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Utah Rule of Judicial Administration 6-501 provides that anyone who has been appointed as a 

guardian or conservator must file this completed and verified form with the court within 7 days 

after the court enters the order of appointment. Additionally, you must keep the court informed of 

your current address and phone number and the protected person’s.  

You may notify the court by calling ___________________. Please have your case number ready. 

Or you can print the information in the space below and mail it to the court at 

___________________________________________________________________________________. 

 

  

Case Number   

 

Information About Guardian/Conservator 
 

Information About Protected Person 

   

Name  Name 
   

Address  Address 
   

City, State, Zip  City, State, Zip 
   

Phone  Phone 
   

Email  Email 
   

Social Security Number  Social Security Number 
   

Date of Birth  Date of Birth 
   

Driver License Number  Driver License Number 

 

Please list your next of kin or other contact person who will know who to reach you. 

 

Contact Person’s Name 

 

Address 

 

City, State, Zip 

 

Phone 

 

Email 
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If the Protected Persons include school age children, please list the school they will be 

attending. 

Child’s Name School Name 

  

  

  

  

 

 

I declare under criminal penalty under the law of Utah that everything stated in this document is true. 

Signed at ______________________________________________________ (city, and state or country). 

 Signature ►  

Date 
Printed Name  



Summary of What is Expected of Guardians and Conservators 

 

This summary is only a summary. For more information about your responsibilities and 

forms, please visit the court’s website at http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/family/gc/. 

 

1. Duties to the Court 

a. What you must do: 

 Notify the court if you or the protected person 

move. 

 File a “status report” every year within 60 

days after the anniversary of your 

appointment. (guardian only) 

 File a financial accounting every year within 

60 days after the anniversary of your 

appointment. 

 File an inventory of the estate within 90 days 

after your appointment. 

 File a final accounting when the guardianship 

or conservatorship ends. 

 Notify the court if the protected person dies or 

no longer needs a guardian or conservator. 

2. Duties to the Protected Person 

a. What you must do: 

 Make the decisions that the protected person 

would make, unless that decision would 

cause harm. 

b. What you must not do: 

 Mix your personal or business money and 

property with the protected person’s money 

and property. 

 Use the protected person’s money or property 

for the benefit of anyone other than the 

protected person. 

 Abuse, neglect or isolate the protected 

person. 

c. What the guardian may do (unless the 

court’s order limits your authority): 

 Make decisions for the protected person 

about: 

o health care or other service; 
o custody and residence; 
o care, comfort, and maintenance; 
o training and education; and 
o clothing, furniture, vehicles and personal 

effects. 

d. What the conservator — or guardian if 

there is no conservator — must do: 

 Identify, locate and control the protected 

person’s estate. 

 Collect money owed to the protected person, 

including income and benefits, and start legal 

proceedings if needed. 

 Manage the protected person’s estate to so 

that needs are met throughout his or her 

expected life. 

 Pay taxes, expenses and debts owed by the 

protected person. 

e. What the conservator may do: 

 Make the gifts and donations that the 

protected person would make. 

 Invest the protected person’s money and 

property. 

3. Duties to Interested Persons 

a. What you must do: 

 Notify the interested persons of your 

appointment right away; notify others as 

needed. 

 Notify the interested persons if the protected 

person dies or no longer needs a guardian or 

conservator. 

 

 

http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/family/gc/

