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The purpose of this guide 

This guide is for child welfare cases that are being appealed from the juvenile court to 
the Utah Court of Appeals. Child welfare cases are defined by Utah Rule of Appellate 
Procedure 1(f) as those cases related to abuse, neglect, dependency, termination of 
parental rights, and adoption. 

There are separate guides for: 

 Appealing a decision from the district court or non child welfare decisions of the
juvenile court to the Court of Appeals or Supreme Court

 Appealing a decision from an administrative agency (Writ of Review)

 Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Utah Supreme Court

Not all cases are appealed to the Supreme Court or Court of Appeals. Decisions from 
the justice court (misdemeanor criminal, traffic and small claims cases), for example, 
are appealed to the district court. Some administrative agency decisions are appealed 
to the district court. See our Appeals web page for more information about these kinds 
of appeals. 

Overview 

What is an appeal? 

An appeal is a review by the Court of Appeals to determine if the juvenile court made a 
legal mistake. A child welfare appeal is started by filing a notice of appeal in the juvenile 
court within 15 days of the juvenile court’s order. 

The Court of Appeals does not retry the case, take evidence, or weigh the credibility of 
witnesses. The appeal must be based on the record created in the trial court, and the 
person who is appealing must show that the trial court made a mistake. If there was a 
mistake, it must have been important enough that it could have made a difference in the 
outcome of the case. 

Who can appeal? 

Only a party in the original case can appeal the decision of the juvenile court. A party 
can represent himself or herself, but cannot represent anyone else, such as another 
person or business. Only an attorney who is licensed to practice in Utah can represent 
someone in an appeal.  

Final judgment or order 

https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/appeals/


Guide to Appealing a Child Welfare Case Revised July 2020 Page 4 

The final judgment or order is the final result in a stage of a child welfare case. 
Usually, adjudication orders, orders terminating parental rights, or other orders ending 
the juvenile court’s jurisdiction are the final orders in a child welfare proceeding. 
The judgment or order must be in writing. Sometimes the judge makes an order on the 
record but there is no written order signed by the judge. A party must then prepare and 
submit to the trial court a written order for the judge to sign before the appeal can 
proceed. 

Fees 
Appellate Rule 3 

When the Notice of Appeal is filed, the appellant must pay a filing fee of $240.00 and a 
cost bond of $300.00 to the juvenile court. There is no fee for Child Welfare cases if the 
appellant has appointed counsel. 

The cost bond is like an insurance policy the appellant is buying to cover expenses the 
appellee might have to defend against the appeal. The appellant may ask the trial court 
to return the bond once the appeal is complete. 

If the appellant can’t pay the required fees, they can ask the juvenile court to waive the 
filing fee if they can show that they meet certain financial/income guidelines. The 
appellant must fill out and file a Motion to Waive Fees with the juvenile court. If the 
appellant also wants to waive the cost bond, they must specifically ask for that in their 
motion. 

Even if a waiver of the filing fee and cost bond is approved by the juvenile court, the 
appellant will still have to pay other costs associated with the appeal. For example, if the 
appellant requests a transcript of the juvenile court proceedings, then they must pay the 
court reporter to prepare it. The appellate courts also charge for copies of documents.  

Filing 
Appellate Rule 21 

To file a document means to give it to the Appellate Clerk’s Office in Salt Lake City. 
Parties can file papers with the court in person or by mail. Parties may also file some 
documents by email, subject to the following rules: 

 If a document other than a brief is delivered by email, a paper copy does not
need to be delivered.

 If a brief is delivered by email, paper copies of the brief must be delivered to the
court no more than 7 days after filing by email.

https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/forms/waiver/index.html
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 Documents filed by email will be considered timely filed if the email is received
before midnight on the last day for filing.

 If a party emails a document to the court as an attachment, an automatic
response will be emailed as confirmation of receipt of the document.

 If a party emails a document to the court, the party assumes the risk for any
problems that may occur.

Email Addresses:
supremecourt@utcourts.gov
courtofappeals@utcourts.gov

* The drop box outside the Matheson Courthouse is for the district court only. Do not put
appellate court documents in that box.

Non-Public Information 
Records from child welfare cases on appeal are classified as private by Code of Judicial 
Administration Rule 4-202.02. These classifications restrict access to the records. The 
right of public access might also be restricted by Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government 
Records Access and Management Act, by other statutes, rules, or case law, or by court 
order. 

In a child welfare appeal, the briefs may be public documents. If a brief, including an 
addendum, contains non-public information, the filer must also file a public version with 
all such information removed. Utah Rule of Appellate Procedure 21(g) requires the filer 
to file an un-redacted (complete) version for the court and a version for the public that 
does not contain the confidential information. 

See the court’s Non-Public Records page for more information about classification of 
court records. 

Service 
Appellate Rule 21 

To serve a document means to give a copy of it to all other parties. Any document you 
file with the appellate court must also be served on all of the other parties in the appeal. 
If the other side has an attorney, the attorney must be served. If the other side does not 
have an attorney, the other party must be served at their last known address.  

Documents may be served by mail, hand delivery or email. The time for filing a 
response to a document filed by email runs from the date the document was received 
by the court. 

https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/filing/non-public/index.html
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A Certificate of Service must be attached to all documents filed with the appellate court. 
The Certificate of Service tells the court when and how service was made, who was 
served, and where they were served. The court will not act on any document unless a 
Certificate of Service is attached to it.    

 Copies of all documents filed with the appellate court must, at or before the time
of filing, be served on all other parties to the appeal or review.

 A copy of any document required by the rules to be served on a party must be
accompanied by a certificate of service when filed with the court.

 The time for filing a response to a document served by email runs from the date
the document was emailed to the court.

 The time for filing a response to a document served by mail runs from the date of
mailing listed on the certificate of service, and three days will be added to the
time. Most often the total time for response to any motion served by mail will be
17 calendar days from the date of mailing.

There are special requirements for serving briefs. More information is provided in the 
Briefs section. 

Asking for More Time (Motion for Extension of Time) 
Appellate Rules 22(b) and 59 

In some situations, a party may ask the court for more time to meet a deadline by filing 
a Motion for Extension of Time. The Motion for Extension of Time is subject to the 
following requirements: 

 The motion must be filed before the deadline.

 The motion must include:
o a good reason for extending the deadline
o whether extensions have been requested before, and if so, how many times

and how long those extensions were
o when the deadline is

If the appellant wants to ask for more time to file the Notice of Appeal, they must file the 
request in the trial court. Only the trial court can extend the time to file the Notice of 
Appeal. To ask the trial court for more time, see the forms on the Motions page on the 
court’s website. 

https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/filing/motions/
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Procedures 

Child Welfare Appeal Timeline 

Notice of Appeal Due 15 days after final order of Juvenile Court. 
Filed with Juvenile Court. 
(must be signed by appellant and their attorney (if they are 
represented by an attorney)) 

Transcript Request Due 4 days after filing of Notice of Appeal. 
Filed with the appellate court. 

Appellant’s Petition on Appeal Due 15 days after filing of Notice of Appeal. 
Filed with the appellate court. 

Appellee’s Response to Petition Due 15 days after filing of Appellant’s Petition on 
Appeal. 

Record Filed Prepared by Juvenile Court as soon as transcript is 
complete (if requested) 

Review Court of Appeals reviews the documents to determine 
if a decision can be issued.  

If the court does issue an opinion: 

Petition for Rehearing  
Optional, due 14 days after the decision 
is issued. (URAP 35) 

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 
Optional, due 30 days after the decision 
is issued. (URAP 45) 
(To the Utah Supreme Court from a 
decision of the Utah Court of Appeals) 

Remittitur 
Generally issued 35 days after opinion 
is filed 

If the court does not issue an opinion: 

Appellant's Brief  

Appellee’s Brief  

Appellant’s Reply Brief 
Optional. 

Calendared 
Court will notify parties if it schedules 
oral argument. 

Under Advisement  
Court is preparing its decision. 

Opinion/Decision Filed  
Court issues written opinion or decision. 

https://pubapps.utcourts.gov/TranscriptWEB/publicrequest.jsp
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Petition for Rehearing  
Optional, due 14 days after the decision 
is issued. (URAP 35) 

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 
Optional, due 30 days after the decision 
is issued. (URAP 45) 
(To the Utah Supreme Court from a 
decision of the Utah Court of Appeals) 

Remittitur 
Generally issued 15 days after the 
opinion is filed in the Supreme Court 
and 35 days after opinion is filed in the 
Court of Appeals 

Notice of Appeal 
Appellate Rule 52 and 53 

The appeal process starts when someone files a Notice of Appeal within the time 
allowed to appeal. The party filing the Notice of Appeal is called the appellant, and the 
party the appeal is against is called the appellee. 

The Notice of Appeal is filed with the juvenile court. The appellant must file the Notice of 
Appeal with the clerk of the juvenile court within 15 days after the date of entry of the 
final judgment or order being appealed.   

If the appellant wants to ask for more time to file the Notice of Appeal, they must file the 
request in the juvenile court. Only the juvenile court can extend the time to file the 
Notice of Appeal. To ask the juvenile court for more time, see the forms on the Motions 
page on the court’s website. URAP 59(a). 

The appellant must also pay a filing fee and a cost bond to the trial court, or ask to have 
those costs waived as described in the Fees section above. 

After the Notice of Appeal is filed 

After the Notice of Appeal is filed and the filing fee and cost bond have been paid to the 
trial court, the juvenile court will certify a copy of the Notice of Appeal to the appellate 
court.    

Once the Appellate Clerks’ Office receives the Notice of Appeal, it will send a notice to 
the appellant that will include the appellate case number and the filing deadlines for the 
required documents. The appellee(s) will also receive a copy of the notice. 

https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/filing/motions/
https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/filing/motions/
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Transcripts 
Appellate Rule 11(e)(1) 

The appellant must request the transcript to be prepared within 4 days of filing the 
Notice of Appeal.  

A transcript is a word-for-word typing of everything that was said on the record during a 
hearing or the trial held in the juvenile court. It is not the audio recording of a hearing or 
trial. A transcript is important because it is what the appellate court uses to review the 
juvenile court proceedings.    

The appellant must request a transcript using the online request form, unless they are 
incarcerated or otherwise unable to use the online form, in which case they may use a 
print form to make the request.  

The appellant must serve a copy of the automated response from the online transcript 
request (or a copy of the transcript request form, if using the print form) on the other 
party by mail, email, or hand delivery.  

The appellant must also fill out a Certificate of Service form and file it with the court. The 
certificate of service tells the court when and how the other party was served with the 
document, and the name(s) and address(es) of whoever was served. 

Cost of Transcripts 
Unless the juvenile court determines that the appellant is indigent, the appellant must 
pay a certified court transcriber the estimated cost of the transcript, and must serve a 
copy of the transcript on the appellee(s). The cost of transcripts is set by Utah Code 
Section 78A-2-408 at the following rates: 

 $4.50/page for regular service (within 30 days) Approximately $250.00/court hour

 $6.75/page for 1-3 day service

 $9.00/page for 24 hour service

If the appellant can’t afford the cost of preparing a transcript, or if a transcript is 
unavailable, it is possible for the appellant to prepare their own transcript of a court 
proceeding. The appellant must follow the procedures described in URAP 11(g): 

 Appellant prepares a statement of evidence or proceedings. If an audio recording
is available, they can use it to put the statement together.

 Appellant must serve the statement on the appellee, who may object or propose
amendments within 10 days.

 The statement and any objections or proposed amendments must be submitted
to the trial court for approval. If the judge approves, the statement will be sent to
the appellate court as a record of the proceedings.

https://pubapps.utcourts.gov/TranscriptWEB/publicrequest.jsp
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If the appellant is an indigent parent, the county in which the trial was held is usually  
responsible for the cost of transcripts in any first appeal of right in a child welfare case. 
See Utah Code Section 77-32-305. 

In very rare cases the appellant does not need a transcript for the appeal. For 
example, maybe there was no hearing or trial in the case. If the appellant believes that a 
transcript is not necessary for the appeal, they must file a Certificate that Transcript is 
Not Requested with the appellate court. Remember, the transcript is what the appellate 
court uses to review the lower court’s decision. If it is not provided to the appellate court, 
the chances of winning on appeal drop dramatically.  

Petition on Appeal 
Appellate Rule 55 

The Petition on Appeal is the document the appellant uses to identify the legal issues 
presented for appeal.  

The appellant must file Petition on Appeal (original and four copies) with the appellate 
court within 15 days of the filing of the Notice of Appeal. Failure to file may result in 
dismissal of the appeal. 

The appellant must also serve a copy of the Petition on Appeal on the appellee(s). 

Response to Petition on Appeal 
Appellate Rule 56 

The appellee has 15 days after being served with the Petition of Appeal to file a 
Response (original and four copies). 

After the Petition on Appeal and Response have been Filed 
Appellate Rule 58 

The appellate court will review the Petition on Appeal, response, and the record. The 
court will decide whether it will issue a written decision based on that review, or ask the 
parties to file briefs. 

Motion for Summary Disposition 
Appellate Rule 10 

The appellate court may send to the parties a Motion for Summary Disposition which 
says that the court is considering dismissing the appeal because it appears that the 
appellate court does not have jurisdiction. 
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The parties may each file a response (sometimes called a “memorandum”) explaining 
why they think the court should – or should not – dismiss the appeal. The court will tell 
the parties when the response is due and how many copies must be filed with the court. 

The court will review the response(s). If the court determines that it does not have 
jurisdiction, it will issue a written decision dismissing the appeal. If the court determines 
that it does have jurisdiction, it will withdraw the motion for summary disposition and 
issue a decision on the merits at a later time.   

Briefing Process 
Appellate Rules 24, 26 & 27 

If the court does not issue a written decision after reviewing the Petition on Appeal and 
the Response, the case moves on to briefing. The briefing schedule is established by 
order of the court. 

The briefs are the single most important part of the appellate process. Briefs are the 
written arguments of parties stating the reasons why the appellate court should rule in 
their favor. This may be the only time the parties will make their argument to the court, 
so it’s important that the parties make their briefs clear and persuasive. 

Appellant’s Brief 
The appellant’s brief is what the appellant uses to persuade the appellate court that the 
juvenile court made a specific error or errors in law, fact, or procedure that affected the 
outcome of the case. The brief should focus on the law and the facts, and should 
explain how the law should apply to the facts. Rule 24 explains what should be included 
in a brief and how it should be organized. 

The appellant may also provide an addendum which includes materials the appellant 
believes are of central importance to the appeal. 

Appellee’s Brief 
The appellee can respond to the arguments made by the appellant and explain why the 
decision in the trial court was correct.  

The appellee’s brief must comply with most of the same rules as the appellant’s brief, 
except that it does not have to include a statement of the issues unless the appellee 
does not feel the appellant’s statement is complete or correct. 

Reply Brief 
The appellant may file a reply brief in answer to the appellee’s brief. See Appellate Rule 
24(c) for the requirements of this brief. The reply should be limited to answering any 
new matters set forth in the appellee’s brief. 
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Example Briefs 
Parties can review Utah appellate court briefs to see how they are constructed. Briefs 
are available in print at the Utah State Law Library, the BYU Howard W. Hunter Law 
Library and the University of Utah James E. Faust Law Library.  

Number of copies and service 
One brief with original signature and 7 copies must be filed with the court. 

Briefs are considered filed on the date of the postmark if first-class mail is used. 

Two copies of the brief must be served on the other party. The briefs must include a 
Certificate of Service showing how copies were served on the other party. See the 
Checklist for Briefs for more information about briefing requirements. 

Oral Argument 
Appellate Rule 29 

After the briefs are filed, the appellate court will set the case on the next available 
calendar for consideration and decision. The court will either make its decision based on 
the briefs, or will schedule oral argument. 

Most Court of Appeals cases are decided solely on the briefs. Oral argument is held 
only if the court determines that oral argument will significantly help the decision 
process. 

The parties use oral argument to present their arguments in person to the judges and to 
respond to any questions the judges may have.  

The appellate judges have read the briefs filed in the case and will be familiar with the 
facts, issues and law on the case. Parties should not use their argument time to simply 
repeat what they have written in the briefs. Instead, parties should focus on the legal 
question(s) that the appellate court has agreed to review.  

In the Court of Appeals, the total time for all arguments is 30 minutes. The appellant 
and the appellee each get 15 minutes.  

Oral arguments are public. Anyone may observe them in person or listen to archived 
recordings of previous arguments on the courts’ website to get an idea of the procedure. 

 Oral argument calendars

 Supreme Court oral argument recordings

 Court of Appeals oral argument recordings

https://www.utcourts.gov/opinions/index.html#arguments
https://www.utcourts.gov/opinions/streams/?court=sup
https://www.utcourts.gov/opinions/streams/?court=coa
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Appellate Court Decision 
Appellate Rule 30 

The appellate court will issue a written decision in every case, regardless of whether 
oral argument was held. The decision may be an opinion, a memorandum opinion, a per 
curiam (by the court as a whole) decision, or an order. 

The decision of the court does not have to be unanimous, but a majority must agree on 
the outcome. Sometimes judges will write opinions separate from the majority opinion: 

 Dissenting opinion – the authoring judge disagrees with the majority opinion.

 Concurring opinion – the authoring judge agrees with the majority opinion, but for
different reasons.

Court staff have no way of knowing when a decision will be issued. Depending on the 
complexity of the case, the decision process takes some time, which means it could be 
months before a decision is issued. The judges need time to research and debate the 
issues and write the opinion. The written opinion affects the individuals involved in the 
case, but it may also have a broader impact on the law in Utah. 

The appellate court could make one of the following decisions in a case, or a 
combination of these decisions (such as reversed in part and affirmed in part): 

 Affirm – the court has concluded that the trial court was correct, and its decision
stands.

 Remand – the court is returning the case to the trial court to make a finding of
fact in one or more aspects of the case.

 Reverse – the court has decided that the trial court’s decision was in error, and
has undone the decision of the trial court.

Appellate court opinions are available on the court’s website. 

Options After the Written Decision is Issued 

Once the Court of Appeals has issued its decision, the parties have several options: 

 Accept the decision of the Court of Appeals

 File a Petition for Rehearing

 File a Petition for Writ of Certiorari with Utah Supreme Court

https://www.utcourts.gov/opinions/
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Petition for Rehearing 
Appellate Rule 35 

If one of the parties believes the appellate court made an error in its written decision, 
they can ask the court to reconsider its decision by filing a Petition for Rehearing.  

The petition should not simply repeat the arguments already made. It must include the 
points of law or fact the party thinks the court has overlooked or misunderstood. A 
Petition for Rehearing must be made in good faith; it cannot be made for delay. See 
URAP 27 for format requirements. 

The petition must be filed with the clerk within 14 days after the court’s decision is 
entered. The court will not accept the Petition for Rehearing if it is not filed by the 
deadline. The court will not accept more than one Petition for Rehearing. Most petitions 
for rehearing are not granted. 

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in the Utah Supreme Court 
Appellate Rule 49 

If a party’s Petition for Rehearing is denied by the Court of Appeals the party may file a 
Petition for Writ of Certiorari in the Utah Supreme Court.   

A party may also file the Petition for Writ of Certiorari directly after the Court of Appeals 
decision is entered– they do not have to first file a Petition for Rehearing in the Court of 
Appeals. 

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari must be filed in the Supreme Court within 30 days of 
the final decision of the Court of Appeals. See our separate Guide to Filing a Petition for 
Writ of Certiorari on the courts’ website for more information. 

The Supreme Court is the court of last resort in Utah. If a party’s Petition for Writ of 
Certiorari is denied by the Utah Supreme Court, there are no more appeals available in 
the Utah State Courts. 

Remittitur 
Appellate Rule 36 

Once the case is completely finished in the appellate court, the appellate court returns 
the record to the trial court and gives up its jurisdiction. This process is called remittitur. 

The Supreme Court generally issues the remittitur 15 days after the decision is filed. 
The Court of Appeals generally issues the remittitur 35 days after the decision is filed. 

https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/appeals/docs/00_Guide_to_Filing_a_Petition_for_Writ_of_Certiorari.pdf
https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/appeals/docs/00_Guide_to_Filing_a_Petition_for_Writ_of_Certiorari.pdf
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Appellate Rules 

The Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure (also called Appellate Rules or URAP) govern 
appeals cases. The Appellate Rules specify the documents which are required, 
deadlines for filing documents, document format, etc. This guide explains some of the 
basic rules that you must follow in an appeal, but it does not explain all of them. You are 
responsible for familiarizing yourself with the Appellate Rules and following them. 

The current Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure are available on the courts’ website. The 
Appellate Rules are also available in print at the law libraries listed below, and at some 
public libraries. 

Utah State Law Library 
450 S. State Street, Rm. W-13 
Salt Lake City 
801-238-7990
www.utcourts.gov/lawlibrary/

Brigham Young University  
Howard W. Hunter Law Library 
801-422-3593
http://lawlib.byu.edu/

University of Utah  
James E. Faust Law Library 
383 S. University Street 
801-581-6184
www.law.utah.edu/library/

Other Resources 

General information about Appeals is available on the court’s Appeals web page. 

Representing Yourself in an Appeal 

People who represent themselves in court without the help of an attorney are called pro 
se or self-represented parties. Self-represented parties are responsible for learning 
about and following the rules and procedures that govern the court process.   

The appellate process is very detailed and can be confusing. The appellate courts 
highly recommend that parties get the help of an attorney. 

Appellate clerks’ staff can provide general information about court rules and procedures, 
but they cannot draft documents or participate directly or indirectly in any court action. 
Court staff cannot provide advice about what the law is or how it applies to someone’s 
situation. 

A self-represented party can only represent himself or herself. They may not represent 
another person, such as another parent, guardian or grandparent. 

See the court’s Finding Legal Help web page for information about ways to get the help 
of an attorney. 

https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urap/
https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/appeals/
https://www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalassist/

