Utah Courts

UTAH COURTS

Settings
Home Page
Previous Page
 

Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

Court Process - Bailable Offenses

Delinquencies | Bailable Offenses | Citation Diversion Unit
Preliminary Inquiry | Arraignment | Pretrial | Trial | Post Dispositional Information
Your Rights, Confidentiality, Definitions | Free Legal Advice


Level 1:  Bailable Offenses

The term bailable offenses signifies one type of fine imposed by the Juvenile Court.  Generally, bailable offenses are considered to be citable by a law enforcement agency and consist of traffic offenses, parks & recreation, minor infractions, wildlife violations and local or city statute violations.

The Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over all traffic violations involving youth under 16 years of age at the time of the offense.  If the juvenile is 16 or 17 years of age, the District Court (adult court) has jurisdiction except for the following cases:

  • Automobile Homicide
  • All DUI's
  • Reckless Driving
  • Fleeing
  • Joyride
  • Delinquency referrals that include traffic violations
(None of these charges are bailable offenses, however)

Upon receiving a citation from the law enforcement agency, the Juvenile Court will send out a Notice of Bailable Offense which outlines the amount of the bail and instructions on further actions which you can take.  Bail amounts are approved by the Judicial Council and range in amount from $25.00 to $150.00 for juvenile offenders. If bail is received by the court, it constitutes payment of a fine and  is considered an admission of guilt. 

If bail is not received within the specified period of time or if you request it, the case will be petitioned to court and a Notice of Hearing will be mailed to you with the date and time for a bail hearing.
(Go to Level 4:  Arraignment)

The Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over all traffic violations involving youth under 16 years of age at the time of the offense.  If the child is over 16 years of age, the District Court (Adult Court) has jurisdiction, except for the following cases:

  • Automobile Homicide
  • DUI
  • Reckless Driving
  • Fleeing
  • Joyride
(None of these charges are bailable offenses)

Fourth District Juvenile Court
2021 S State, Provo  84604
99 East Center, Orem UT 84057
765 S Hwy 99 Suite 5, Fillmore UT 84631
1361 S Hwy 40, Heber UT  84032
PO Box 308, Nephi UT 84648

The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.


Page Last Modified: 3/29/2018
Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS Feeds


Close ×