Category: USB14-1105

Rules Governing the Utah State Bar – Effective May 1, 2021

Changes allow domestic relations commissioners, retired and senior judges to serve on fee dispute panels. Changes also increase the jurisdictional amount from $3,000 to $10,000 for one lawyer to arbitrate a fee dispute. Other changes are proposed to include licensed paralegal practitioners in the fee dispute rules.

USB14-1101. Definitions.

USB14-1102. Purpose and composition of the committee.

USB14-1105. Selection of the arbitration panel; additional claims.

USB14-1107.  Award; form; service of award; judicial confirmation of award.

USB14-1108.  Relief granted by award; accord and satisfaction to court; confidentiality; enforceability of award; claims of malpractice.

USB14-1114.  Matters entitled to mediation.

Supreme Court Order

 

 

 

Continue Reading

Rules Governing the Utah State Bar

USB 14-0802. Authorization to practice law. Amend. Permits assistance completing court forms by a non-lawyer. Effective Date: November 1, 2007.
Supreme Court Order.
USB 14-1101. Definitions. Amend. Changes title of Article 11. Changes name of Committee to Fee Dispute Resolution Committee. Effective Date: November 1, 2007.
USB 14-1102. Purpose and composition of the committee. Amend. Modifies the committee process to alternative dispute resolution rather than arbitration exclusively. Effective Date: November 1, 2007.
USB 14-1105. Selection of the arbitration panel; additional claims. Amend. Increases the maximum amount in controversy to $3,000. Effective Date: November 1, 2007.
Supreme Court Order
USB 14-0533. Diversion. New. Establishes a procedure for diversion of complaints. Effective Date: November 1, 2007.
Supreme Court Order.

Continue Reading