Rule 14-712. Qualifications for admission based onUBE.
(a) Timing of application and admission. Anapplication may be filed at any time. Processing of the application and thecharacter and fitness investigation require a minimum of four months to complete.
(b) UBE score transferability. An Applicantwho has taken and completed the UBE in a single administration in ajurisdiction other than Utah may transfer the UBE score by filing anapplication provided:
(b)(1) the Applicant meets all the requirements of Rule 14-703 orRule 14-704;
(b)(2) the Applicant has not been denied by any jurisdiction oncharacter and fitness grounds;
(b)(3) the UBE score is 270 or above; and
(b)(4) the Bar receives the Applicant?s UBE score no later thannine months after the filing of the application. To transfer a UBE score, anApplicant must send a written transfer request, along with the prescribed fee,to the NCBE.
(c) Time limitations on transferability.The transferability of the UBE score will be subject to the following timelimitations:
(c)(1) the UBE score istransferable for all Applicants only if the application is filed within 24months of the administration of the UBE in which the passing score was earned;
(c)(2) the UBE may be transferable for up to fiveyears from the administration of the UBE in which the passing score was earnedif the Attorney Applicant can prove by clear and convincing evidence that sheor he has been admitted to a U.S. state, territory, or the District of Columbiaand has been Actively engaged in the Full-time Practice of Law as defined inRule 14-701 for at least one-half of the time period since the score was earned.(d) Utah legal education requirement.
(d) Continuing legal education.
(d)(1) Applicants who gain admission by transferringa UBE score and who have less than two years of legal practice must completethe New Lawyer Training Program as outlined in Rules 14-404 and 14-808.
(d)(2) Applicants who gain admission by transferringa UBE score that have two or more years of legal practice shall complete andcertify no later than six months following the Applicant?s admission that sheor he has attended at least 15 hours of continuing legal education on Utahpractice and procedure and ethics and civility requirements.
(d)(3) The Board may by regulation specify thenumber of the required 15 hours in paragraph (d)(2)that must be in particular areas of practice, procedure, ethics and civility.Included in this mandatory 15 hours is attendance at the Bar?s OPC ethicsschool.
Effective May 1, 2019