Print Version
Previous PageFile uploaded: 4/3/2012
Rule 14-104

Rule 14-104. Admission topractice law; qualifications, enrollment, oath, and fees.

(a) The Board, by delegationfrom the Supreme Court, shall have the power to determine the qualificationsand requirements for admission to the practice of law and to conductexaminations of applicants; and it shall from time to time certify to the Courtthose applicants found to be qualified. Qualifications and requirements foradmission to the practice of law shall be as set forth in Article 7,Admissions.

(b) The approval by the SupremeCourt of any person certified for licensure to practice law shall entitle himor her to be enrolled in the Bar upon his or her taking an oath to support theConstitution of the United States and of Utah and to discharge faithfully theduties of an attorney at law or foreign legal consultant to the best of his orher knowledge and ability, and payment of the fee fixed by the Board with theapproval of the Court, and thereafter, to practice law upon payment of annualor special license fees herein provided, subject to the provisions of thischapter.

(c) Upon receivingcertification by the Board and approval from the Supreme Court, the applicantshall pay $50 to the clerk of the Court for a certificate of admission, $30 ofwhich shall be retained by the state treasurer as a special fund for thebenefit of the Utah State Law Library, to be expended by the Utah JudicialCouncil.

(d) Roll of licensed lawyers.The clerk of the Court shall keep a roll of the attorneys at law admitted topractice in Utah, which must be signed by each person admitted before he or sheis enrolled and receives his or her certificate of admission to the Bar orlicense as a foreign legal consultant.