To:

Utah Judiciary:

Address:

Request for a Record

Utah State Courts
(must be submitted in writing)

Records requested (describe with reasonable specificity, attach additional sheet if necessary):

[] | want to inspect (view) the records. (There is no charge for viewing or inspecting
a record.)
[] | want copies of the records. | understand that | may be responsible for fees

associated with copy and research charges as permitted by Rule 4-202.08, Utah
Code of Judicial Administration.

Rule 4-202.08 allows for a fee waiver in certain circumstances. Based on that rule, | am
requesting a waiver of fees because:

[]
[]
[]
[]

The records are requested on behalf of a government entity required by
law to obtain these court records.

| am the subject of the record and | am impecunious. (Provide an affidavit
of impecuniosity).

| am a student engaged in research and require the records for academic
purposes.

| am requesting records on behalf of a government entity and the fees are
minimal.

If the requested records are not public, please explain why you believe you are entitled

to access.

[]
[]
[]

[]

| am the subject of the record.

| am the person who provided the information.

| am authorized to have access by the subject of the record or by the
person who submitted the information. (Attach documentation required by
Rule 4-202.03).
Other. Please explain:
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[] | am requesting an expedited response as permitted by Rule 4-202.06. (Please
attach information that shows your status as a member of the media and the
record is for a story to be broadcast or published; or other information that
demonstrates that you are entitled to an expedited response because the request
benefits the public rather than the person making the request). Without this
provision the request will be handled as soon as reasonably possible, but can

take up to ten business days to be decided.

This request is submitted under Rule 4-202.03.

Person making request:

Mailing Address:

Daytime Telephone Number:

Date:

Signature of person making request
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TO THE COURT ENTITY WHERE A RECORD IS REQUESTED

This form is meant to comply with the requirements for access to judicial records. The

details of these requirements are found in Rules 4-202.01 to 4-202.10 of the Utah Code of
Judicial Administration. The provisions of the rules are lengthy. This summary is only meant to
provide some highlights. (References in parentheses are to sections of the Utah Rules.)

Intent: The rules are intended, among other
goals, to promote the public’s right of access
to public records and to favor public access
when, in application of the law, countervailing
interests are of equal weight.

Access: Every person is entitled to access
public court records. (Rule 4-202.03(1)).

Time: A request for record access or copies
shall be responded to as soon as reasonably
possible — no later than 10 business days, or
5 business days if a request benefits the
public rather than the requesting individual.
(Rule 4-202.06).

Charges: The fee for copies is 25¢ per page.
The fee for an audio tape is $10.00 and the
fee for a video tape is $15.00. If research time
is required, there will be a fee for personnel
time. The fees can be waived in certain
circumstances. (Rule 4-202.08).

Public Documents: Every document is public
unless private, protected, sealed or
designated as a juvenile legal or social record.

Private Documents: These generally relate
to individuals and their private interests,
adoptions, custody evaluations, eligibility for
benefits, medical history, employment, library
circulations, etc.

Protected Documents: These involve such
information as trade secrets, financial and
commercial information for companies, test
guestions, investigations, litigation documents
not available through discovery, privileged
communications, drafts, minutes and notes of
closed meetings, and other documents that
may compromise a legitimate state or private
interest.
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Juvenile Legal: These records include such
things as petitions, orders, minute entries, and
delinquency histories.

Juvenile Social: These include such records
as social and probation reports, treatment
plans, and medical evaluations.

Not a Record: Temporary drafts, privately
owned documents, calendars and notes,
expunged documents, etc.

Denial: If access is denied, the court will
provide a notice of denial, including a
description of the record or portion of record to
which access is denied, citation to the rule
allowing the denial, and a description of the
process to appeal.

Other Agencies: Non-public records can be
provided to another government agency if that
agency enforces, litigates or investigates civil,
criminal or administrative law. (Rule 4-
202.10).

Appeals: Appeals may be filed within 30 days
of a denial of access or other determination
adverse to the applicant. The applicant or
anyone else who is aggrieved by the denial
(such as the media) can file a notice of appeal
with the State Court Administrator. The
decision of the State Court Administrator can
be appealed to the Management Committee
of the Judicial Council.

Penalties: It is a class B misdemeanor to
knowingly disclose records that should not be
disclosed or to gain access to records that
should not be disclosed by false pretenses,
bribery, or theft, or to intentionally refuse to
release a record which is legally required to
be released. (8§63G-2-801).
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