Utah Courts


Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

UCJA Rule 14-412 (Code of Judicial Administration)


Rule 14-412. Presumptively approved CLE providers; presumptive CLE Accreditation.
Rule printed on September 28, 2022 at 9:10 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
Effective: 5/1/2021

(a) The Board may designate an organization as a presumptively approved provider of Accredited CLE if the organization meets the following standards:

(a)(1) The CLE provider must be either an approved law school or an organization engaged in CLE that has, during the three years immediately preceding its application, sponsored at least six separate CLE courses that comply with the requirements for individual course Accreditation under Rule 14-411. Status as a presumptively approved CLE provider is subject to periodic review.

(a)(2) Presumptively approved CLE providers are required to pay an annual fee.

(a)(3) No later than 30 days prior to offering a CLE course, the presumptive CLE provider must indicate on a Board-approved form that the CLE course satisfies the provisions of Rule 14-411. The sponsor should also submit a copy of the brochure or outline describing the course, a description of the method or manner of presentation, and, if specifically requested by the Board, a set of materials.

(a)(4) The presumptive CLE provider must submit the registration list in an approved format, with CLE fees if applicable, within 30 days following the presentation of the CLE course.

(a)(5) The presumptive CLE provider must make its courses available to all lawyers and paralegal practitioners throughout the state, unless, subject to 14-411(f), it can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board that there is good reason to limit the availability.

(a)(6) The sponsor must submit to all reasonable requests for information and comply with this article.

(b) Denial of presumptive CLE provider status. Notwithstanding a presumptive CLE provider’s compliance with paragraphs (a)(1) through (a)(6), the Board may deny designation as a presumptive CLE provider if the Board finds there is just cause for denial.

(c) Revocation of presumptive approval. The Board may audit any CLE provider having presumptive approval and may revoke the presumptive approval if it determines that the presumptive CLE provider is offering, as Accredited, courses that do not satisfy the standards established under Rule 14-411.

(d) A presumptive CLE provider pays an annual fee established by the Board for all CLE provided by the presumptive CLE provider, except that the presumptive CLE provider must pay additional fees established by the Board if the presumptive CLE provider provides more than 50 CLE courses per year. A presumptive CLE provider is otherwise exempt from the per CLE application fee.

(e) A presumptive CLE provider who fails to comply with the deadline described in (a)(4) must pay a $100 late fee.

The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last modified: 3/29/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS

Close ×