(a) Time frame. Whenever practical the panel or sole arbitrator must hold a hearing within 60 days after receipt of the agreement to arbitrate, signed by both parties, and the signed petition and answer, and must render its award within 20 days after the close of the hearing or the close of the final hearing if more than one hearing has been held. The award of the panel must be made by the majority of the panel or by the sole arbitrator.
(b) Delivery to Bar office. The award must be in writing and signed by the members of the panel concurring or by the sole arbitrator. The award must include a determination of all questions submitted to the panel or sole arbitrator which are necessary to resolve the dispute. The panel chair or sole arbitrator must forward the original award to the Bar office.
(c) Form. The award must contain a description of the dispute, the findings, the award, an a preliminary statement that a hearing was held upon notice pursuant to a written agreement to arbitrate, and that the parties were given an opportunity to testify and cross-examine.
(d) Service on parties. The Bar will mail or email the award to the petitioner and the respondent.
(e) Client award – judicial confirmation. If the award favors the client, and the lawyer fails to comply with the award within 20 days after the date on which a copy of the award is mailed to the lawyer, the client may seek a confirmation of the award in accordance with the Utah Uniform Arbitration Act but without further assistance by the Bar.
(f) Lawyer award – judicial confirmation. If the award favors the lawyer, and the client fails to comply with the award within 20 days after the date upon which a copy of the award is mailed to the client by the Bar office, the lawyer may exercise his or her rights under the Utah Uniform Arbitration Act, which provides for the judicial confirmation of arbitration awards but without further assistance by the Bar.
(g) Modification of award by arbitrators.
(g)(1) Upon motion of any party to the arbitrators or upon order of the court pursuant to a motion, the arbitrators may modify the award if:
(g)(1)(A) there was an evident miscalculation of figures or description of a person or property referred to in the award;
(g)(1)(B) the award is imperfect as to form; or (g)(1)(C) necessary to clarify any part of the award.
(g)(2) A motion to the arbitrators for modification of an award must be made within 20 days after service of the award upon the moving party. Written notice that a motion has been made must be promptly served personally or by certified mail upon all other parties to the proceeding. The notice of motion for modification must contain a statement that objections to the motion be served upon the moving party within ten days after receipt of the notice.
The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.