
 

 

 

 

Dear New Admittee: 

 

The Utah State Bar filed a motion for your admission; you may now be sworn in as a member of 

the Bar. The purpose of this letter is to provide you with instructions on how to complete this 

process. 

 

Enclosed is the Attorney Oath for the Utah Supreme Court. You may take the oath at the Bar 

Admissions Ceremony in May or October. You may also make arrangements with someone in 

your area to administer the oath to you. This person must have authority to administer the oath 

of office under Supreme Court Professional Practice Rule 14-716. Those with authority to 

administer the oath are the clerk of the Supreme Court, the clerk of a court of the United 

States, a Utah state judge of district or juvenile court level or higher, a judge of a court of the 

United States or a judge of a court of general jurisdiction or higher of a state of the United 

States. In the event of a military assignment, a military court judge may also administer the 

oath. 

 

For those on the February or August motion for admission there is no formal Bar Admission 

Ceremony, please refer to Supreme Court Professional Practice Rule 14-716.. 

 

Once the oath has been administered, please return the signed oath to the Utah Supreme Court 

at the email or address listed above. Your Certificate of Admission will be sent to you once we 

receive your signed oath. Please note that the date you take your oath will be your formal 

admission date. Please contact me with questions at baradmission@utcourts.gov. 

  

  

 Respectfully,   

 
 

  Nicole I. Gray 

  Clerk of Court 

              Utah Supreme Court 

 

Enclosure 

http://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/ucja/view.html?rule=ch14/07%20Admissions/USB14-716.html
http://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/ucja/view.html?rule=ch14/07%20Admissions/USB14-716.html
mailto:baradmission@utcourts.gov


SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF UTAH

________

I DO SOLEMNLY SWEAR that I will support, obey and defend the

Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of Utah; that I will discharge the duties of attorney

and counselor at law as an officer of the courts with honesty, fidelity, professionalism, and civility; and

that I will faithfully observe the Rules of Professional Conduct and the Standards of Professionalism and

Civility promulgated by the Supreme Court of the State of Utah. 

________________________

State of ____________

   ss.

A

County of __________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______________________[DAY]

Day of ________________________________[MONTH]_, 20_______[YEAR]

________________________________________________________________ 

Printed Name and Title of Person Administering Oath of Office  

________________________________________________________________________
Signature of Person Administering Oath of Office  

Signature of new Admittee

_____________________________________________________________________
(Printed Name)



Rule 14­716. License fees; enrollment fees; oath and admission.
(a) Court enrollment fees and Bar license fee. After notification that the Board has approved the Applicant for
admission, the Applicant must pay to the Bar the applicable Bar license fee for either Active or Inactive status.
The Bar also collects and transmits the federal and state court enrollment fees. The Applicant must pay to the
Bar the mandatory Supreme Court enrollment fee, regardless of whether the Applicant elects Active or Inactive
attorney status.
(b) Motion for admission and enrollment. Upon satisfaction of the requirements of Rule 14­716(a), the Board
will submit motions to the Supreme Court and the United States District Court for the District of Utah for
admission certifying that the Applicants have satisfied all qualifications and requirements for admission to the
Bar. The Board will submit four motions for admission per year: February, May, August, and October. After the
motions are submitted and upon approval by the Supreme Court and the United States District Court for the
District of Utah and upon taking the required oath, an Applicant is eligible to be enrolled into Utah's state and
federal courts.
 (c) Oath of attorney and certificate of admission. Every Applicant must take an oath. The oath must be
administered by the clerk of the Supreme Court, the clerk of a court of the United States, a Utah state judge of
district or juvenile court level or higher, a judge of a court of the United States or a judge of a court of general
jurisdiction or higher of a state of the United States. In the event of military assignment, a military court judge
may administer the oath. After administration of the oath, each Applicant must sign the roll of attorneys
maintained by the clerk of the Supreme Court at which time the Applicant receives a certificate of admission. If
the oath is administered other than at a regularly scheduled ceremony conducted by the Court, the Applicant
must contact the clerk of the Supreme Court for information on administration of the oath, and if applicable, the
clerk of the United States District Court for the District of Utah.
(d) Time limit for admission. An Applicant must resolve all application deficiencies and gain character and
fitness approval within one year of filing the application or the application is closed. After receiving notice of
character and fitness approval, an Applicant must pay the prescribed license and enrollment fees and take the
oath as required by Rule 14­716(c) within six months or approval for admission is automatically withdrawn.
Failure to timely satisfy the provisions of this rule requires an Applicant to recommence the application process
including the submission of a new application, the payment of application fees, a new character and fitness
investigation and the retaking of the Bar Examination, if applicable.
Effective Date May 1, 2016
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