
 
Utah State Law Library  ||  450 S. State St., W-13  ||  P.O. Box 140220  ||  Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0220 
801-238-7990  ||  801-238-7993 (fax)  ||  http://www.utcourts.gov/lawlibrary  ||  library@email.utcourts.gov 

 
 

 
2008 National Library Week Quiz 

 
The Utah State Courts Yesterday - Answers 

 
 
 
1. Who was the first chief justice of the Utah State Supreme Court? 
 a. Zerubbabel Snow 
 b. Lilburn P. Palmer 
 c. Charles S. Zane 
 d. Daniel N. Straup 
 
Answer:  Charles S. Zane, 1896-1899 
 
 
2. When did the number of Utah Supreme Court justices increase from three to 

five? 
 a. 1896  
 b. 1917 
 c. 1944 
 d. 1973 
 
Answer:  1917. See Laws of Utah, ch. 54, §2 (1917).  
 
 
3. What was the juror fee in 1896? 
 a. $2.00 
 b. $4.00 
 c. $6.00 
 d. $8.00 
 
Answer:  $2 per day. See Laws of Utah, ch. CXXI, §148 (1896) 
 
 
 



 
Utah State Law Library  ||  450 S. State St., W-13  ||  P.O. Box 140220  ||  Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0220 
801-238-7990  ||  801-238-7993 (fax)  ||  http://www.utcourts.gov/lawlibrary  ||  library@email.utcourts.gov 

4. When was the Utah Judicial Council created? 
 a. 1896 
 b. 1925 
 c. 1973 
 d. 1986 
 
Answer:  1973. See Laws of Utah, ch. 202, §4 (1973) 
 
 
5. How many State Court Administrators have there been since the 
establishment of the Administrative Office of the Courts? 
 a. Two 
 b. Four 
 c. Eight 
 d. Twelve 
  
Answer:  Four - Richard V. Peay, William C. Vickrey, Ronald W. Gibson, and Daniel J. 

Becker 
 
 


