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NOTICE OF EXECUTION AND EXEMPTIONS 
NOTICE: YOUR PROPERTY MAY BE TAKEN TO PAY A CREDITOR. 

PLEASE READ THIS CAREFULLY. 
(1) A judgment for money has been entered against you, and the creditor has taken 

steps to seize your money or property to pay the judgment. If you think the 
creditor has improperly seized some of your money or property, you may object 
to the execution by taking the steps described below. You may not use these 
steps to object to the judgment. If you think the judgment itself is improper, 
you must file a timely motion under Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 60(b) to 
set the judgment aside. 

(2) If you are the judgment debtor in this action, your rights may be affected. You 
should read this notice and take steps to protect your rights. 

(3) If you are not the judgment debtor in this action, papers filed with the court 
indicate that you may have an interest in the judgment debtor’s property. Your 
rights may be affected, and you should read this notice and take steps to protect 
your rights. 

(4) The court has ordered a sheriff or constable to seize your property. This means 
that it may be sold to pay a judgment creditor. 

(5) Certain property and money are exempt from execution (cannot be seized). The 
following is a partial list of exempt property and money, but some of these 
exemptions might not apply to judgments for alimony or child support. 

(A) Declaration of Homestead. (The Declaration must be filed with the county 
recorder before the auction of the property. Utah Code Section 78B-5-504.) 

(B) A burial plot for you and your family. 
(C) Health aids. 
(D) Benefits because of disability, illness or unemployment. 
(E) Medical care benefits. 
(F) Veteran’s benefits. 
(G) Money or property for child support, alimony or separate maintenance. 
(H) Social security benefits. 
(I) Supplemental security income benefits (SSI). 
(J) Workers’ compensation benefits. 
(K) Certain retirement benefits. 
(L) Public assistance. 
(M) Certain furnishings, appliances, carpets, animals, books, musical 

instruments, works of art and heirlooms. 
(N) Provisions for 12 months. 
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(O) Wearing apparel, not including jewelry or furs. 
(P) Beds and bedding. 
(Q) Compensatory damages from bodily injury or wrongful death. 
(R) The proceeds of certain life insurance contracts and trusts. 
(S) Certain books, implements and tools of a trade. 
(T) A motor vehicle up to a specified amount. 
(U) Property of a person who did not have a judgment entered against him or 

her, such as the co-owner of the property being held. 
(6) Some property is exempt regardless of its value, for example, a refrigerator. 

Other property is exempt to the extent that it is worth less than an amount 
specified in the law. In that case, the property will be sold with the exempt 
amount going to the debtor and the balance to the creditor.  

(7) You should consult the Utah Exemptions Act for more information about 
exemptions. There is no exemption solely because you are having difficulty 
paying your debts. 

(8) If you believe that: 

• statements in the Application for Writ of Execution are inaccurate;  
• the Writ of Execution was issued improperly; or 
• you are entitled to an exemption  

then do the following immediately. You have a deadline of 10 business days 
from the date that you were served with the writ and accompanying papers.  

(A) Complete the attached Reply and Request for Hearing form. 

(B) Sign your name in the space provided and write the address at which the 
court clerk should notify you of the hearing. 

(C) Attach any documents that help you prove your claim. 

(D) Mail or deliver the form to the court clerk and the judgment creditor (or 
judgment creditor’s attorney). Keep a copy for your records. The name 
and address of the court and the judgment creditor (or judgment creditor’s 
attorney) are on the first page of the Writ of Execution. 

(9) The court clerk will schedule the matter for hearing and notify you. If you discover 
documents that will help prove your claim after filing the Reply and Request for 
Hearing form, bring the documents to the hearing. 
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(10) If you fail to take these steps, the property being held may be used to pay a 
judgment creditor even though it is exempt. 

(11) You may tell the officer who is conducting the sale the order in which to auction 
the property.  

(12) You may consult an attorney and have the attorney represent you at the hearing. 


