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JUDGE MICHELE M. CHRISTIANSEN FORSTER authored this Opinion, 
in which JUDGES RYAN M. HARRIS and DIANA HAGEN concurred. 

CHRISTIANSEN FORSTER, Judge: 

¶1 Todd Vernon Brewer appeals the district court’s entry of a 
permanent protective order. We affirm. 

BACKGROUND 

¶2 In January 2019, Li-Huang Pon obtained a temporary 
protective order against Brewer. The protective order was 
entered by the district court on May 7, 2019, based on a domestic 
relations commissioner’s recommendation after a hearing. On 
May 21, 2019, pursuant to rule 108 of the Utah Rules of Civil 
Procedure, Brewer filed an objection to the commissioner’s 
recommendation that the protective order be entered, arguing 
that insufficient evidence justified the entry of the protective 
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order and requesting an evidentiary hearing in the district court. 
Pon filed a motion to strike Brewer’s objection as untimely, 
pointing out that the objection was not filed within the ten-day 
limit provided by the Utah Cohabitant Abuse Act (Act). See Utah 
Code Ann. § 78B-7-107(1)(f) (LexisNexis Supp. 2019) (stating that 
if a protective order hearing is held before a court commissioner, 
any party dissatisfied with the commissioner’s recommendation 
“may file an objection within 10 days of the entry of the 
recommended order”). The district court determined that 
Brewer’s objection was untimely, granted Pon’s motion to strike, 
and entered the permanent protective order. Brewer appealed 
the district court’s order. 

¶3 On the same day he filed his notice of appeal, Brewer filed 
a Request for Reconsideration and Motion to Set Aside Order 
Pursuant to Rule 60(b), asking the district court to set aside the 
protective order on the ground that he had fourteen days—
rather than ten—within which to object to the commissioner’s 
recommendation. See Utah R. Civ. P. 108(a) (“A recommendation 
of a court commissioner is the order of the court until modified 
by the court. A party may file a written objection to the 
recommendation within 14 days after the recommendation is 
made in open court or, if the court commissioner takes the 
matter under advisement, within 14 days after the minute entry 
of the recommendation is served.”). Specifically, Brewer 
contended—for the first time—that Utah Code section 78B-7-
107(1)(f) is unconstitutional because it conflicts with rule 108(a) 
of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and was not enacted by a 
supermajority of the legislature with the intent to 
amend procedural rules. See Utah Const. art. VIII, § 4 (“The 
Supreme Court shall adopt rules of procedure and evidence to 
be used in the courts of the state and shall by rule manage the 
appellate process. The Legislature may amend the Rules of 
Procedure and Evidence adopted by the Supreme Court upon a 
vote of two-thirds of all members of both houses of 
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the Legislature.”); see also Brown v. Cox, 2017 UT 3, ¶¶ 17, 20, 387 
P.3d 1040 (stating that the Utah Constitution’s “plain language” 
does not allow our legislature to “adopt rules of procedure and 
evidence” but only to “amend[] the rules the supreme court 
creates” and that any such amendment must be made “by 
supermajority” and must “contain a reference to the rule to be 
amended and a clear expression of the Legislature’s intent to 
modify [the] rules”). 

¶4 The district court denied Brewer’s rule 60(b) motion, and 
Brewer did not thereafter amend his notice of appeal to include 
the district court’s denial of that motion. 

ISSUES AND STANDARD OF REVIEW 

¶5 Brewer raises two issues on appeal. First, he contends 
that Utah Code section 78B-7-107(1)(f) is unconstitutional 
because it prescribes a procedural deadline in conflict with rule 
108(a) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and was not enacted 
pursuant to state constitutional requirements for amending 
procedural rules. Second, Brewer argues that the district court 
erred when it applied the ten-day deadline set forth in the 
statute instead of the fourteen-day deadline set forth in the rule 
to determine that his objection to the commissioner’s 
recommendation was untimely filed. “The interpretation and 
constitutionality of a statute are questions of law that we review 
for correctness.” Olguin v. Anderton, 2019 UT 73, ¶ 17, 456 P.3d 
760 (quotation simplified).1 

                                                                                                                     
1. Brewer also contends that because the conflict between the 
statutory deadline and the rule 108(a) deadline was “apparent, 
obvious, and unresolved,” the district court abused its discretion 
in denying his objection to the commissioner’s recommendation. 

(continued…) 
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ANALYSIS 

I. Constitutionality of the Statutory Deadline 

¶6 Brewer timely appealed the district court’s order striking 
his objection to the commissioner’s recommendation as untimely 
and entering a permanent protective order. On the same day he 
filed his appeal, he also filed a rule 60(b) motion to set aside the 
order, see Utah R. Civ. P. 60(b), raising for the first time a 
constitutional challenge to Utah Code section 78B-7-107(1)(f). 
The district court later denied Brewer’s rule 60(b) motion. But 
Brewer never amended his notice of appeal to include the 
district court’s denial of his rule 60(b) motion, an oversight that 
precludes our review of this constitutional issue.  

¶7 The Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure provide that “[a] 
notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, 
but before entry of an order disposing of [a rule 60(b) motion], 
. . . is effective to appeal only from the underlying judgment.” 
Utah R. App. P. 4(b)(2). “To appeal from a final order disposing 
of [a rule 60(b) motion], a party must file a notice of appeal or an 
amended notice of appeal within the prescribed time measured 
from the entry of the order.” Id. And if a party fails to file an 
amended notice of appeal after denial of a rule 60(b) motion, an 
appellate court lacks jurisdiction to consider issues raised in that 
motion. See Dole v. Dole, 2018 UT App 195, ¶ 40, 437 P.3d 464 
(noting that a party’s failure to amend a notice of appeal 
pursuant to the requirements of rule 4(b)(2) of the Utah Rules of 
Appellate Procedure deprives a court of “jurisdiction to consider 
[the party’s] arguments related to [a] post-trial motion”); see also 
Dennett v. Ferber, 2013 UT App 209, ¶ 4, 309 P.3d 313 (per 

                                                                                                                     
(…continued) 
We determine that Brewer’s briefing on this issue is inadequate 
and therefore decline to address it. 
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curiam) (stating that an appellate court lacks jurisdiction to 
consider issues raised in a rule 60(b) motion where an individual 
did not amend the notice of appeal or file a new notice of appeal 
after denial of the motion). 

¶8 Brewer’s notice of appeal challenged only the district 
court’s dismissal of his objection and the court’s grant of the 
permanent protective order, and Brewer raised the constitutional 
challenge only in his rule 60(b) motion to set aside. Because 
Brewer never amended his notice of appeal to incorporate the 
district court’s denial of his rule 60(b) motion, the constitutional 
challenge Brewer now raises lies outside the scope of this appeal, 
and we lack the jurisdiction to consider it. Therefore, we must—
for purposes of the rest of our analysis—presume that section 
78B-7-107(1)(f) of the Utah Code was constitutionally enacted. 
See Salt Lake City v. Ohms, 881 P.2d 844, 847 (Utah 1994) 
(“Statutes are presumed to be constitutional until the contrary is 
clearly shown.” (quotation simplified)); accord Broadbent v. 
Gibson, 140 P.2d 939, 943 (Utah 1943). 

II. The District Court’s Reliance on the Statutory Deadline 

¶9 In striking Brewer’s objection to the commissioner’s 
recommendation that the protective order be permanently 
entered, the district court determined that Brewer “did not file 
his [o]bjection within the statutorily mandated 10 days, in 
accordance with” Utah Code section 78B-7-107(1)(f). In addition, 
the court acknowledged that “there may be an apparent conflict 
with [r]ule 108,” but it ruled that “the more specific statute 
determines this matter.” On appeal, Brewer argues that the court 
erred in making this determination. We disagree. 

¶10 Rule 108(a) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure provides 
the general rule on filing deadlines for objections to 
commissioner recommendations: “A party may file a written 
objection to the recommendation within 14 days after the 
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recommendation is made in open court or, if the court 
commissioner takes the matter under advisement, within 14 
days after the minute entry of the recommendation is served.” 
Utah R. Civ. P. 108(a). In contrast, Utah Code section 78B-7-
107(1)(f) specifically addresses the filing deadline in the context 
of protective order proceedings: “If the hearing on the petition 
[for a protective order] is heard by a commissioner, either the 
petitioner or respondent may file an objection within 10 days of 
the entry of the recommended order . . . .” Utah Code Ann. 
§ 78B-7-107(1)(f) (LexisNexis Supp. 2019). 

¶11 Brewer’s assertion that the language of the rule governs in 
this situation ignores the clear language of the Utah Rules of 
Civil Procedure and the Act. The first of our rules of civil 
procedure states that “[t]hese rules govern the procedure in the 
courts of the state of Utah in all actions of a civil nature . . . and 
in all statutory proceedings, except as governed by other rules 
promulgated by this court or statutes enacted by the Legislature.” 
Utah R. Civ. P. 1 (emphasis added). And the Act itself clarifies 
that “[i]nsofar as the provisions of this [Act] are more specific 
than the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, regarding protective 
orders, the provisions of this [Act] govern.” Utah Code Ann. 
§ 78B-7-106(13) (LexisNexis Supp. 2019); see also State v. 
Bridgewaters, 2020 UT 32, ¶¶ 24–29 (acknowledging that the Act 
sets forth some unique procedures for service of process that are 
specific to protective order proceedings and that differ from the 
process outlined in the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure).2 

                                                                                                                     
2. The Utah Supreme Court recently noted that the “Act contains 
unique procedural rules that purport to supersede the Utah 
Rules of Civil Procedure where applicable,” even though “the 
legislature did not enact those procedural provisions in a joint 
resolution that amended the corresponding rule of civil 
procedure.” State v. Bridgewaters, 2020 UT 32, ¶ 24 n.9. Although 

(continued…) 
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¶12 Here, the more specific ten-day deadline set forth in the 
Act controls, not the more general fourteen-day deadline set 

                                                                                                                     
(…continued) 
the conflict between the rule and the statute may present 
legitimate constitutional questions, as noted above, the 
constitutionality of the Act is not properly before us in this case. 
However, we share the supreme court’s concern that “litigants 
and courts are faced with two sets of procedural rules running 
on parallel tracks and are required to make judgment calls about 
which rule should apply in a given circumstance” in protective 
order hearings. Id. In Bridgewaters, the court noted that “the 
legislature could increase clarity for the bar and the bench if it 
were to enact rule changes through joint resolutions that 
specifically amend the relevant rule of procedure.” Id. But here, 
the adoption of the statute does not appear to “amend” a 
preexisting rule. The statute was amended in 2001 to include the 
ten-day deadline to file an objection to a commissioner’s 
recommendation in a protective order proceeding, see Utah Code 
Ann. § 30-6-4.3(1)(e) (Lexis Supp. 2001), and was later 
renumbered as section 78B-7-107(1)(f), see id. (LexisNexis Supp. 
2008). In 2009, the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure were amended 
to include a ten-day limit to file an objection to a commissioner’s 
recommendation. See Utah R. Civ. P. 101(k) (2009) (“A party may 
object to the recommendation by filing an objection . . . within 
ten days after the recommendation is made . . . .”). In 2012, 
subdivision (k) was deleted, and a fourteen-day deadline was 
added, presumably as part of the effort to revise all deadlines in 
the rules to seven-day increments. See id. R. 108(a) (2012) (“A 
party may file a written objection to the recommendation within 
14 days after the recommendation is made . . . .”). The Supreme 
Court’s Advisory Committee on the Rules of Civil Procedure 
may wish to further examine the filing deadlines at issue in this 
opinion to clarify the apparent conflict. 
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forth in rule 108(a). Rule 108(a) establishes the general timeline 
for a party to file an objection to a commissioner’s 
recommendation. In contrast, section 78B-7-107(1)(f) focuses on a 
particular aspect of domestic relations, namely, hearings on 
protective orders to prevent cohabitant abuse. Thus, the statute 
specifically addresses protective order proceedings under the 
Act, including the deadline for filing objections to 
recommendations made by domestic relations commissioners on 
whether a temporary order should be permanently entered. 
Because the statute sets out a “more specific” provision than “the 
Utah Rules of Civil Procedure” with regard to protective orders, 
the ten-day deadline of the Act governs. See Utah Code Ann. 
§ 78B-7-106(13); see also Utah R. Civ. P. 1. Accordingly, assuming 
the constitutionality of the statutory deadline found in the Act, 
we perceive no error in the district court’s determination that the 
more specific statute governed the time within which Brewer 
had to object to the commissioner’s recommendation. 

CONCLUSION 

¶13 Because Brewer did not amend his notice of appeal to 
include the denial of his rule 60(b) motion, we lack jurisdiction to 
consider the constitutionality of Utah Code section 78B-7-
107(1)(f) in this case. Further, we see no error in the district 
court’s determination that the more specific statutory deadline 
governed the timing for Brewer to file his objection to the 
commissioner’s recommendation regarding the protective order. 

¶14 Affirmed. 
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