Name

Address

City, State, Zip

Phone
Email
lam [ ] Plaintiff/Petitioner [ 1 Defendant/Respondent
[ 1 Plaintiff/Petitioner’'s Attorney [ ] Defendant/Respondent’s Attorney (Utah Bar #: )
[ 1 Plaintiff/Petitioner’s Licensed Paralegal Practitioner
[ ] Defendant/Respondent’s Licensed Paralegal Practitioner (Utah Bar #: )
In the District Court of Utah
Judicial District County
Court Address
Ten Day Summons
(Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 3 and 4)
Plaintiff/Petitioner Case Number
V.
Judge
Defendant/Respondent

Commissioner (domestic cases)

The State of Utah to

(party’s name):

A lawsuit has been filed against you.
You must respond in writing by the
deadline for the court to consider your
side. The written response is called an
Answer.
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Call the court to see if a Complaint or
Petition has been filed

The plaintiff must file the Complaint with
the court within 10 days after service of
this Summons on you.

If the complaint is not filed within that
time, the case is considered to be
dismissed and you do not need to file an
answer.

Call the court at

(phone number)
at least 14 days after service of this
Summons to ask if the Complaint has
been filed. This is an action to:

(describe nature of action).

Deadline!

Your Answer must be filed with the court
and served on the other party within 21
days of the date you were served with
this Summons.

If you do not file and serve your Answer
by the deadline, the other party can ask
the court for a default judgment. A
default judgment means the other party
can get what they asked for, and you do
not get the chance to tell your side of the
story.

Read the complaint/petition

The Complaint or Petition has been filed
with the court and explains what the
other party is asking for in their lawsuit.
Read it carefully.
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Answer the complaint/petition

You must file your Answer in writing with
the court within 21 days of the date you
were served with this Summons. You
can find an Answer form on the court’s
website:
www.utcourts.gov/howto/answer/.

Serve the Answer on the other party
You must mail or hand deliver a copy of
your Answer to the other party (or their
attorney or licensed paralegal
practitioner, if they have one) at the
address shown at the top left corner of
the first page of this Summons.

Finding help

The court’s Finding Legal Help web page
(www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalassist/)
provides information about the ways you
can get legal help, including the Self-
Help Center, reduced-fee attorneys,
limited legal help and free legal clinics.
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| declare under criminal penalty under the law of Utah that everything stated in this document is true.

Signed at

(city, and state or country).

Date

Signature »

Printed Name
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