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Rule 4-510.01. Alternative dispute resolution definitions. 
Intent: 
To establish definitions for the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Program. 
Applicability: 
This rule applies in the district court. 
Statement of the Rule: 
As used in Rules 4-510.01 through 4-510.06: 
(1) "ADR" means alternative dispute resolution and includes arbitration, 

mediation, and other means of dispute resolution, other than court trial, 
authorized by this rule and URCADR. 

(2) "ADR program" means the alternative dispute resolution program. 
(3) "Binding arbitration" means an ADR proceeding in which the award is final 

and enforceable as any other judgment in a civil action unless vacated or 
modified by a court pursuant to statute, and in which the award is not subject to a 
demand for a trial de novo. 

(4) “Collaborative Law” is a process in which the parties and their counsel 
agree in writing to use their best efforts and make a good faith effort to resolve 
their divorce, paternity, or annulment action by agreement without resorting to 
judicial intervention except to have the court approve the settlement agreement 
and sign orders required by law to effectuate the agreement of the parties. The 
parties’ counsel may not serve thereafter as litigation counsel except to obtain 
court approval of the settlement agreement. 



(5) “Court Qualified Mediator” means a mediator who is currently on the Utah 
Court Approved ADR Roster or who for some reason cannot join the roster due to 
a conflict of interest but meets all of the requirements to be on the Utah Court 
Approved ADR Roster. 

(6) "Director" means the Director of Dispute Resolution Programs. 
(7) “Domestic Mentor” means a mediator who has completed 300 hours in 

conducting mediation in domestic cases and completed a domestic mentor 
orientation. 

(8) “Master Mediator” means a provider who has completed 300 hours in 
conducting mediation sessions documented as required by the director. A master 
mediator may also act as a “Primary Trainer.” 

(9) "Nonbinding arbitration" means an ADR proceeding in which the award is 
subject to a trial de novo; 

(10) “Primary Trainer” means a provider who qualifies as a “Master Mediator” 
on the court roster or a person with equivalent experience researching and 
teaching the theory and practice of alternative dispute resolution and may 
oversee mediation training that fulfills the court's 40-hour mediator training 
requirement for the roster. 

(11) "Roster" means the list of those persons qualified to provide services 
under the ADR program, and includes the information supplied by such persons 
pursuant to paragraph (3)(A)(i) of this rule. 

(12) "URCADR" or "Utah Rules of Court-Annexed Alternative Dispute 
Resolution" means the rules adopted by the Utah Supreme Court which govern 
the ADR program. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



Rule 4-510.02. Responsibilities of the Director and Administrative Office 
of the Courts. 

Intent: 
To establish the responsibilities of the Director and the Administrative Office of 

the Courts to implement the ADR Program. 
Applicability: 
This rule applies to the Director and the AOC. 
Statement of the Rule: 
(1) The Director shall: 
(1)(A) have general responsibility for the administration of the ADR program; 
(1)(B) annually prepare and submit the report required by the Utah Code; 
(1)(C) establish and maintain the roster on the court’s web site; 
(1)(D) prepare model forms for use by the courts, counsel and parties under 

these rules, and provide copies of the forms upon request; and 
(1)(E) establish procedures for the review and evaluation of the ADR program 

and the performance of ADR providers. 
(2) The Administrative Office shall establish or qualify programs for the 

education and training of ADR providers, attorneys, and judges in the applicable 
judicial districts of this State as to the purposes and operation of, and the rules 
governing, the ADR program.  

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Rule 4-510.03. Qualification of ADR providers. 
Intent:  
To establish eligibility and qualification requirements for inclusion on the Utah 

Court Approved ADR Roster including additional requirements for designation as 
a Divorce Roster Mediator, Master Mediator and Domestic Mentor. 

Applicability:  
This rule applies in the district court. 
Statement of the Rule: 
(1)To be eligible for the roster, an applicant must: 
(1)(A) submit a written application to the Director setting forth: 
(1)(A)(i) a description of how the applicant meets, or will meet within a 

reasonable time, the requirements specified in paragraph (2)(A), if applicable; 
(1)(A)(ii) the major areas of specialization and experience of the applicant, 

such as real estate, estates, trusts and probate, family law, personal injury or 
property damage, securities, taxation, civil rights and discrimination, consumer 
claims, construction and building contracts, corporate and business 
organizations, environmental law, labor law, natural resources, business 
transactions/commercial law, administrative law and financial institutions law; 

(1)(A)(iii) the maximum fees the applicant will charge for service as a provider 
under the ADR program; and 

(1)(A)(iv) the judicial districts in which the applicant is offering to provide 
services and the location and a description of the facilities in which the applicant 
intends to conduct the ADR proceedings; 

(1)(B) agree to complete and annually complete up to six hours of ADR 
training as required by the Judicial Council; 

(1)(C) submit an annual report to the Director indicating the number of 
mediations and arbitrations the ADR provider has conducted that year; and 

(1)(D) be re-qualified annually. 
(2) To be included on the roster as a mediator: 
(2)(A) all new applicants to the court roster must also have successfully 

completed at least 40 hours of court-approved basic formal mediation training in 
the last three years. This training shall be under a single training course from a 
single, court-approved training provider. The applicant must also complete 10 
hours of experience in observing a court qualified mediator conduct mediation, 
and 10 hours in either conducting mediations singly or co-mediating with a court 
qualified mediator, or meet such other education, training and experience 
requirements as the Council finds will promote the effective administration of the 
ADR program;  



(2)(B) successfully pass an examination on the ethical requirements for 
mediators on the Utah Court Roster; 

(2)(C) agree to conduct at least three pro bono mediations each year as 
referred by the Director; and 

(2)(D) be of good moral character in that the provider has not been convicted 
of a felony, a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or any other serious crime, 
and has not received professional sanctions that, when considered in light of the 
duties and responsibilities of an ADR provider, are determined by the Director to 
indicate that the best interests of the public are not served by including the 
provider on the roster. 

(3) To be included on the court roster for qualified divorce mediators: 
(3)(A) All new applicants to the roster of divorce mediators must also have an 

additional 32 hours of court-approved training specific to the skills, Utah laws, 
and information needed to conduct divorce mediation. This training shall be 
under a single training course from a single, court-approved provider. 

(3)(B) All applicants must have a minimum of 6 hours of training specific to 
domestic violence and screening for domestic violence which may be included in 
the court approved 32 hour training referred to above. 

(3)(C) New applicants to the court roster of divorce mediators are required to 
have acquired experience specific to divorce mediation. This is in addition to the 
20 hours of experience required for the court roster of basic mediators. The 
additional experience includes having observed a minimum of two divorce 
mediations, co-mediating two divorce mediations and having been observed 
conducting two divorce mediations. Each of these includes debriefing and 
analysis afterward with a mediator who has Domestic Mentor status. The 
Domestic Mentor may charge a fee for this service. 

(3)(D) The Director will maintain and make available a list of those mediators 
who have Domestic Mentor status.  

(4) To be included on the roster as a Master Mediator, the provider must also 
have completed 300 hours in conducting mediation sessions. 

(5) To be included on the roster as a Domestic Mentor, the provider must also 
have completed 300 hours in conducting mediation in domestic cases and 
completed a domestic mentor orientation.  

(6) To be included on the roster as an arbitrator, the provider must also: 
(6)(A) have been a member in good standing of the Utah State Bar for at least 

ten years, or meet such other education, training and experience requirements 
as the Council finds will promote the effective administration of the ADR program; 

(6)(B) be of good moral character in that the provider has not been convicted 
of a felony, a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or any other serious crime, 
and has not received professional sanctions that, when considered with the 
duties and responsibilities of an ADR provider are determined by the Director to 



indicate that the best interests of the public are not served by including the 
provider on the roster; and 

(6)(C) agree to conduct at least one pro bono arbitration each year as 
referred by the Director. 

(7) To be re-qualified as a mediator, the provider must, unless waived by the 
Director for good cause, demonstrate that the provider has conducted at least six 
mediation sessions or conducted 24 hours of mediation during the previous year. 

(8) To be re-qualified as an arbitrator, the provider must, unless waived by the 
Director for good cause, demonstrate that the provider has conducted at least 
three arbitration sessions or conducted 12 hours of arbitration during the 
previous year. 

(9) A provider may be sanctioned for failure to comply with the code of ethics 
for ADR providers as adopted by the Supreme Court or for failure to meet the 
requirements of this rule or state statute. The committee shall inform the public of 
public sanctions against a provider promptly after imposing the sanction.  

(9)A) Public sanctions may include singly or with other sanctions: 
a written warning and requirement to attend additional training; 
(9)(A)(i) require the mediator to allow the Director or designee to observe a 

set number of mediation sessions conducted by the mediator; 
(9)(A)(ii) suspension for a period of time from the court roster; and 
(9)(A)(iii) removal from the court roster. 
(9)(B) Private sanctions may include singly or with other sanctions: 
(9)(B)(i) admonition; 
(9)(B)(ii) re-take and successfully pass the ADR ethical exam. 
(10) The committee shall approve and publish procedures consistent with this 

rule to be used in imposing the sanction. The complainant shall file a written and 
signed complaint with the director. The director shall notify the provider in writing 
of the complaint and provide an opportunity to respond. The director may 
interview the complainant, the provider and any parties involved. Upon 
consideration of all factors, the director may impose a sanction and notify the 
complainant and the provider. If the provider seeks to challenge the sanction, the 
provider must notify the director within 10 days of receipt of the notification. The 
provider may request reconsideration by the director or a hearing by the Judicial 
Council's ad hoc committee on ADR. The decision of the committee is final. 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Rule 4-510.04. ADR training. 
Intent: To establish course content, methodology and trainer qualifications for 

Court-approved 40-hour Basic Mediation Training and to establish a process for 
certification of training programs. 

Applicability: This rule applies in the district court. 
Statement of the Rule: 
(1) Course content requirements. Any trainer or training program seeking to 

offer a mediator training program that fulfills the Court's 40-hour mediator training 
requirement must abide by the following: 

(2) Submission of training materials. When applying for certification and 
renewal, training programs shall provide the ADR Office at the AOC with all 
training materials which will be used in the training program. These materials 
shall include, but are not limited to, the following: the training manual that is given 
to the participants including the required readings; all exercises and handouts. 
Revisions, deletions and/or additions to the previously approved training 
materials must be reported to the Office prior to conducting any course. 

(3) ADR syllabus approval. In addition to submission of training materials, 
each training program must seek approval of its syllabus from the Office 20 
working days in advance of each offering of a certified mediation training 
program. The syllabus shall be reviewed by the Office for compliance with the 
training standards. The syllabus must be submitted in a format that easily 
identifies the presentation topic, the trainer(s) for each topic, the time allotted to 
each topic, any training activities, and the inclusion of the break times. The Office 
shall notify the trainer or training program of any deficiencies no later than 10 
working days before the program is to be offered. Any deficiencies in the program 
syllabus shall be corrected prior to the commencement of the training program. 

(4) Readings. All training programs must provide the participants with copies 
of Rules 4-510.01 to 4-510.06 UCJA, Rule 104 (the ethical code),Title 78B, 
Chapter 6, Part 2, Alternative Dispute Resolution Act, and Title 78B, Chapter 10, 
Utah Uniform Mediation Act. Time spent reading the required materials may not 
count towards the required number of hours of training and can be completed by 
participants at times when the training program is not being conducted. Trainers 
shall incorporate in this program some method of ensuring that the required 
readings are completed. 

(5) Ethics Training. Training programs shall review with participants Rule 104 
Code of Ethics for ADR Providers. In addition, ethics shall be woven throughout 
the program. 

(6) Training Methodology: 
(4)(A)(ii)(a) (6)(A) Pedagogy. The program shall include, but is not limited to, 

the following: lecture, group discussion, written exercises, mediation simulations 
and role plays. In addition, outside readings should be provided by the trainer to 
supplement the training. 



(6)(B) Mediation Demonstration. All training programs shall present a role play 
mediation simulation (either live or by video) prior to the participant's role play 
experience as the mediator. 

(6)(C) A primary trainer must be in attendance during the entire training 
program. It is preferable that a single primary trainer fulfill this obligation, but it is 
permissible that this be accomplished by more than one primary trainer. 

(6)(D) Participant attendance: Participants must complete their training 
requirement by attending one entire program. The primary trainer is responsible 
for ensuring that the approved syllabus is complied with. Under no circumstances 
may a participant be excused from attending portions of the training; any portion 
of training missed shall be made up as directed by the primary trainer. 

(7) Trainer Qualifications. Training programs shall employ a primary trainer 
who meets the applicable qualifications of a primary trainer and who have been 
approved by the Office. In order to be approved as a primary trainer, a trainer 
must demonstrate the following qualifications: 

(7)(A) Successful completion of a minimum of 40 hours of mediation training. 
(7)(B) Participation in a minimum of 300 hours of mediation acting as the 

mediator. 
(7)(C) Completion of 6 hours of continuing mediator education in the last year. 
(7)(D) Primary trainers are approved for a three (3) year period. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 



Rule 4-510.05. Referral of civil actions. 
Intent:  
To establish procedures for the referral of civil actions to the ADR program 
Applicability:  
This rule applies in the district court. 
Statement of the Rule: 
(1) General Provisions. 
(1)(A) Upon the filing of a responsive pleading, all cases subject to this rule 

shall be referred to the ADR program, unless the parties have participated in 
another ADR process, such as arbitration, collaborative law, early neutral 
evaluation or a settlement conference, or unless excused by the court. 

(1)(B) Upon its own motion or the motion of a party, the court may excuse the 
parties from participating in the ADR program upon a showing of good cause. 

(1)(C) Upon its own motion or the motion of a party, the court may refer an 
action or any issues in the action to the ADR program. 

(1)(D) Upon its own motion or the motion of a party, the court may order that 
an action that has been referred to the ADR program be withdrawn and restored 
to the trial calendar upon a showing of good cause. 

(1)(E) If a party believes that mediation is no longer productive, the party may 
terminate mediation by notifying the other party and mediator. 

(1)(F) The judge to whom an action is assigned shall retain full authority to 
supervise the action consistent with the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and these 
rules. 

(2) Non-binding arbitration. 
(2)(A) If the parties have timely filed an agreement to submit the case to non-

binding arbitration under URCADR Rule 102, the action is stayed and the 
timelines of the Rules of Civil Procedure are tolled, except that discovery may 
continue under URCADR Rule 102(e). All subsequent proceedings shall be 
conducted in accordance with URCADR Rule 102 and a timetable established by 
the court to ensure the arbitration is completed without undue delay. The 
timelines of the Rules of Civil Procedure resume when the court is notified of the 
conclusion of ADR proceedings. 

(2)(B) If a party unilaterally terminates non-binding arbitration after the hearing 
has begun, that party is responsible for the ADR provider fees and the 
reasonable attorney fees of the non-terminating party, unless the terminating 
party shows good cause for the termination. 

(3) Notice requirements. 
(3)(A) Upon conclusion of an ADR process, the plaintiff shall notify the court of 

the outcome of the ADR process on a form provided by the court. 



(3)(B) When the case is ready for trial the parties shall certify in accordance 
with URCP 16. 

(4) Selection of ADR provider(s). 
(4)(A) Upon referral of a case or any issues therein to the ADR program, the 

parties shall choose the ADR provider(s) for the case. If mediation is the selected 
ADR process, one mediator shall be selected. If arbitration is the selected ADR 
process, one arbitrator shall be selected, unless the parties stipulate to or the 
court orders the use of a panel of three arbitrators. (4)(B) The parties may select: 

(4)(B)(i) An ADR provider from the roster on the Court’s web site; or 
(4)(B)(ii) An ADR provider pro tempore having specialized skill, training, or 

experience in relevant subject matter. Pro tempore providers must agree in 
writing to comply with this rule and the URCADR. 

(4)(C) If the parties are unable to select a provider the parties shall return a 
copy of the court roster to the Director with the names of up to half of the 
members of the roster stricken. If there are more than two parties, each party 
shall be permitted to strike a proportion of names equal to or less than its 
proportion of the number of the parties. The Director shall select the provider(s) 
from among those providers not stricken by any party. The Director shall mail 
notice of the selection to all parties and the selected ADR provider. 

(4)(D) If a party, within 10 days of mailing of the notice of selection, files a 
written request that the selected provider be disqualified under Canon II of 
URCADR Rule 104, or if the ADR provider requests to withdraw for good reason 
from participation in a particular case to which that provider was appointed, the 
Director shall select another available qualified ADR provider to participate in that 
case, giving deference to the expressed preferences of the parties, if any, as 
provided in these rules. 

(4)(E) The parties shall contact the ADR provider directly for services. 
(5) The fees of the ADR provider shall be paid in advance and divided equally 

between or among the parties unless otherwise provided by the court or agreed 
by the parties. Any party may petition the court for a waiver of all or part of the 
fees so allocated on a showing of impecuniosity or other compelling reason. If 
such waiver is granted, the party shall contact the Director who will appoint a pro 
bono ADR provider. 

(6) An ADR provider acting as a mediator or arbitrator in cases under the ADR 
program shall be immune from liability to the same extent as judges of this state, 
except for such sanctions the judge having jurisdiction of the case may impose 
for a violation of URCADR Rule 104 which raises a substantial question as to the 
impartiality of the ADR provider and the conduct of the ADR proceeding involved. 

(7) No ADR provider may be required to testify as to any aspect of an ADR 
proceeding except as to any claim of violation of URCADR Rule 104 which raises 
a substantial question as to the impartiality of the ADR provider and the conduct 
of the ADR proceeding involved. 



(8) All ADR providers providing services pursuant to the ADR program shall 
be subject to this rule and the URCADR. 

(9) Location of ADR Proceedings. Unless otherwise agreed upon by all the 
parties, all ADR proceedings shall be held at the office of the ADR provider or 
such other place designated by the ADR provider. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Rule 4-510.06. Cases exempt from ADR rules. 
Intent: 
To identify the actions exempt from Rules 4-510.01 through 4-510.05. 
Applicability: 
This rule applies in the district court. 
Statement of the Rule: 
(1) Rules 4-510.01 through 4-510.05 do not apply to the following actions:  
(1)(A) Title 26, Chapter 19, Medical Benefits Recovery Act;  
(1)(B) Title 62A, Chapter 11, Recovery Services;  
(1)(C) Title 78B, Chapter 7, Part 1, Cohabitant Abuse Act; 
(1)(D) Title 62A, Chapter 15, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Act; 
(1)(E) Rules 65A, 65B and 65C of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; and  
(1)(F) uncontested matters  
(2) Rules 4-510.01 through 4-510.05 do not apply to the following actions, but 

they may undergo ADR procedures under other programs: 
(2)(A) Title 78A, Chapter 8, Small Claims Court; and 
(2)(B) Title 78B, Chapter 6, Part 8, Forcible Entry and Detainer. 
(3) Rules 4-510.01 through 4-510.05 do not apply to the following actions, but 

the judge may direct that they undergo ADR procedures under these rules: 
(3)(A) Title 78B, Chapter 12, Utah Child Support Act; 
(3)(B) Title 78B, Chapter 14, Uniform Interstate Family Support Act; 
(3)(C) Title 78B, Chapter 15, Utah Uniform Parentage Act; 
(3)(D) Title 78B, Chapter 13, Utah Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and 

Enforcement Act; and 
(3)(E) temporary orders requested under Title 30, Husband and Wife, except 

temporary separation orders under 30-3-4.5. 
 


