refusal of the If the 34 

Applicant fails or refuses to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any Board inquiry of 35 

the Board pertinent to the pending application, the Board may deny the application without 36 

hearing. 37 

(cd) Timing of application and admission. An application may be filed at any time but the 38 

Applicant must be able to demonstrate that the Applicant she or he satisfies the requirements of 39 

this rule as of the date the application is filed. Processing of the application and the character and 40 

fitness investigation require a minimum of four months to complete. 41 

(cd)(1) An Applicant not eligible for admission pursuant to this rule may qualify for 42 

admission as an Attorney Applicant pursuant to Rule 14-704. 43 



(cd)(2) Upon approval the Applicant must comply with the provisions of Rule 14-71644 

concerning licensing and enrollment fees. 45 

(de) Practice pending admission. Only persons who are active, licensed members of the 46 

BarBar licensees in good standing may engage in the practice of law in Utah. However, a Motion 47 

Applicant with a pending Bar application may be eligible to practice for a limited period upon 48 

satisfaction of all of the requirements of Rule 14-809 and receipt of a Practice Pending 49 

Admission Certificate. 50 

Effective September 1, 2020. 51 


