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Small Claims is a civil action. 78A-8-102(1)

Small Claims Court is for the recovery of money.
Small Claims Court is not a court of record (78A-7-101).

The rules Small claims matters are managed in accordance
with simplified rules of procedure and evidence
promulgated by the Supreme Court required by Utah Code
Section 78A-8-102(6).

Sections 78A-8-101 to 78A-8-109 of the Utah Code
Annotated grants the authority and defines the scope of
Small Claims Court.

The Utah Rules of Small Claims Procedure (URSCP)is found
in the Utah Court Rules Annotated.

Knowing these rules can really help when you get asked
why we do things the way we do.




SMALL CLAIMS FLOWCHART

summarized Small Claims Process

Case Filed I

Dismissal Filed or Case is
Dismizsed by the court for nat
sarving the affidavit within 120 days.

Judgment
The case could get dismissed, postponed, no cause of action, or & monetary judgment may
be enterad. If dismissaed, case is closed and archived. If a casa is postponed, it will be
postponed with a new trial date. If a case has no cause of action, it will be closed and
archived. If a monetary judgment is entered, collection process may begin. Parties may
appeal 8 judges decision, Parties may file a motion to set aside and order for non-
appaarance at wral for good cause shown,

[Callection Process
Motion to Set -Supplemental Order
Aside and Order ”m""n“m"""’“' Abstract of Judgment

Filed Wit of Garnishment
-t of Execution
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SMALL CLAIMS FORMS AND INFORMATION ARE
AVAILABLE AT UTAH STATE COURTS WEBSITE.

GO TO THESE WEBSITES:
For Small Claims Forms

http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/smallclaims/#forms
OR

For Small Claims information:

http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/smallclaims/




Each step in the small claims process has a deadline.
If a party misses a deadline, the claim or defense might
not be heard. When a Small Claims filing is received,
and the rule requires a deadline, exclude the day of the
event that triggers the time period, then count the

business or calendar days according to the rule,
including the last day. If the court is closed on the last
day, the time period continues to the end of the first
day that the court is open.
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Aftidavit & Summons -must be served at least 30 calendar days
before the trial date. URSCP 3(b)

Certificate of Service -must be filed no later than 10 business days
after service. URSCP 3(c)

Counter Affidavit -must be filed at least 15 calendar days before
the trial. URSCP 4 (c)

Postponement -of the trial date must be filed at least 5 business
days before trial. URSCP 6 (c)

Subpoena -must be served at least 5 business days prior to trial.
URSCP 7(b)

Motion to set aside & Order -must be filed within 15 calendar days
after entry of the judgment or dismissal. URSCP 10 (a)

Notice of Appeal - must be filed within 30 calendar days of entry
of judgment. URSCP 12 (a)

Duration of Judgment is 8 years. Utah Code 78B-5-202




Small Claims Cases
Rule 4-801.

Effective September 1, 2010 small claims affidavits must be filed in justice court.

The proper justice court in which to file is the court for the municipality or
county in which the defendant resides or the court for the municipality or
county in which the cause of action arose.

The jurisdiction of municipal justice courts extends to the municipal
boundaries. The jurisdiction of county justice courts includes the
unincorporated county and any municipality that does not have a justice court.
A county court does not have jurisdiction within a municipality that has a justice
court. However, there may be grounds for municipal and county courts to share
jurisdiction: The defendant resides in a municipality that has a justice court, but
the cause of action arose in the unincorporated county or vice-versa.

Except in Cache County, there will always be a municipal or county court with
jurisdiction. As of September 1, Cache County is the only county without a
justice court. If a cause of action arises in Cache County (or in a municipality
without a justice court) and the defendant resides in Cache County (orina

municipality without a justice court), the affidavit may be filed in tﬁ]‘-e district
court.
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An Affidavit must be filed in the proper court that has
jurisdiction over the case. Section 78A-102-(1)(a)(ii) of Utah
Code provides jurisdiction where the defendant resides or
where the action took place. This means, if the defendant
resides within your city boundary, or that the action took
place within your city boundary, a plaintiff may file in your
court.

The affidavit is filed with the court clerk. The fee is $60.00 for
claims under $2,000, and $100.00 for claims over $2,000 up to
$7500 and $185 for claims over $7500 and cannot exceed
$10,000, unless waived by a motion and order to waive court
fees, formerly known as “affidavit of impecuniosity’.

The filing fee is due at the time of filing. The clerk will set a
tentative trial date at least 45 days away;, this gives the
constable/sheriff/process server, 2 weeks to serve the
affidavit, because of the 30 day rule. An affidavit must be

served 30 days before the court date.
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This affidavit is used when a plaintiff is holding money
that is claimed by two or more parties. In an interpleader
action, the plaintiff must pay the money in to the court at
the time of filing the affidavit or acknowledge that it will
pay the money to whomever the court directs at trial.
This type of affidavit is almost always filed by a real estate
agent. The interpleader affidavit & summons is filed with
the court clerk. The fee is $60.00 for claims under $2,000,
and $100.00 for claims over $2,000 up to $7500 and $185
for claims over $7500 and cannot exceed $10,000, unless
waived by a motion and order to waive court fees,
formerly known as “affidavit of impecuniosity”.
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[f'a business is being sued, the plaintiff must list on the Small
Claims affidavit & summons the business’ proper name and
registered agent to be served. The plaintiff can find out the
business’ proper name and registered agent by calling the Utah
Department of Commerce, Division of Corporations at

(801-530-4849) located at 160 E 300 S or go to their website at
http://www.utah.gov/serv/bes , to obtain the business’ proper
name and the name of its registered agent. If there is a registered
agent, the registered agent must be served for the business
according to Rule 16-17-301(1) of the Utah Code.

If there is no registered agent listed for the business, any person in
charge at the regular location of the business maybe served
according to rule 16-17-301(3) of the Utah Code. Refer to “Service
of Affidavit” on the methods of serving, in this presentation.

All Businesses are required by law to register their business. This
information is vital to an orderly legal system and marketplace
according to Department of Commerce.
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Atter filing the affidavit & summons, instruct the plaintiff to serve
the affidavit by the following methods of choice:

Sheriff’s department, constable, or a person regularly engaged in
the business of serving process and pay for that service.

Mail or commercial courier service that requires defendant to sign
a receipt and provides for return of that receipt to plaintiff.
Examples for a return receipt are, certified restricted delivery mail
or registered mail. The date of service is the date the defendant
signs the receipt. If the defendant does not sign the return receipt,
the plaintiff must have a sheriff, constable or a person regularly
engaged in the business of serving process to serve the affidavit
and summons. If plaintiff decides to use mail or commercial
courier service, give to the plaintiff a certificate of service of
affidavit and summons form to fill out and file with the court once
service is made, and filed within 10 days after service is made.
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According to Rule 3 of the URSCP, it states that service of all
papers other than the affidavit and counter affidavit may be
by first class mail to the other party’s last known address.
The party mailing the papers shall file proof of mailing with
the court no later than 10 business days after service. If the
papers are returned to the party serving them as

undeliverable, the party shall file the returned envelope with
the court.
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[f the defendant alleges that the plaintiff owes them money. They
may file a Counter Affidavit & Summons by paying the proper fee
($50.00 for claims $2000 or less, $70.00 for claims over $2000,
$120.00 for claims over $7500-$10,000), unless waived by a motion
and order for waiver of court fees , formerly knows as “affidavit of
impecuniosity”. The counter affidavit must be filed 15 days before
the trial date. The trial maybe rescheduled or the trial date may
remain the same. The clerk will mail a copy of the counter affidavit
to the plaintiff. The defendant may not claim more than the
jurisdictional limit of $10,000, in Small Claims. The defendant may
file a civil complaint in the district court under Utah Rules of Civil
procedure, if the counterclaim exceeds the jurisdictional limit of
$10,000.
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One postponement of the trial date per side may be granted
by the clerk per URSCP 6 (c). A party may request to
postpone a trial date by filling out a motion to postpone and
filing it with the court at least 5 business days before the trial
date. The party requesting the postponement may be ordered
to pay the other party’s costs, such as the cost of preparing for

trial. If a motion and order to postpone the trial date is for
more than 45 calendar days, it may only be granted by the
judge.
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Parties may have witnesses testify at the trial and bring documents. To
require attendance by a witness who will not attend voluntarily, a party
must subpoena the witness. The clerk or the party’s attorney may issue
a subpoena pursuant to Utah Rules of Civil Procedure 45. The party
requesting the subpoena must be served at least 5 business days prior to
trial. Currently the witness is entitled to 18.50 for the first day of
attendance and $49 per day for each subsequent day of attendance; and
if traveling more than 50 miles, $1 for each four miles in excess of 50
miles actually and necessarily traveled in going only, regardless of
county lines pursuant to rule 78B-1-119.

In Small Claims, usually they only attend the trial date, which is one
day, so our court instructs the plaintiff to attach the $18.50 with a check
or money order payable to the witness, before issuing the subpoena and
having it served. Service of the subpoena: According to URCP 45, it
states to serve the subpoena under Rule 4 of the URCP. Rule 4 says
service can be made by personal service, alternate service, service by
mail or commercial courier service, and service by publication.




A party may move to dismiss its claim at any time before the
trial date. The party must fill out a motion to dismiss form,
the order will be filled out by either the judge or clerk. At our
court, the clerks fill out the order for dismissal and use the
judge’s signature.

If you have a standing order, policy of the court, or judges’
prior approval, that allows the clerk to use the judge’s
signature stamp, then you would use the judge’s signature
stamp. Rule 4-403 is a good rule for signature stamp use
found in the Rules of Judicial Administration in the Utah
Court Rules Annotated.




Intent: _To-establish a uniform procedure for the use of judges' and commissioners' signature stamps.
Applicability: This rule shall apply to all trial courts of record and not of record.

Statement of the Rule:

(1) A clerk may, with the prior approval of the judge or commissioner, use a "signature stamp" in lieu of obtaining the judge's or
commissioner's signature on the following:

(1)(A) bail bonds from approved bondsmen;

(1)(B) bench warrants;

(2)(C) civil orders for dismissal when submitted by the plaintiff in uncontested cases or when stipulated by both parties in contested cases;

(2)(D) civil orders for dismissal pursuant to Rule 4-103;

(1)(E) orders to show cause;

(2)(F) orders to take into custody;

(1)(G) summons;

(1)(H) supplemental procedure orders;

(2)(1) orders setting dates for hearing and for notice;

(2)(J) orders accepting a plea in abeyance in cases for which no appearance is required; and

(1)(K) orders for transportation of a person in custody to a court hearing.

(2) When a clerk is authorized to use a signature stamp as provided in paragraph (1), the clerk shall sign his or her name on the document
directly beneath the stamped imprint of the judge's or commissioner's signature.

(3) All other documents requiring the judge's or commissioner's signature shall be personally signed by the judge or commissioner, unless
the judge or commissioner, on a document by document basis, authorizes the clerk to use the judge's or commissioner's signature stamp in
lieu of the judge's or commissioner's signature. On such documents, the clerk shall indicate in writing that the stamp was used at the direction
of the judge or commissioner and shall sign his or her name directly beneath the stamped imprint of the judge's or commissioner's signature.




Mediation is an opportunity where both parties try to
reach an agreed solution with the help of a mediator.
Mediation is not available at all small claims courts. If your
court wants the help of mediators, you can find a list of
mediators on the Utah courts webpage at:

Mediators are also listed in the yellow pages.



,/"[a(ﬁ‘:;lust bring or file prior to trial all documents

related to the controversy, such as bills, estimates, receipts,
rental agreements, leases, contracts and correspondence
and witnesses.

The judge will give both parties the opportunity to speak
about the case, before making a ruling.

Once the judge has made a decision, a judgment will be
entered. The case maybe continued, dismissed, taken
under advisement, transferred, or a money judgment
maybe entered. Filing fees and court costs will be awarded
to the prevailing party, unless the judge orders otherwise.
If all parties are present they will get a copy of the
judgment from the court clerk. If a party is not present, it
is the responsibility of the appearing party to serve a copy
of the judgment to the non-appearing party.



,5101‘ to *entry of default judgment against an individual, the

plaintift must file with the court a military declaration form.
This form is a requirement by the Servicemembers Civil
Relief Act / Title II General Relief /521 /Protection of
servicemembers against default judgments.

The plaintiff must do some research and make a statement
indicating that the defendant is not active in the military,
before a judge can enter default judgment. If the plaintiff
proves that the defendant is not in the military, and the
judge reviews it, the judge will fill out a military service order
and may grant or deny the entry of default judgment. If the
plaintiftf does not do any research or does not know the
military status, default judgment may not be entered. This
military declaration does not apply to businesses. Unless the
plaintiff is also suing the owner and lists them as a defendant
on the affidavit and summons.




FACT TITLE Il - GENERAL RELIEF
. on of servicemembers against default judgments [Sec. 201]
pplicability of section - This section applies to any civil action or proceeding in which the defendant does not make an appearance.
L *(b) Affidavit requirement
*(1) Plaintiff to file affidavit-In any action or proceeding covered by this section, the court, before entering judgment for the plaintiff, shall require the plaintiff to file with the court an affidavit--
*(A) stating whether or not the defendant is in military service and showing necessary facts to support the affidavit; or
*(B) if the plaintiff is unable to determine whether or not the defendant is in military service, stating that the plaintiff is unable to determine whether or not the defendant is in military service.
*(2) Appointment of attorney to represent defendant in military service -If in an action covered by this section it appears that the defendant is in military service, the court may not enter a
judgment until after the court appoints an attorney to represent the defendant. If an attorney appointed under this section to represent a servicemember cannot locate the servicemember, actions
by the attorney in the case shall not waive any defense of the servicemember or otherwise bind the servicemember.
*(3) Defendant's military status not ascertained by affidavit - If based upon the affidavits filed in such an action, the court is unable to determine whether the defendant is in military service, the
court, before entering judgment, may require the plaintiff to file a bond in an amount approved by the court. If the defendant is later found to be in military service, the bond shall be available to
indemnify the defendant against any loss or damage the defendant may suffer by reason of any judgment for the plaintiff against the defendant, should the judgment be set aside in whole or in
part. The bond shall remain in effect until expiration of the time for appeal and setting aside of a judgment under applicable Federal or State law or regulation or under any applicable ordinance of
a political subdivision of a State. The court may issue such orders or enter such judgments as the court determines necessary to protect the rights of the defendant under this Act [sections 501 to
596 of this Appendix].
*(4) Satisfaction of requirement for affidavit - The requirement for an affidavit under paragraph (1) may be satisfied by a statement, declaration, verification, or certificate, in writing, subscribed
and certified or declared to be true under penalty of perjury.
*(c) Penalty for making or using false affidavit
A person who makes or uses an affidavit permitted under subsection (b) (or a statement, declaration, verification, or certificate as authorized under subsection (b)(4)) knowing it to be false, shall
be fined as
eprovided in title 18, United States Code, or imprisoned for not more than one year, or both.
*(d) Stay of proceedings
°In an action covered by this section in which the defendant is in military service, the court shall grant a stay of proceedings for a minimum period of 9o days under this subsection upon
application of counsel, or on the
ecourt's own motion, if the court determines that--
(1) there may be a defense to the action and a defense cannot be presented without the presence of the defendant; or
*(2) after due diligence, counsel has been unable to contact the defendant or otherwise determine if a meritorious defense exists.
*(e) Inapplicability of section 202 procedures
*A stay of proceedings under subsection (d) shall not be controlled by procedures or requirements under section 202 [section 522 of this Appendix].
*(f) Section 202 protection
oIf a servicemember who is a defendant in an action covered by this section receives actual notice of the action, the servicemember may request a stay of proceeding under section 202 [section 522
of this
°Appendix].
*(g) Vacation or setting aside of default judgments
*(1) Authority for court to vacate or set aside judgment
oIf a default judgment is entered in an action covered by this section against a servicemember during the servicemember's period of military service (or within 60 days after termination of or
release from such
emilitary service), the court entering the judgment shall, upon application by or on behalf of the servicemember, reopen the judgment for the purpose of allowing the servicemember to defend the
action if it appears that
*(A) the servicemember was materially affected by reason of that military service in making a defense to the action; and
*(B) the servicemember has a meritorious or legal defense to the action or some part of it.
*(2) Time for filing application
*An application under this subsection must be filed not later than go days after the date of the termination of or release from military service.
*(h) Protection of bona fide purchaser
eIf a court vacates, sets aside, or reverses a default judgment against a servicemember and the vacating, setting aside, or reversing is because of a provision of this Act [sections 501 to 596 of this
Appendix], that
eaction shall not impair a right or title acquired by a bona fide purchaser for value under the default judgment.
eFormerly cited



,!er the Judge signs the military service order and the

judgment, instruct the plaintiff to fill out a notice of default
judgment form and immediately serve the default judgment
to the non-appearing party - URSCP g(c). This form gives

notice to the defaulting party that a judgment was entered
against them.

[f the defendant is a business, the plaintiff still needs to fill

out a notice of default judgment and serve it immediately on
the non-appearing party.



mnt is good for 8 years, Utah Code 78B-5-202.

* Judgments may be collected under the Utah Rules of Civil
Procedure. A judgment entitles the judgment creditor to
money, but if the judgment debtor does not voluntarily
pay the judgment, the creditor must take steps to collect
it. The creditor can have the debtor’s non-exempt
property seized and sold. The most common collection
procedures that our court provides is a supplemental
order and proceedings, writ of garnishment, writ of
execution and abstract of judgment (also known as a
judgment lien).

* All forms can be obtained and issued by the court clerk.



plaintiff or defendant may file a Motion to set aside and order
within 15 calendar days from the mailing of the notice of
judgment or the date of dismissal for non-appearance at trial for
good cause shown. The form must be obtained from the court
clerk and completed. Our court requires a hearing on all motions
to set aside. A hearing date will be set on the next available court
date. At the hearing the judge may deny, grant, and set a new trial
date. The court may require the requesting party’s payment of the

costs incurred by the other party, associated with the Motion to
set aside.
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0 Small claims Information from the , a party may
appeal a small claims judgment by filing a Notice of Appeal within 30 days after the dismissal
or judgment. The Notice of Appeal is filed with the court that issued the judgment. The
appeal is a new trial, called a trial de novo, held in the district court. The clerk will forward
the court’s file to district court. The parties do not file new Affidavits, but the procedures for
the trial de novo are the same as for the original trial. The parties present the evidence again,
including any new evidence. The decision after the trial de novo is final and cannot be
appealed. Ifyou are appealing a small claims judgment to the Third District Court,
mediation is required before the case will be scheduled for trial. Utah Dispute Resolution will
schedule an appointment for mediation and will notify the parties. When the mediation
process has been completed, Utah Dispute Resolution will notify the court whether the case
has been resolved. If the case has not been resolved, it will be set for trial.

Even if the judgment debtor files a Notice of Appeal, the judgment creditor may still collect
the judgment during the appeal, unless the judge enters a “stay.” To stay the judgment and
prohibit collection, the debtor must file with the district court a bond sufficient to cover the
amount of the judgment. A stay is governed by

The filing fee for a notice of appeal is $10.00 to the justice court. Check or money order
payable to district court for $225.00 trial de novo. To accommodate everyone, our court
attaches the check for $225.00 and notice of mediation form filled out by the appellant for
district court.



According to the Utah State Courts website , Rule of Civil Procedure 64(c),
Procedures in aid of writs permits the creditor, with the judge’s permission, to
use discovery methods to identify the debtor’s property, which might then be
seized by a writ of execution or garnishment. The two most common methods
of discovery are a hearing and written interrogatories. They permit the creditor
to ask questions of the debtor, either orally or in writing, about the debtor’s
property. The creditor can ask the court to order the debtor to attend a hearing
and answer questions about his or her property. This hearing is often called a
“supplemental proceeding” and the order scheduling the hearing is often called
a “supp order.”

The creditor can also send written questions to the debtor. If the debtor serves
the answers on the creditor at least 3 days before the hearing and answers the
questions to the creditor’s satisfaction, the creditor will cancel the hearing.
This saves time and money for both parties.

If the debtor fails to appear for the supplemental order hearing, the judge will
most often order an order to show cause, if the debtor was served alternately
(not served personally). If the debtor was served personally, the judge may
order a monetary bench warrant.




A garnishment is set up to intercept money owed to the defendant by
someone else. You may garnish defendant’s wages, bank accounts, or
debts owed to the defendant. The plaintiff will begin this procedure by
obtaining a packet of garnishment forms from the clerk, completing the
required information and returning them to the clerk to be issued. There
are two types of garnishments. Continuing Wage and Non-wage. The
filing fee is the same for both - $50.00. Another fee that is attached to the
garnishment payable to the garnishee, depending upon the garnishment
type , before ser vice is made, are: continuing wage-$25.00 / non-wage
$10.00. The garnishment can be served by the Sheriff’s department,
constable, or a person regularly engaged in the business of serving
process and pay for that service, mail or commercial courier service that
requires the garnishee to sign a receipt and provides for return of that
receipt to plaintiff or mail the writ, the plaintiff must fill out the
“certificate of service”, attached to the writ and file it with the court, if
plaintiff chooses to mail the writ to the garnishee.




According to the Utah State Courts website, a judgment lien
on real property is governed by Utah Code Section 78B-5-201
and Utah Code Section 78B-5-202. A judgment lien on real
property is not a direct collection of money from the
judgment debtor, but the lien prevents the debtor from
selling or mortgaging real property until the judgment is

paid or expires. Obtain an Abstract of Judgment or a certified
copy of the judgment itself from the court that entered the
judgment and a judgment information statement form. File
the judgment or Abstract of Judgment in the office of the
County Recorder in the county in which the debtor’s real
property is located. If the debtor has real property in more
than one county, file in each county. Also file with the County
Recorder a Judgment Information Statement.
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Utah State Court website states, “Writs of Execution are governed
by Rule of Civil Procedure 64E. Use a Writ of Execution to seize
the judgment debtor’s non-exempt real property or personal
property in the debtor’s possession. A Writ of Execution is a court
order to a sheriff or constable to seize and sell non-exempt
property owned by the judgment debtor in order to pay the
judgment creditor. After the court issues a Writ of Execution, the
sheriff or constable will serve the Writ, seize the property and
auction the property. The proceeds of the sale will first be used to
pay the costs of the sale and then to pay the creditor. Any
remaining money will be paid to the debtor. Rule of Civil
Procedure 64FE governs Writs of Execution. Rules 64, 69A, 69B
and 69C also are relevant.” The issue fee is $50.00 and the plaintiff
must have a sheriff or constable serve the writ of execution and
pay for service fees.
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When the judgment is paid, the creditor must file a motion and order for satisfaction of
judgment. If an abstract of judgment was issued, a satisfaction of judgment must also be
filed with the county recorder’s office in which the abstract of judgment was filed.

URSCP Rule 11 (b) states: “Upon payment in full of the judgment, including post-
judgment costs and interest, the judgment creditor shall file a satisfaction ofpjudgment
with the court. Upon receipt of a satisfaction of judgment from the judgment creditor,
the clerk of the court shall enter the satisfaction upon the docket. The judgment debtor
may file a satisfaction of judgment and proof of payment. If the judgment creditor fails to
object within 10 business days after notice, the court may enter satisfaction of the
judgment. If the judgment creditor objects to the proposed satisfaction, the court shall
rule on the matter and may conduct a hearing.

(c) If the judgment creditor is unavailable to accept payment of the judgment, the
judgment debtor may pay the amount of the judgment into court and serve the creditor
with notice of payment in the manner directed by the court as most likely to give the
creditor actual notice, which may include publication. After 30 calendar days after final
notice, the debtor may file a satisfaction of judgment and the court may conduct a
hearing. The court will hold the money in trust for the creditor for the period required by
state law. If not claimed by the judgment creditor, the clerk of the court shall transfer the
money to the Unclaimed Property Division of the Office of the State Treasurer.”




Links for helpfulsresources for
Small claims

Small Claims Information:
http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/smallclaims/

Utah Codes:
http://www.le.state.ut.us/Documents/code const.htm
Mediation:
http://www.utcourts.gov/mediation/roster/bios.asp

Legal advice for parties:
http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalclinics/
Small Claims Rules:

http://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/srpe/




Thank for listening. If you have questions, feel free to
contact me.

Sharon Nez
Small Claims Section Manager / SLC Justice Court
801-535-6326
sharon.nez@slcgov.com




