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Navigating the Court System

UTAH SUPREME COURT
Five Justices: 10-year terms

The Supreme Court is the “court of last resort” in Utah. It hears appeals 
from capital and first-degree felony cases and all district court civil 

cases other than domestic relations cases. The Supreme Court
also has jurisdiction over judgments of the Court of Appeals,

proceedings of the Judicial Conduct Commission, lawyer
discipline, and constitutional and election questions.

JUVENILE COURT
Thirty Judges: 6-year terms
1.5 Court Commissioners

Juvenile Court is the state court with jurisdiction over 
youth under 18 years of age, who violate a state or 

municipal law. The Juvenile Court also has jurisdiction 
in all cases involving a child who is abused,

neglected, or dependent. 

COURT OF APPEALS
Seven Judges: 6-year terms

The Court of Appeals hears all appeals from the 
juvenile courts and those from the district courts 

involving domestic relations and criminal matters of 
less than a first-degree felony. It also may hear any 

cases transferred to it by the Supreme Court.

JUSTICE COURT
Ninety-eight Judges: 4-year terms

Justice courts are locally funded and operated, but are 
part of the Judicial Branch and subject to state laws 

and court rules.  Justice Court cases include: 
misdemeanor criminal cases, traffic and parking 

infractions, small claims cases. 

DISTRICT COURT
Seventy-one Judges: 6-year terms

10.5 Court Commissioners
District Court is the state trial court of general 

jurisdiction. Among the cases it hears are: 
civil cases, domestic relations cases, probate cases, 

criminal cases, appeals from justice courts.
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Letter from Chief Justice Durrant 

Dear Journalist, 

The Administrative Office of the Courts recently conducted  
a survey to determine the level of public trust and 
confidence in the Utah State Courts. Respondents ranked 
media as their number one source for information about 
Utah’s judiciary. 

Accurate reporting is essential to ensuring the public 
receives a clear picture of Utah’s courts. This Media Guide 
is an effort to inform reporters covering the courts and to 
support their vital work. 

The Utah State Courts are committed to working with 
journalists. My hope is that this Media Guide will assist 
journalists to navigate the court system as they report on 
cases and court programs. 

Sincerely,

Honorable Matthew B. Durrant 
Chief Justice, Utah Supreme Court

Introduction
The Administrative Office of the Utah State Courts is 
pleased to provide you with the Utah State Courts’ Media 
Guide. We hope this booklet is a valuable resource in 
assisting you when reporting on cases in the state court 
system.  Please note the information in this guide applies 
only to the Utah State Courts and not Utah’s federal court, 
which is located in Salt Lake City. For information on the 
federal court, go to www.utd.uscourts.gov.

In addition to the Utah Media Guide, the state courts’ 
Public Information Office is available to assist reporters in 
navigating the state court system. Please call the office at 
(801) 578-3994 for assistance as well as suggestions on 
improving this guide. 
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MEDIA TIPS
HOW DO I FIND INFORMATION 
ABOUT A COURT CASE?
XChange is an online resource 
of District Court and Justice 
Court case information. To 
track a case through the court 
system, a reporter enters the 
person’s name or case number, 
which produces the case docket. 
The docket includes the case 

name and number, type of case, violation or charge, the 
judge assigned to the case, and the case history, including 
arraignments, scheduled hearings, trials, dispositions, motions, 
and pleadings. Please note, there can be a delay between a 
court hearing and when the online docket is updated. If you 
need information that is not posted, either contact the judge’s 
clerk directly or contact the Public Information Office at 
(801) 578-3994. Also, on page 41 of this guide, court 
executives in each district are listed as a resource. 

To access XChange go to www.utcourts.gov/xchange  
and enter a user name and password. The monthly 
subscription fee is waived for Utah media outlets 
that access XChange for newsgathering purposes. For 
information on subscribing, contact the Public Information 
Office at (801) 578-3994. 

Court Calendar   
Court calendars are posted online at www.utcourts.gov/cal. 
Courthouses throughout the state are listed here. Each court 
calendar includes parties’ names, case numbers, assigned 
judge, and type of hearing. The court calendar is usually 
updated each morning before 8:00 a.m.

Obtaining Court Documents
A crime has been committed and you need the District 
Court documents filed in the case. Where should you go 
and what should you ask for? It’s important to know that 
the court will not have information on a case until the 
prosecutor files charges. When charges have been filed, 
the charging documents will be available on XChange. 
These documents provide information from the police or 
sheriff’s office about why the charges have been filed, and 
sometimes include a probable cause statement. The cost 
per document is .50 cents.

Information about civil cases is available on page 13. 
Court documents in civil cases are available on XChange. 
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Media Contacts
The Public Information Office is available as a resource for 
information about the state courts at (801) 578-3994. 
For a list of contacts in each district throughout the state, 
go to page 41. 

Cameras in the Courtroom
For complete information on cameras in the courtroom, go 
to page 35. 

Search Warrants 
A search warrant is an order issued by a magistrate/
judge to a police officer allowing that officer to search for 
and seize evidence. The search warrant must be based on 
probable cause. Probable cause exists when there is a fair 
probability that evidence of the crime will be found. The 
search warrant must describe the thing, place, or person to 
be searched and the items to be seized. Evidence may also 
be seized without a warrant when the officer has probable 
cause to believe that the evidence establishes illegal 
conduct, and it is likely the evidence will disappear or be 
destroyed before a warrant can be obtained.

The warrant must be served in the daytime unless the 
magistrate/judge finds that a search at night is necessary 
to seize the property. A search warrant must be executed 
within 10 days after its issuance. The officer must return 
the search warrant promptly to the court after it has been 
served. A warrant becomes public 20 days after it is issued, 
unless the magistrate/judge seals the warrant. Public 
search warrants are available on XChange. Under “search 
type,” scroll down to eWarrants.

Why Can’t a Judge Talk About a Case? 
The Code of Judicial Conduct prohibits judges from 
talking about pending cases. This is in order to remain 
impartial and not prejudice a case. This rule extends to 
court personnel as well. If you need clarification about a 
legal process in a case, it is best to contact the trial court 
executive or public information office. To read the Code 
of Judicial Conduct, go to www.utcourts.gov/resources/
ethadv/ or see page 39. 
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MEDIA IN THE COURTROOM
Rule 4-401.01 of the Rules of Judicial Administration 
establishes standards and procedures for conduct in the 
courtroom. In general, the rule asks media members to avoid 
calling attention to themselves; not to place equipment in 
or remove equipment from the courtroom while court is in 
session; not to make comments in the courtroom during the 
court proceedings; not to comment to or within the hearing of 
the jury at any time before the jury is dismissed; to present a 
neat appearance; not to conduct interviews in the courtroom; 
and to comply with the orders and directives of the court. 

Rule 509 of the Rules of Evidence clarifies the legal standard 
to be applied in deter mining whether a news reporter may be 
compelled to dis close information gathered in the course of 
reporting the news.

To access all court rules, go to www.utcourts.gov/
resources/rules/

HELPFUL HINTS
• Turn cell phones to silent while in the courtroom. 

Sometimes, judges will ask that cell phones be 
completely turned off or not brought into the  
courtroom at all.

• Use of a laptop is allowed unless a judge indicates 
otherwise. Wireless networks are available in state 
courthouses. 

• Do not speak about the case around jurors and 
witnesses. 

• While an audio recorder may be allowed in the 
courtroom, it should never be turned on while in the 
courtroom. 

Use of Portable Electronic Devices
Rule 4-401.02 permits the use of portable electronic 
devices in courthouses and courtrooms, but is subject to 
local restrictions. In general, a portable electronic device 
may be silently used in the courtroom. The device can not 
be used to record or transmit images or sound of court 
proceedings, except in accordance with Rule 4-401.01. A 
judge can further restrict use of portable electronic devices 
in his or her courtroom. 
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DISTRICT COURT PROCEEDINGS
CRIMINAL PROCESS
NOTE: This section is not intended to be an exhaustive 
discourse on the criminal process, but rather a brief 
overview.

What is a criminal case?
A criminal case occurs when the government believes a 
person has committed an act prohibited by criminal law and 
the prosecutor brings a charge against the party alleged 
to have broken the law. There are three classifications of 
criminal activity: felony, misdemeanor, and infraction.

What is a felony? See chart page 46
A felony is a major crime for which the defendant may be 
sentenced to prison in a state correctional institution. The 
court may also impose probation and/or a fine. Felonies are 
classified into four categories. Some of the crimes in each 
category are listed below:

Capital offense: Aggravated murder. See chart page 47

First Degree: Murder, rape, child kidnapping, aggravated 
burglary (residential), aggravated robbery or arson, and 
possession with intent to distribute cocaine, heroin, 
methamphetamine, or LSD within 1,000 feet of any school. 

Second Degree: Manslaughter, robbery, residential 
burglary, kidnapping, perjury, auto theft, forgery of 
checks $5,000 or more, theft of property $5,000 or 
more, forcible sexual abuse, and intentional child abuse 
(serious physical injury).

Third Degree: Burglary of non-dwelling, theft more than 
$1,500 but less than $5,000, aggravated assault, forgery 
of checks more than $1,500 but under $5,000, third DUI 
in 10 years, joyriding (for more than 24 hours), possession 
with intent to distribute marijuana, and possession of 
cocaine, methamphetamine, LSD or heroin, and false or 
forged prescriptions.

When is a criminal defendant 
required to be in court?
A defendant is not required to attend every hearing. 
A defendant is required to attend such proceedings as a 
felony first appearance, arraignment, trial, and sentencing. 
A defendant can be removed from certain proceedings for 
causing a disruption. (In most civil cases, the parties don’t 
appear in court, except at a trial.)
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What is a Misdemeanor? See chart page 48
A misdemeanor is an offense lower than a felony that is 
punishable by a county jail term and/or a fine, but not 
prison. Many city and county ordinances and some state 
laws are misdemeanors. Misdemeanors are classified into 
three categories.  All can be tried by a jury. Some of the 
crimes are listed in each category below:

Class A: Negligent homicide, DUI with injury, theft, assault 
on a police officer, criminal mischief, and possession of 
marijuana (more than 1 ounce, less than 16 ounces).

Class B: Assault, resisting arrest, DUI, reckless driving, 
possession of marijuana under 1 ounce, possession of 
drug paraphernalia, shoplifting (under $500), trespass of 
a dwelling, public nuisance, concealed weapon, and many 
traffic offenses.

Class C: Public intoxication, no valid license, and driving on 
a suspended license.

What is an Infraction?
An infraction is a minor offense punishable by a fine only. 
There can be a trial, but not by a jury. Examples include city 
traffic violations and disorderly conduct.

HOW A FELONY COMES TO TRIAL
Pre-trial Procedures
A criminal case begins in the courts when a prosecuting 
attorney files an “information.” The information will list the 
name of the defendant, the nature of the offense, and a 
description of the crime alleged to have occurred.  In felony 
cases, the filing of an information will have been preceded 
by one of two events: 1) The defendant has already been 
arrested based on a law enforcement officer observing 
illegal conduct and making an arrest; the officer then refers 
the matter to a prosecuting attorney for screening and 
filing.  2) The case is a result of a criminal investigation 
from which an arrest has not yet been made.  In this 
circumstance, the prosecutor will typically request an arrest 
warrant at the time the information is filed.

Arrest Warrant or Summons Issued
After a felony information is filed, a judge may issue a 
warrant for the alleged offender’s arrest if the defendant 
has not yet been arrested. A summons to appear in court 
may be issued instead of an arrest warrant if the person is 
likely to respond to a summons.
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Jail Incarceration (Pre-trial Detention)
When a defendant is arrested, the defendant is taken into 
custody, booked into jail, fingerprinted, and evaluated to 
see if release is possible pending resolution of the case. 
If the defendant was arrested before the information 
was filed, the defendant will already have been booked, 
fingerprinted, and evaluated for release.

Release from Jail
The defendant may be released from jail in one of the 
following ways: 

1) Post bail

2) On their Own Recognizance (OR). Following an 
evaluation, a defendant may be released without posting 
bail if there is reasonable assurance that the defendant 
will appear for court hearings and the defendant is not 
a significant risk to the community. The release may 
include conditions such as refraining from using alcohol 
or drugs, no contact with the victim, and obtaining full-
time employment.

Posting Bail—If the defendant is not released on his 
or her own recognizance, the defendant usually may post 
bail. The court sets a bail amount according to the severity 
of the crime and the criminal history of the defendant. 
Bail is money that the defendant deposits with the court 
to guarantee future appearances in court. Defendants 
unable to post cash bail may purchase a bail bond from a 
licensed company. The company posts the bail bond with 
the court and agrees to pay the bail if the defendant does 
not appear as required.  If the defendant fails to appear, 
the defendant’s bail is usually forfeited and a warrant is 
issued for the defendant’s arrest.  Cash bail or a bail bond 
is released when the defendant is sentenced and the 
defendant has made all required court appearances.

The right to bail is not 
absolute. Probationers, 
parolees, and repeat 
felons, who commit a 
crime while released on 
another case, may be 
denied bail. Capital felony 
defendants may be denied 
bail if there is substantial 
evidence that the defendant committed the offense. Risk 
to the community and flight risk are factors judges may 
consider in denying bail.
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Initial Appearance
Initial appearance is sometimes referred to as an 
arraignment; however, these are two different legal 
processes in a felony case. The defendant is formally 
notified of the charges and advised of his/her rights. If the 
defendant cannot afford an attorney, the court will appoint 
one. If the defendant is still in custody, the defendant’s 
attorney may ask for a bail-reduction hearing. A date is set 
for a preliminary hearing, although the defendant can waive 
this hearing. In felony cases, a plea is not entered at this 
time. After the preliminary hearing, if the case is bound 
over for trial, the defendant will enter a plea during an 
arraignment hearing. 

Roll Call Hearing
Sometimes the judge will set a date for a roll call hearing. The 
roll call hearing is an opportunity to review the status of a 
case, schedule future hearings, and appoint counsel.

Preliminary Hearing
The purpose of the preliminary hearing is to determine the 
following: 1) whether probable cause exists to show a crime 
has been committed and 2) whether probable cause exists 
to show the defendant was the person who committed the 
crime. The judge listens to witness testimony and evidence 
presented at the hearing. If the judge finds probable cause, 
the defendant is bound over for trial. If the judge decides 
there isn’t probable cause, the case will be dismissed.  

Note:
The finding of probable cause at the preliminary hearing 
should not be confused with the ultimate finding of guilt. 
The fact that a judge binds a defendant over for trial does 
not necessarily mean that the judge thinks the defendant is 
guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.  The judge has only made 
a finding that the prosecution’s evidence justifies a trial.

Arraignment
During an arraignment, the judge reads the information 
to the defendant. The defendant may waive a formal 
reading of the charges. The defendant must enter a plea 
at this time.  If the plea is guilty, the judge will engage 
in a colloquy with the defendant to determine that the 
guilty plea is knowingly and voluntarily made. The case is 
scheduled for sentencing.  A defendant may also enter a 
plea of “guilty and mentally ill,” in which case the judge will 
order a mental evaluation. A defendant may also plead “no 
contest,” which is treated the same as a guilty plea. If the 
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plea is not guilty, a pretrial conference and trial dates are 
scheduled. A plea of “not guilty by reason of insanity” may 
also be entered. 

Pretrial Motions
Before a felony trial begins, the prosecution and defense 
attorneys may file any number of motions with the court. A 
motion is a formal request for the judge to issue an order.  
Examples include motions to suppress evidence or motions 
to compel the prosecution to give certain information. 
Certain motions must be made at least five days before the 
trial and often require a hearing.

Change of venue: In a high-profile case, a motion for 
change of venue may be filed. Change of venue means 
the transfer of a case that began in one county or district, 
to another county or district for trial. In a criminal case, a 
change of venue will be permitted if the court determines 
that the defendant cannot receive a fair trial in a given 
venue. 

Conduct order: The court may grant a pre-trial order 
(sometimes referred to by the media as a “gag” order) that 
prevents attorneys and parties from talking about a case. 
This is to ensure a fair jury can be selected. 

Pre-trial Conference
At the discretion of the trial judge, the court may hold a 
pre-trial conference in which the prosecutor and defense 
attorney discuss a plea bargain. Any case that is not settled 
is set for trial.

Plea Bargains
A plea bargain takes place when the prosecutor and 
defense attorney negotiate a mutually satisfactory 
disposition of the case. The judge does not participate in 
plea bargain discussions, but must approve or reject any 
deal before it is final. The defendant also must approve 
the plea bargain. A plea bargain might involve a guilty plea 
exchanged for a lesser charge or a sentencing recommenda-
tion, or for dismissal of one or more charges in a multi-
count information, or for dismissal of another case. Judges 
approve plea bargains because they realize the attorneys 
know far more about the case than the judge does. The 
prosecutor has considerable discretion over what charges to 
file. Victims of a crime have a right to be consulted on the 
plea bargain, but are not allowed to veto the prosecutor’s 
decision to enter into a plea bargain. 
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The first time a plea bargain becomes part of a public 
record is when it is entered in court. The court cannot 
provide information on a plea bargain in advance of the 
hearing, so reporters wanting to know more information 
should contact the attorneys, who may or may not provide 
the information. 

There are three other types of pleas: “no contest,” “Sery” 
and the “Alford” plea. These pleas are available for both 
felonies and misdemeanors.

No contest plea: The court treats the no contest plea the same 
as a guilty plea, but the defendant, rather than admitting guilt, 
admits the prosecution would likely prevail at trial.

Sery plea: The defendant pleads guilty, but reserves 
the right to appeal an important issue, such as the 
constitutionality of a statute. If the appeal is successful,  
the plea is withdrawn.

Alford plea: An Alford plea may be used when the 
defendant wants the advantage of the plea bargain but 
cannot or will not admit guilt.  The defendant pleads guilty 
to avoid the potential consequences of going to trial.

If all parties accept the plea bargain, and the defendant 
enters a guilty plea, the next step is sentencing of the 
defendant. If a settlement cannot be reached, the case is 
either set for trial or the trial date is confirmed.  

HOW A 
MISDEMEANOR 
COMES TO TRIAL
Pretrial Procedures
Many of the procedures in 
misdemeanor cases are similar 

to the procedures in felonies.  However, there are some 
differences at the beginning of misdemeanor cases. Most 
misdemeanor cases begin with the issuance of a citation. 
A law enforcement officer will often issue a citation 
instead of arresting a defendant. The citation directs an 
individual to appear at court within a certain period of time 
or on a specific date. The defendant can plead guilty on 
the basis of the citation, or plead not guilty and request 
that an information be filed. If a citation is not issued, a 
misdemeanor case begins with the filing of an information.  
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The court does not conduct preliminary hearings in 
misdemeanor cases. Defendants are arraigned at the 
first appearance. If the defendant enters any type of plea 
admitting guilt, the defendant may be sentenced at that 
time, but the defendant has the right to be sentenced at a 
later date. If the defendant pleads not guilty, the case will be 
set for trial. Prior to the time of trial, the court may conduct 
pretrial conferences and the parties may file motions and 
engage in plea bargaining, similar to felony cases.

CIVIL PROCESS See chart page 49
NOTE: This section is not intended to be an exhaustive 
discourse on the civil process, but rather a brief overview.

What is a Civil Case?
A civil case is a dispute between two or more individuals, 
or entities such as partnerships, corporations and govern-
mental agencies. Most civil actions involve a plaintiff 
who is suing a defendant for monetary damages or other 
judicially-ordered relief. Examples of civil actions include 
claim for personal injury, request for an injunction, divorce, 
landlord-tenant cases, or breach of contract.

HOW A CIVIL CASE COMES TO TRIAL
Plaintiff’s Complaint/Petitioner’s Petition
A lawsuit commences when the plaintiff or petitioner 
files a complaint or petition with the court. The complaint 
or petition identifies all parties involved in the case and 
describes the nature of the grievance and the remedy that 
is sought.

Complaints/Petitions and Summons Served on 
Defendant/Respondent
A copy of the complaint/petition is served on each of 
the defendants/respondents. A complaint will include a 
summons, which states that the defendant must respond 
to the complaint within either 21 or 30 days, depending 
on residency status. Some petitions do not require that 
an answer be filed. Instead, the court will automatically 
conduct a hearing on the petition.

Defendant’s Answer
The defendant must either admit or deny the allegations in 
the complaint, or state that the defendant has insufficient 
knowledge to admit or deny. The defendant also lists any 
defenses to the action, such as the running of a statute 
of limitation or lack of jurisdiction. If an answer or other 
appropriate response is not filed within the time allowed by 
law, the court may enter a default judgment.
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Upon being sued, the defendant can bring a counterclaim 
against the plaintiff, which may or may not be related to 
the original claim by the plaintiff. If there are two or more 
defendants, one defendant can raise a cross-claim against 
another defendant. A defendant can also bring a claim against 
someone who is not in the lawsuit, called a third-party claim.

Discovery
The purpose of discovery is to allow all parties to become 
fully informed of the relevant facts in the lawsuit. Typical 
discovery includes parties asking written questions 
(interrogatories) or asking oral questions of parties and non-
party witnesses (depositions) under oath. Discovery also 
includes reviewing documents obtained by subpoena or by 
a request for production of documents.

Interrogatories are written questions served upon one 
party by another. The party must answer the questions 
under oath within 28 days. Interrogatories are used to get 
information about the theories of the opponent’s claims 
and/or defenses, and to uncover potential witnesses and 
documents. 

Depositions are taken of individuals who are either parties 
or non-party witnesses. Depositions are taken under oath 
before a certified court reporter.  The deposition constitutes 
the sworn testimony of the individual and may be used in 
court. If filed with the court, depositions become public 
records.

Depositions and answers to interrogatories are not typically 
filed with the court. A reporter must contact the parties 
directly to request this information. 

Pre-trial Motions
After the plaintiff files a complaint, the defendant may, 
instead of filing an answer, file a motion that responds 
to the complaint but does not constitute an answer. The 
parties may also file motions after the answer is filed.

There are certain motions (called “dispositive”), which 
resolve claims in the case by disposing of either the 
plaintiff’s complaint or the defendant’s answer and 
defenses. For example, the defendant may choose to bring 
a motion to dismiss the complaint. The court either grants 
or denies the motion based solely on the complaint. 
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Either party may file a motion for summary judgment. These 
are usually filed after the discovery period, when the sides 
have had a chance to evaluate their positions. The judge 
may grant summary judgment if the pleadings, answers 
to interrogatories, depositions, and affidavits show there 
is no genuine dispute over the material facts and that the 
governing law dictates a ruling in favor of the party seeking 
judgment. A summary judgment can result in a judgment 
for the plaintiff, or a resolution in favor of the defendant. 
Summary judgments are not often granted because the 
parties usually dispute the material facts. 

Settlement Conference
The plaintiff and defendant may reach a settlement without 
going to trial. The majority of civil cases do not go to trial. 
If all the issues in the lawsuit have not been disposed of 
either by settlement or by motion, those remaining issues 
will be resolved at trial.

RIGHT TO TRIAL BY JURY
The Utah Constitution and the U.S. Constitution provide for 
a trial by jury.  However, few cases actually go to trial.  
Most civil cases are settled out of court and in most 
criminal cases, the defendant enters a negotiated 
plea to resolve the case.

COUNSEL
A defendant has a right to appointed counsel (an attorney) 
in criminal cases where the defendant is indigent and 
stands a substantial chance of being incarcerated. The 
defendant may also waive that right and proceed pro 
se (self representation). The defendant may be forced 
to proceed pro se if the defendant doesn’t qualify for 
appointed counsel and the defendant does not hire counsel. 
There is no constitutional right to an attorney in a civil case.

PLAYERS IN THE COURTROOM
Judge
The judge presides over the trial making all the final 
decisions on issues of law and admissibility of evidence. In 
those trials where a jury is not used, the judge becomes the 
trier of fact.

Bailiff
The bailiff calls the court to order, announces the judge’s 
entry into the courtroom, and helps keep order in the 
courtroom. Bailiffs are also responsible for courtroom and 
courthouse security.
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Judicial Service Representative
Each judge has a judicial service representative who 
administers oaths, manages court files, manages exhibits 
during a trial, and is responsible for all case documents.

Defendant
In a criminal case, the defendant is the person accused of 
a crime. In a civil case, the defendant is the person from 
whom money or other relief is sought.

Defense Attorney
In a criminal case, a defense attorney represents 
the defendant and is responsible for seeing that the 
defendant’s rights are protected and for providing vigorous 
representation of the defendant. 

Prosecutor/Plaintiff
The prosecutor is the attorney for the state, county, or city 
and has the duty to see that the laws are upheld and justice 
is done on behalf of the public. In a criminal case, the 
prosecutor has the burden of showing beyond a reasonable 
doubt that the defendant committed the crime. In a civil 
case, the plaintiff sets forth the allegations against the 
defendant and must prove the allegations. In most civil 
cases, the plaintiff must show that the preponderance of 
the evidence supports the plaintiff’s claim.

STAGES OF A TRIAL
Depending on the type of action, a case may be tried before 
a judge (bench trial), or before a jury with a judge presiding. 
Whether the case is civil or criminal, or is tried by a judge 
or jury, the procedure is essentially the same. The following 
are the steps in a trial.

Jury Selection or Voir Dire
Jurors are selected from a random cross-section of the 
population in the area served by the court. Names of jurors 
are compiled from both voter registration and drivers’ license 
lists. Potential jurors fill out a qualification questionnaire 
prior to coming to the court. Names are then pulled from the 
potential juror list and put on a qualified juror list. Depending 
on the court where they are called to serve, jurors are asked 
to be available from one to six months. 

At the beginning of the trial, the clerk calls a panel of 
prospective jurors and summons them to court. The judge, 
and in some cases the lawyers, ask the potential jurors 
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questions about their background and general beliefs to 
determine any biases or prejudices. This process is called 
voir dire (vwarh deer). An attorney or the judge can ask 
that a juror be dismissed “for cause.”  There is no limit to 
the number of challenges for cause a party may present 
to the judge. Both sides are entitled to a certain number 
of peremptory challenges, which means they may excuse 
some prospective jurors without stating any reasons. (The 
court will reject the challenge if the motive appears to be 
racially or gender motivated.)

Juror Numbers: In District Court, eight jurors are 
selected for most civil and criminal jury trials. In capital 
homicide cases, there are 12 jurors, plus one or two 
alternates. There are six jurors in class A misdemeanor 
cases.  In justice courts, there are four jurors in criminal 
(class B & C misdemeanor) cases.

During a trial, identifying jurors is prohibited. A juror’s 
identity should not be reported nor should his/her identity 
be revealed through photographs. Contact with jurors 
outside of the courtroom is prohibited until after the trial  
is concluded.

Opening Statement
Attorneys for each side make opening statements to inform 
the court and jurors of the nature of the case, the evidence 
they will present, and the facts they expect to prove. The 
defense attorney may wait to make an opening statement 
until after the prosecution has rested or may choose not to 
make one at all.

Prosecution Evidence/Witnesses
Each side makes its case based on testimony from 
witnesses and physical evidence, such as documents, 
pictures, and other exhibits.

The prosecutor/plaintiff calls witnesses for direct 
examination (questioning) to state what they know about 
the alleged crime. The defense attorney may ask questions 
of the same witnesses (cross examination). Then, the 
prosecutor/plaintiff may re-examine witnesses (re-direct). 
Physical evidence, such as documents, pictures, and other 
exhibits, may also be introduced.
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Defense Evidence/Witnesses
Once the prosecutor/plaintiff has presented the case, the 
defense may call witnesses to give testimony to disprove the 
prosecutor/plaintiffs’ case and to establish the defendant’s 
case. The prosecutor/plaintiff may cross-examine the 
witnesses. Then the defense may re-examine its witnesses. 

Rebuttal
When the defense has presented its witnesses, the 
prosecutor/plaintiff may again call witnesses to rebut new 
information introduced by the defense witnesses. The judge 
may allow sur-rebuttal by the defense (a rebuttal to the 
rebuttal).

Jury Instructions
Before closing arguments, the judge will instruct the jury 
about the laws to follow. The jury instructions tell the jury 
what law to apply to the facts and the different verdicts the 
jury may return. In civil cases, a preponderance of the evi-
dence favoring one side must usually be determined. In some 
cases a plaintiff must prove a case by clear and convincing 
evidence. In criminal cases, if the defendant is not found 
guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, the defendant is acquitted.

Closing Argument
After the jury instructions are given, both attorneys 
summarize the evidence and testimony in an effort to 
persuade the judge or jury to decide the case in favor of 
their client. The prosecutor/plaintiff offers closing argument 
first, then the defense, and then the prosecutor/plaintiff 
responds to the defense’s closing argument. Either side may 
waive closing arguments.

Jury Deliberations
After closing arguments, the court orders the jury to retire 
to the jury room for deliberation. The jury is isolated in the 
jury room and jurors are not allowed to communicate with 
anyone outside of the jury. Discussion with the bailiff may 
be appropriate but only with regard to meals or scheduling 
of deliberations. Jurors are asked to decide the case on the 
information they heard in court; however, they may ask for 
clarification on certain issues. Sometimes the foreperson 
will inform the court that the jury is making no progress in 
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reaching a majority or unanimous decision. At this point, 
the court must decide what to do. The court may order the 
jurors to continue the deliberation or declare a mistrial. 
Declaring a mistrial is a severe decision and the court will 
encourage the jurors to deliberate unless there is very little 
chance of reaching a verdict. If a verdict cannot be reached, 
the case may be set for a new trial.

Verdict
In criminal cases, a verdict must be unanimous and must 
be given in open court with the defendant present unless 
he/she chooses not to be present. There are four possible 
verdicts:

Guilty—The jury or judge finds the following beyond a 
reasonable doubt: a) the state has proved the elements of 
the offense; and b) the defendant committed the offense.

Not Guilty—The jury or judge finds the state has not 
convinced them beyond a reasonable doubt the defendant 
committed the offense.

Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity—The jury or the judge must 
determine that the defendant, because of mental disease 
or defect, could not form the intent required to commit the 
offense.

Guilty and Mentally Ill—The jury or judge finds the 
defendant was mentally ill (at the time of the offense) but 
was still able to form the intent to commit the offense.

If the jury cannot agree on a verdict, the judge may declare 
a “hung” jury and declare a mistrial and order a new trial.

In civil cases, the verdict does not have to be unanimous; at 
least three-fourths of the jurors must agree to the verdict.

It is not appropriate for anyone to communicate with the jurors 
during deliberations. It is possible for attorneys, parties, or the 
media to ask questions of the jurors after the trial is fully at its 
end. In highly confidential and sensitive trials, the court may 
instruct the jurors not to grant interviews. Jurors do not have to 
respond to questions, and their privacy should be respected. 
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SENTENCING/JUDGMENT
Judges are responsible for determining the 
sentence of a defendant. 

Criminal Case: In a criminal case, the defendant has 
the right to be sentenced in no fewer than two and no 
more than 45 days following conviction. The defendant 
may choose to waive that timeframe and be sentenced 
the day of conviction. In most felony cases, judges order 
a pre-sentence report to be prepared by the Department 
of Corrections’ Division of Adult Probation and Parole, 
more commonly referred to as AP&P. AP&P prepares a 
confidential report, which includes the police report, the 
defendant’s prior adult and juvenile record, the defendant’s 
statement, drug and alcohol history, family history, 
probation history, and the impact of the crime on the victim. 
AP&P makes a sentencing recommendation that the judge 
considers when sentencing the defendant. Victims have 
the right to have their views heard at a sentencing hearing. 
Their views are considered in conjunction with the pre-
sentence report and other evidence. The judge imposes a 
sentence that may include a jail or prison term, probation, 
fine, restitution, or a combination of all penalties.

Sentencing Guidelines:

First-Degree Felony: 5 years to life

Second-Degree Felony: 1 to 15 years

Third-Degree Felony: 0 to 5 years

Class A misdemeanor: not to exceed 1 year

Class B misdemeanor: not to exceed 6 months

Class C misdemeanor: not to exceed 90 days

Infraction: no jail may be imposed

Capital Case: In capital cases, a sentencing hearing is 
held at which defense counsel introduces evidence to show 
mitigating circumstances, and the state may introduce 
evidence to show aggravating circumstances. The jury or 
judge then deliberates to determine whether the person 
should be given the death penalty or a life sentence.

Civil Case: In a civil case, after the verdict (if there is 
a jury) or after the court has decided the facts in a bench 
trial, a judgment will be rendered. As part of the judgment, 
the jury or court may award money damages or injunctive 
relief (which means the losing party is ordered to do 
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something or to stop 
doing something). The 
court may also award 
attorneys’ fees to the 
winning party if there 
are circumstances that 
justify such an award. 
The court may also 
award the winning party 
“costs,” which means 
the losing party must 
pay for certain litigation 
costs, such as the cost 
of depositions, expert 
witness fees, or court 
filing fees.

Post-trial Motions: A number of post-trial motions 
can be filed, such as a motion for a new trial, motion for 
judgment notwithstanding the verdict (asking the judge 
to override the jury’s verdict), or a motion for remittitur or 
additur. Remittitur essentially asks the court to reduce the 
amount of money damages awarded to the winning party. 
Additur asks the court to increase the awarded money 
damages. Judges have great discretion in these matters.

High-profile Hearings
When the court expects a case will generate substantial 
media attention, the judge may issue a Decorum Order for 
courtroom protocol. The order designates seating, conduct, 
media interview areas, use of electronic equipment, and 
other issues as deemed necessary. In addition, the Public 
Information Office may issue courtroom credentials. If a 
courtroom cannot accommodate the number of reporters 
interested in covering the hearing, pool reporters from each 
medium may be designated. Information may be posted 
on the court’s website that lists details about a pressroom, 
access to court documents and exhibits, access to witness 
lists, jury selection, and other information pertaining to  
the case. 

Voir Dire in High-profile Trials
Upon request by the media, the judge may rotate reporters 
during voir dire when it is conducted in a judge’s chambers. 
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UTAH STATE COURT STRUCTURE

UTAH’S APPELLATE COURTS
Appeals chart see page 52

The Utah State Court system has two appellate courts: 
the Utah Supreme Court and the Utah Court of Appeals. 
There is a separate federal court system, which has a 
number of district courts and Circuit Courts of Appeal, 
several specialized courts, and, of course, the United States’ 
Supreme Court.

Appellate courts are courts of review. Their primary 
function is to review the decisions of the trial courts and 
administrative agencies and decide if their decisions are 
correct. If a party is unhappy with the results of a trial, 
that party has a right to appeal the trial court’s decision 
in most cases. A notice of appeal must be filed in the trial 
court within 30 days of the entry of judgment. If the case 
is not fully resolved but a party wants review of a decision 
made along the way, such as an order dismissing part of 
the complaint, it is up to the appellate court to decide if 
the losing party will be allowed to appeal the trial court’s 
decision immediately.

The party that brings an appeal, claiming the trial court erred, 
is called the appellant. The party that resists the appeal, 
contending the trial court’s decision was correct, is called the 
appellee. Both the appellant and the appellee submit to the 
appellate court a written statement explaining their positions, 
which is called a brief.  The appellate court may grant each 
side an opportunity to present oral argument. Each side is 
allowed 15 minutes in the Court of Appeals and 20 minutes 
in the Supreme Court to explain why the court should rule 
in its favor. An appellate court does not hear evidence. No 
witnesses or parties testify before the court.  

After reading the briefs, reviewing the record from the trial 
court or administrative agency, and hearing oral arguments, 
the judges confer and vote, and one of the judges writes an 
opinion explaining either why the trial court was correct or 
why the trial court erred. The opinion is important not only 
to the parties whose case it resolves, but also to those who 
may have similar legal questions in the future. Because 
the opinion becomes part of the law, lawyers rely on the 
published opinions in advising their clients, and judges 
use the opinions for guidance in deciding similar disputes.  
In some cases, one or more of the judges might write a 
dissenting opinion, in which the judge disagrees with all or 
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a portion of the majority’s opinion. Any person not satisfied 
with a judgment rendered in a Justice Court is entitled to a 
trial de novo (new trial) in the District Court. The decision 
of the District Court following the trial de novo may not be 
appealed to an Appellate Court unless the District Court 
rules on the constitutionality of a statute or ordinance.

Utah’s Supreme Court  see chart on page 52 
The Supreme Court is the “court of last resort” in Utah. The 
court consists of five justices who serve ten-year terms. 
The Utah Supreme Court has jurisdiction to hear capital 
and first-degree felony convictions and civil judgments 
other than those in domestic cases. The court also 
reviews formal administrative proceedings of the Public 
Service Commission, the Tax Commission, the School and 
Institutional Trust Lands Board of Trustees, the Board of Oil, 
Gas and Mining, and the State Engineer. The Supreme Court 
has jurisdiction to answer questions relating to state law 
certified to it from federal courts. The court decides appeals 
of election and voting contests. It also has jurisdiction 
over judgments of the Utah Court of Appeals by writ of 
certiorari (a procedure requesting an appellate review), 
and proceedings of the Judicial Conduct Commission. If a 
district or juvenile court holds a statute unconstitutional on 
its face, the appeal is directed to the Supreme Court, even 
it if would otherwise have gone to the Court of Appeals.

The Utah Supreme Court adopts rules of civil and criminal 
procedure and rules of evidence for use in the state courts 
and manages the appellate process. The court also governs 
the practice of law in Utah, including admission to the 
practice of law, as well as the conduct and discipline of 
lawyers.

Utah’s Court of Appeals  see chart on page 53
The Utah Court of Appeals, created in 1987, consists of 
seven judges who serve six-year terms. It sits and renders 
judgment in rotating panels of three judges. The Court 
of Appeals hears all appeals from the Juvenile Court, 
all appeals from the District Court that involve domestic 
relations, including divorce, annulment, property division, 
child custody, support, visitation, adoption and paternity, 
and criminal matters of less than a first degree. It reviews 
appeals of formal administrative proceedings by state 
agencies, other than those agencies where jurisdiction 
has been assigned to the Utah Supreme Court. The Court 
of Appeals also hears cases transferred to it by the Utah 
Supreme Court.
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INFORMATION ABOUT APPEALS
Oral Argument
Oral arguments are generally held in the Utah Supreme 
Court in the Matheson Courthouse in Salt Lake City 
during the first week of the month usually on Tuesday, 
Wednesday, and Thursday. To listen to oral arguments live, 
go to www.utcourts.gov/courts/sup/streams.

Each year, the Supreme Court holds oral argument sessions 
at the law schools of the University of Utah and Brigham 
Young University. In the Utah Court of Appeals, oral 
arguments are generally scheduled the third and fourth 
weeks of the month and are generally held at the Matheson 
Courthouse. Several times a year, the Court of Appeals 
travels to various regions of the state to conduct oral 
arguments. Monthly oral argument calendars for both courts 
are available online at www.utcourts.gov/opinions.  

Release of Appellate Court Decisions
The Utah Supreme Court and Appeals Court have an 
e-mail notification service that notifies subscribers when a 
decision has been issued. To subscribe to the service, go to 
www.utcourts.gov/opinions/subscribe.  There is no charge 
for this service.

Supreme Court: Opinions are issued as quickly as 
possible. Opinions are typically posted on the web page at 
10 a.m., Monday through Friday.

Court of Appeals: Except in emergencies and during 
holiday weeks, decisions issued by the Court of Appeals are 
released on Thursdays at 10:00 a.m. The court announces 
on Wednesdays by 2:00 p.m. decisions that will issue the 
following day at www.utcourt.gov/opinions/pending.php. 
Decisions are typically posted on the web page within 24 
hours of release.

Explanation of Opinions
No Supreme Court justice, Court of Appeals judge, or 
appellate staff person will explain or comment on the 
legal meaning or implications of a decision released from 
either appellate court. Reporters seeking interpretation of 
a decision should direct their questions to the attorneys 
representing the parties.
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Rulings
The appellate courts generally issue one of four types of 
rulings: affirmed; reversed; affirmed in part and reversed in 
part; and reversed and remanded. A definition of each follows:
Affirmed: upholds the decision of the lower court.
Reversed: overturns the decision of the lower court and 
replaces it with the appellate court’s decision.
Affirmed in Part and Reversed in Part: approves certain of the 
lower court’s decisions and overturns others.
Reversed and Remanded: overturns the decision of the 
lower court and sends the case back for further proceedings, 
ranging from a new trial to entry of judgment as directed.

DISTRICT COURT STRUCTURE
The District Court is the state trial court of general 
jurisdiction. The District Court has original jurisdiction to try 
all civil cases, criminal felonies, and class A misdemeanors. 
These offenses, for example, include but are not limited to 
capital homicide, other homicide offenses, rape and other 
sex offenses, child and sexual child abuse, aggravated 
assaults, theft, forgery, driving under the influence of 
drugs or alcohol, and most drug offenses. An important 
component of the District Court caseload is domestic 
relations cases. These cases include contested and 
uncontested divorces, child custody, parent-time, child 
support, adoption, paternity, and probate. In the larger 
districts, court commissioners have been appointed to assist 
the district judges in the handling and resolving of most 
domestic relations cases by conducting pretrial hearings, 
pursuing settlements, and making recommendations to the 
judges. If a party disagrees with the court commissioner’s 
recommendation, a party may object and the district judge 
will review the recommendation. District judges also have 
the power to issue extraordinary writs, subpoenas and 
warrants. In addition, the court serves as an appellate 
court to review informal adjudicative proceedings from 
administrative agencies.

Each District Court judge is assigned a judicial assistant 
and bailiff is provided for all District Court hearings. An 
electronic recording device is used to maintain a verbatim 
record of all court proceedings.
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Criminal appeals from the District Court are heard in 
the Court of Appeals, except those involving a criminal 
conviction of a first degree or capital felony, which are 
heard in the Utah Supreme Court. All civil appeals from the 
District Court are heard in the Utah Supreme Court, except 
for domestic relations cases, which are heard in the  
Court of Appeals.

JUSTICE COURT STRUCTURE
Cities and counties may establish their own Justice Court, 
which have jurisdiction over class B and C misdemeanors 
and infractions committed within the city or county in 
which the Justice Court is located. Justice courts also have 
jurisdiction over small claims cases that arise within the 
city or county. Justice Court judges may also issue search 
warrants and arrest warrants statewide.

While operated and funded by the city or county, justice 
courts are a part of the Judicial Branch of government and 
follow state law and court rules like other court levels. 
The Utah State Constitution provides for justice courts and 
indicates that these courts are courts not of record. This 
means that appeals from justice courts result in new trials 
and the high courts do not rely on a record of the prior 
proceedings. However, all proceedings in justice courts  
are recorded.

Justice courts also have jurisdiction over cases involving 
16- or 17-year olds, who are charged with traffic offenses, 
except for alcohol or drug related traffic offenses, reckless 
driving, fleeing an officer, and driving on a suspended 
license.

Four person juries hear jury trials in the justice courts. 
City attorneys prosecute cases in municipal courts; county 
attorneys prosecute in the county courts. Litigants and 
defendants often act without an attorney (pro se) in justice 
courts. Parties do have the right to be represented by an 
attorney and the Justice Court may appoint a public defender 
under certain circumstances.

Parties have the right to appeal judgments entered in the 
Justice Court. Appeals result in a new trial (trial de novo) 
scheduled in the District Court. 

Small Claims  see chart on page 49
Small claims cases are under the jurisdiction of the justice 
courts and involve claims that do not exceed $10,000. 
These cases may be heard by the Justice Court judge 
appointed in the jurisdiction or by a judge pro tempore.  



Judges pro tempore are licensed and qualified attorneys 
who volunteer to judge small claims cases. Any individual 
or business may use small claims court. Small claims trials 
are conducted pursuant to the Utah Rules of Small Claims 
Procedure. The plaintiff tells his or her side of the story to 
the judge and presents witnesses or documents supporting 
the claim. The defendant then presents his or her case. The 
judge generally questions the witnesses, but may allow the 
parties to question the witnesses. The judge usually will 
make a ruling at the close of the trial. 

In small claims cases, either party may appeal the court’s 
judgment. Appeals result in a new trial (trial de novo) that 
is heard by the District Court. All proceedings in small 
claims court are recorded. Because the appeal is a trial 
de novo, the District Court does not review the recording 
of the Justice Court proceedings, but makes its own 
determination. 

STATE GRAND JURY
Utah’s Grand Jury statute requires a panel of five District 
Court judges selected from throughout the state to hold 
hearings in each judicial district every three years. The 
purpose of the Grand Jury Panel hearings is to determine 
if sufficient evidence exists to warrant the cost, time, and 
resources to go through the process of empanelling a Grand 
Jury based on evidence of criminal activity. 

The Attorney General, a county attorney, district attorney, 
or special prosecutor appointed under UCA 77-10a-2 et seq. 
can also present evidence based on criminal activity. 
The panel of judges will hear, in secret, all persons 
claiming information that justifies calling a Grand Jury.  
All individuals appearing before the panel of judges  
will be placed under oath. 

If a Grand Jury is summoned, the jurors will be called from 
the state at large or any judicial district within the state. 
The supervising judge of the Grand Jury Panel will select a 
supervisory judge. 

For additional information on state grand juries, go to 
www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/ucja and click on 
Rule 6-304. 

Grand juries exist in the federal system as well.  
For information on the Federal Court System, go to  
www.uscourts.gov/News/JournalistsGuide.aspx or  
http://www.utd.uscourts.gov/
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JUVENILE COURT STRUCTURE See page 50
The Juvenile Court is a court of special jurisdiction and is 
of equal status with District Court. Utah’s Juvenile Court 
serves many purposes. The court has jurisdiction over 
delinquency, dependency, neglect, and abuse matters. The 
Juvenile Court promotes public safety and accountability 
while acting in the best interest of minors. 

JUVENILE COURT PROCEEDINGS
Children Who Violate the Law
Police typically report alleged offenses directly to the 
Juvenile Court. At the court, cases are assigned to an 
intake officer who screens the case for further action. The 
intake officer might meet with both the juvenile and his or 
her parents to determine what action is necessary. If the 
juvenile denies the charge, the intake officer will set a time 
for a hearing with a judge. 

If the juvenile admits to the charge, the intake officer has 
two options—depending on a number of factors—including 
the severity of the offense, the family situation, and the 
juvenile’s age and past record. The intake officer may set 
a time for the juvenile and the parents to have a court 
hearing with a judge, or the officer may develop a non-
judicial contract that outlines how the juvenile will be held 
accountable for the offense that was committed. If the 
contract is fulfilled, the juvenile’s case will not go to court. 

Juvenile courts are similar to adult courts in that the 
courts are required to meet constitutional requirements of 
due process. Juveniles must be notified of all the charges 
against them and must be given the chance to call and 
cross-examine witnesses. They have the right to an attorney 
and the right against self-incrimination. 

What are the most common types of offenses 
committed by juveniles?
Common offenses 
committed by juveniles 
in Utah are shoplifting, 
alcohol possession, 
criminal mischief, 
marijuana possession, 
habitual truancy, 
tobacco possession, 
and possession of drug 
paraphernalia. 
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What kinds of dispositions do juveniles receive? 
In 1997, juvenile sentencing guidelines were adopted that 
recommend dispositions based on delinquency history 
and the seriousness of the offense. The disposition that 
a juvenile receives depends on many factors, such as the 
type of offense that has been committed, as well as the 
juvenile’s past record. Restitution, fines, and community 
service are the most common penalties.  Sometimes 
dispositions are a combination of the three. 

What hearings are opened to the public? 
Child Welfare Hearings: As of July 1, 2004, access to abuse, 
neglect, and dependency matters in Juvenile Court became 
more open as a result of H.B. 90. This bill allows the public 
to attend child abuse, neglect, or dependency hearing in 
Juvenile Court.  However, Juvenile Court judges maintain 
authority to close the proceedings if grounds exist to close 
the hearing. For example, a hearing might be closed if it 
is in the best interest of the child, or if having others in 
the courtroom would impair the fact-finding process, or if 
allowing access is contrary to the interest of justice. 

Delinquency Hearings: If the minor is 14 years of 
age or older and is charged with a felony, or is a repeat 
offender, the court can admit anyone, unless the hearing is 
closed for good cause. 

Can a juvenile be tried in an adult court?
A juvenile can be tried as an adult in the following conditions:

1.  Any 16- or 17-year-old juvenile accused of murder is  
tried in the District Court. (Also referred to as “direct file” 
UCA 78A-6-701.)

2.  Any 16- or 17-year-old juvenile who has previously 
been sentenced to a secure facility and is then charged 
with another felony, if committed after release, is tried 
in District Court.

3.  Any 16- or 17-year-old juvenile charged with one of 10 
  designated felonies under the Serious Youth Offender 

statute (UCA 78A-6-702) against a person is charged 
by criminal information in Juvenile Court. The Juvenile 
Court then conducts a hearing. If the state shows 
probable cause that the offense was commited, the 
juvenile is then bound over to District Court unless the 
juvenile convinces the Juvenile Court judge in a hearing 
that it would be contrary to the best interest of the 
minor and the best interests of the public to bind the 
juvenile over to the jurisdiction of the district court. 
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4.  Any juvenile 14 or older charged with a felony can be 
  transferred to District Court if the prosecutor convinces 
  the Juvenile Court judge that it is in the state’s best 
  interest to hear the matter in District Court (Also 

referred to as a certification hearing UCA 78A-6-703).

What happens to a juvenile’s record?
Generally, only the juvenile, the parents or guardian, and 
the attorney representing the juvenile have access to a 
juvenile’s record. If a youth is 14 or older and commits 
an offense that would be considered a felony in District 
Court, certain parts of his/her record are considered public 
after the petition is filed. The Juvenile Court may consider 
the youth’s past record to determine dispositions for new 
offenses. If a youth is later convicted in an adult court, his 
or her record may be made available to adult probation and 
parole for use in preparing a pre-sentence report. 

To expunge a Juvenile Court record, the juvenile must file 
a petition and request an expungement hearing. The judge 
may expunge the record if the juvenile has reached the age 
of 18 and has been out of the court’s jurisdiction for at 
least a year.

The Juvenile Court, unlike other state courts of record, 
administers a probation department. Probation officers 
supervise youth who have been placed on probation by 
the court, conduct evaluations, and submit reports on the 
progress of each juvenile.

As a member of the Interstate Compact on Juveniles, the 
court accepts supervision of juveniles who move to Utah 
from other states (who were under court supervision before 
moving).  In turn, the court often requests other states 
to supervise juveniles who move while still under court 
supervision in Utah.

Children Who Are Victims 
What constitutes abuse, neglect, or 
dependency? 
An abused child is one who has suffered or been threatened 
with non-accidental physical or mental harm, sexual 
exploitation, or has been the victim of sexual abuse. A 
neglected child is one who has been abandoned, neglected, 
or abused by a parent, guardian, or custodian or who is at risk 
of such harm, or one whose parent, guardian, or custodian 
fails to provide proper care, subsistence, or education. A 
dependent child is one who is homeless or without proper 
care through no fault of the parent or guardian.
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How does the court become involved in child victim cases?
In Utah, anyone can file a petition alleging that a child is 
abused or neglected. The Attorney General’s Office files 
most petitions after an investigation by the Division of Child 
and Family Services (DCFS).  The state may place children 
who are perceived to be in immediate danger into protective 
custody even before a petition is filed. If a child has been 
physically harmed, the court may order emergency medical 
treatment. 

A pre-trial hearing, or shelter hearing, is held after the 
petition is filed. The parents are notified of the date and time 
of the hearing and reminded that they have the right to an 
attorney. If the parents do not attend, the court proceeds to 
decide the case. If the parents do appear and admit that the 
allegations are true, the judge will determine how best to 
guarantee the welfare of the child. If the parents appear and 
deny the allegations, a trial date is set. 

At trial, whoever filed the petition has the responsibility to 
prove that the charges are true. The following parties should 
be present with their attorneys: the petitioner, the parents, 
the state-appointed Guardian ad Litem, and an assistant 
Attorney General, who represents DCFS. 

What can the Juvenile Court do if abuse 
has occurred?
The driving principle in Juvenile Court is “the best 
interest of the child.” Children remain with their parents 
or guardians whenever it is safe and appropriate for the 
child. When a child must be removed from the home, due 
to a finding of abuse or neglect, the child may be promptly 
returned to the parents, subject to certain conditions. In 
other cases, the child will be temporarily removed from the 
home while the parents comply with the court’s order to 
attend counseling or to receive other social services. If a 
parent is found to be unfit or has abandoned the child, the 
court may order that either one or both parents lose their 
parental rights to the child. 

If both parents lose their parental rights, the Juvenile Court 
may place the child in the care of a relative, or nonrelative 
guardian, or the child may remain in the custody of the 
state. The court also has the authority to proceed with 
adoption proceedings if it decides that adoption is in the 
best interest of the child and an adoptive family is available. 

Juvenile Court case information        
Access to case information in Juvenile Court depends on 
the case type. 
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Child welfare case: If the child is in custody, the court 
can let a reporter know the date and time of the hearing. The 
reporter must know the child’s name in order for the court to 
release this information. The court cannot release any records 
on the case without an order signed by the judge. 

Delinquency case: The court can acknowledge a 
case exists only if a petition has been filed, the offender 
is 14 years of age or older and is charged with a crime 
that is considered a felony in District Court. Otherwise, 
no information can be released. If the petition is filed as 
a felony and the youth is 14 years of age or older, the 
hearing and previous adjudication history becomes open. 
If the youth is under 14 years of age, the court cannot 
acknowledge a case exists. 

Other: The court cannot provide any information or 
records on cases involving adoption or abortion, or on  
cases that have been expunged. 

ACCESS TO COURT RECORDS
Certain provisions of GRAMA apply to the judiciary, but the 
Legislature has also recognized the right of the judiciary to 
maintain and classify its own records.  The Judicial Council 
has adopted rules governing access.

RIGHT OF ACCESS TO COURT RECORDS
Generally speaking, documents in appellate, district, and 
justice courts are public records, unless a document is 
sealed by the court or is classified as protected or private by 
statute or by Judicial Council rule. In Juvenile Court, most 
records are not public. 

Parties may request that information be made private or 
protected. The court determines whether the interest in 
closing the record outweighs the interest in keeping the 
record public. 

Rules 4-202 through 4-202.10 of the Code of Judicial 
Administration govern access to court records. Currently, 
court records are classified into six categories: public, 
private, protected, juvenile, sealed, and safeguarded.

Public judicial records include the following examples:

1-  Case files

2-  Copies of the official court record or official minutes of 
an open court hearing or any transcript of the hearing.

3-  Exhibits 
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4-  The petition, indictment or information, the adjudication  
order and the delinquency history of a juvenile if 
the person is 14 years of age or older, and charged 
with a felony or an offense that would be a felony if 
committed by an adult. 

Private judicial records include the following examples: 

1-  Records that include medical, psychiatric, or 
psychological data about an individual.

2-  Custodial evaluations, home studies, and pre-sentence 
reports. 

3-  The official court record or official minutes of court 
sessions closed to the public and any transcript of the 
hearing. 

Protected judicial records include the following examples:

1-  Records that the disclosure of which would jeopardize 
life, safety, or property. 

2-  Search warrants and search warrant affidavits become 
public 20 days after the date of issuance. 

Juvenile records are divided into two categories: legal 
and social. Most juvenile records have restricted access. 
However, certain delinquency records become public if a 
juvenile is 14 years or older and is charged with a crime 
that is considered a felony in District Court.

Sealed judicial record means data has been ordered sealed 
by the court pursuant to statute or court rule. Examples of 
sealed records include adoptions, expunged records, and 
records identifying a confidential informant. 

Safeguarded records are those that include identifying 
information about victims, witnesses, jurors, and children in 
certain case types, such as paternity. 

Most administrative records are public, but personnel files 
are not. There are some restrictions on records from which a 
person can be identified or contacted. Financial information 
and medical information generally are not public. 
Evaluations of a person, even non-medical evaluations—
such as pre-sentence investigation reports, home studies, 
and custody evaluations—generally are not public. 

Closed Hearings
On rare occasions, a judge might close a proceeding, or 
a portion of the proceeding, to the public. In deciding 
whether to close a proceeding, a judge evaluates whether 
the public’s right to attend court is outweighed by the 
defendant’s right to receive a fair trial or an individual’s 
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right to privacy. If a judge receives a request to close a 
hearing, representatives of the media will receive notice of 
the proposed closure and have an opportunity to represent 
the public’s interest in the discussion.

RETENTION OF FILES—There are different retention 
periods of court records depending on case type. 

•  Capital, first-degree, and second-degree felonies are 
retained permanently.

•  Third-degree felonies and alcohol-related misdemeanors 
are retained for 10 years.

•  Other misdemeanors, infractions, and civil and small 
claims cases are retained from six months to five 
years (from the end of the case), depending on the 
circumstances of the case. 

Most civil and misdemeanor files are destroyed after certain 
periods of time, which is determined according to use of 
the files. 

COURT RECORDS 
(Record of Judicial 
Proceedings)
The official judicial 
record of a District Court 
proceeding is a public 
record. The official record 
may be an audio recording 
or transcript. An audio 
recording is considered the official court record unless a 
court reporter is present. If a court reporter is present, the 
court reporter’s transcript of the proceedings is the official 
court record. 

The cost of an audio recording of a court proceeding is 
$10, while a video recording is $15. Most courtrooms are 
equipped with audio recorders while very few courtrooms 
are equipped with video recorders. Whichever equipment 
the courtroom has will dictate the type of record kept. To 
order a copy of a transcript, go to www.utcourts.gov. To 
order a CD or DVD contact the judge’s clerk. 

How to Request a Court Record
Rule 4-202.04 governs procedures for requesting a record. 
The rule states that a request for a court record be in 
writing to the clerk of court; however, the court clerk can 
waive the written request requirement, except in Juvenile 
Court matters. In general, most districts require only a 
verbal request for District Court records. 
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Record Fees
Rule 4-202.08 governs record fees. Following is a fee 
schedule for frequently requested records:

• Transcripts: $4.50 per page for initial preparation;  
$.50 per page for subsequent certified copies.

• Copies: $.25 per page.

• Fax or email: $5.00 for 10 pages or less, $.50 per 
additional page.

• Audio CD: $10 per tape.

• Video DVD: $15 per tape.

In addition, costs can be charged for a clerk’s time in prepar-
ing the record. Fees may change; go to www.utcourts.gov/ 
for a current fee structure. Judicial Council Rule 4-202.08 
outlines the process to request a fee waiver. 

COURTROOM PHOTOGRAPHY/
RECORDING
Courtroom Photography
Rule 4-401.01 establishes standards and procedures for 
electronic media coverage of court proceedings. The intent 
of the rule is to permit media access to the courtroom, 
while preserving the participant’s rights to privacy and a 
fair trial. The judge has the authority to control the conduct 
of the proceedings in the courtroom and may impose 
conditions, such as position of the photographer. 

District and Juvenile Court: In general, media should 
submit a request to be the pool still or video photographer or 
radio recorder 24 hours prior to the hearing. The request should 
be submitted to the court public information officer. The media 
form is available at www.utcourts.gov/media/respol.htm. The 
court may list exclusions of what cannot be photographed in the 
courthouse such as victims, witnesses, victims’ families, and the 
judge. Jurors are never to be photographed. Flash photography 
is not permitted in the courtroom. Cameras are restricted from 
filming outside of juvenile courtrooms to protect the privacy 
of youth. 

Appellate Courts: Utah’s Appellate Courts allow one 
pool still photographer and one pool video photographer. 
A request to photograph in Appellate Courts must be 
submitted 24 hours prior to oral arguments. 

For a complete listing of Rule 4-401.01, go to  
www.utcourts.gov/media 
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COURTHOUSE SECURITY
Rule 3-414 governs court security. 
The local sheriff’s office provides building and perimeter 
security. Bailiffs are law enforcement officers who are 
responsible for courtroom security. 

A courthouse is free of weapons and firearms unless a 
local security plan permits law enforcement officers or 
other certified individuals to possess a firearm. Persons 
entering the building are subject to search for weapons, 
potential weapons, or objects that may cause injury to 
others or that may disrupt the ordinary conduct of business 
within the courthouse. The sheriff, deputies, and other 
peace officers are authorized to conduct the searches and 
to confiscate potential weapons. Searches are conducted 
by metal detection, x-ray screening, or similar devices. 
Law enforcement officers are also authorized to conduct 
pat down and other searches they determine necessary to 
ensure the safety of the public. Any items seized may be 
forfeited and destroyed. Anyone who brings a weapon into 
the courthouse may be subject to a citation for contempt. 

Access to the courthouse after hours: check with the district 
trial court executive to determine after-hours access to the 
courthouse. Trial court executives’ phone numbers are listed 
on page 41. 

UTAH JUDGES
Utah judges stand for retention election at the end of each 
term of office. In a retention election, the public has an 
opportunity to vote to retain the judge for another term. 
Background on judges up for retention election is available 
in the Voter Information Pamphlet, or online at  
vote.utah.gov. 

Judge’s Nomination and Appointment
The Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice 
advertises judicial vacancies for appellate, district, and 
juvenile court judges. A nominating commission screens 
the applicants and makes recommendations to the 
Governor. (The Governor appoints members of a nominating 
commission, which is comprised of lawyer and non-lawyer 
members from the judicial district in which the appointment 
will be made.) With a few exceptions, the commission must 
nominate at least five applicants for each vacancy. The 
commission must make the nominations within 45 days of 
its first meeting. 
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The Governor has 30 days to make an appointment from 
the list of nominees. If the deadline passes, the Chief 
Justice has 20 days to make the appointment. The Senate 
has 60 days to confirm or reject the appointment. If the 
Senate rejects the appointment or fails to act within 60 
days, the appointment lapses, the position remains vacant, 
and the nominating commission begins anew.

The initial term of office is until the first general election 
held more than three years after the appointment. 
Subsequent terms are ten years for the Supreme Court and 
six years for other courts .

Judicial Performance Evaluations
In 2008, the legislature established the Judicial Performance 
Evaluation Commission (JPEC) to periodically evaluate the 
performance of Utah’s judges. A mid-term evaluation of 
each judge is aimed at self-improvement, while an end-of-
term evaluation generates information for voters to use in 
deciding whether to retain the judge in office at election 
time. Well before each general election, a full retention 
evaluation report on each judge whose name will appear  
on the ballot is posted at judges.utah.gov and at  
vote.utah.gov. A summary of the report is also published  
in the Voter Information Pamphlet.

The commission evaluates judges by analyzing data from 
a variety of sources. The commission surveys attorneys 
who have appeared before the judge, court staff who work 
regularly with the judge, and jurors. In addition, courtroom 
observers--trained citizen volunteers--visit each coutroom and 
prepare narrative reports about their experience. Each judge 
must also comply with ethical standards and with internal 
performance standards established by the judiciary. Finally, 
the commission considers public comments submitted 
through its website by persons with first-hand experience 
with a judge. 

For further information, go to judges.utah.gov or contact the 
commission directly at judicialperformance@utah.gov. 
 
Court Commissioners—Court Commissioners are 
quasi-judicial officers who hear primarily domestic-related 
cases, including protective orders and divorces. The 
District Court commissioners make recommendations 
to a judge for a final ruling. There is one Juvenile Court 
commissioner in the Third Judicial District and one in 
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the Fourth Judicial District who hears misdemeanor and 
status cases—such as smoking and truancy violations—and 
makes recommendations to judges for final rulings. Court 
commissioners are appointed for a four-year term. At the 
conclusion of each term of office, the court commissioner is 
retained for a subsequent term of four years unless they are 
removed by the Utah Judicial Council or the judges of the 
district in which the commissioner serves. 

Judicial pay scale 
The Commission on Compensation makes recommendations 
on judicial salaries to the legislature. State legislators set 
judicial pay. 

• Utah Supreme Court Justices’ salary - $168,150

• Court of Appeals Judges’ salary - $160,500

• District and Juvenile Court Judges’ salary - $152,850

• Justice Court Judges’ salaries vary according to location, 
but can not exceed 90 percent of a district court judge’s 
salary.

• Court Commissioner salary - $129,831

Justice Court Judges
Justice Courts are funded and operated by local 
government—either a county or a municipality. As of Jan. 
2009, Senate Bill 72 requires the Justice Court judges to be 
selected through a nominating commission process. Justice 
Court judges stand for unopposed retention election every 
six years. 

The Administrative Office of the Courts advertises vacancies 
for Justice Court judges. A nominating commission from the 
county where the court is located screens applicants and 
makes a recommendation to the local government executive. 
The city or county council affirms or rejects the appointment 
and the Judicial Council confirms the appointment.

Biographies
Biographies for all justices and judges are available on the 
courts’ website at www.utcourts.gov/judgesbios.
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JUDICIAL 
CONDUCT
Judicial Conduct 
Commission
The Judicial Conduct 
Commission (JCC) is an 
independent fact-finding 
body established by the 
Utah Constitution. The JCC 
investigates allegations of 
unethical conduct by state, county, and municipal judges. 
The JCC cannot impose discipline—it can only recommend 
that the Utah Supreme Court impose discipline.

The JCC can investigate and act upon complaints against 
state, county, and municipal judges, and can recommend 
the reprimand, censure, suspension, removal, or involuntary 
retirement of a judge for any of the following reasons: action 
which constitutes willful misconduct in office; final conviction 
of a crime punishable as a felony under state or federal 
law; willful and persistent failure to perform judicial duties; 
disability that seriously interferes with the performance of 
judicial duties; or conduct prejudicial to the administration 
of justice which brings a judicial office into disrepute.

The JCC cannot do the following: assist a person in 
removing a judge from a particular court case; direct a judge 
to take a particular action in a court case; overturn a judge’s 
legal decision(s); recommend discipline based on a judge’s 
decision(s) in a particular court case; recommend or require 
that a particular court case be stayed pending the outcome 
of JCC proceedings; investigate federal judges, attorneys, 
court commissioners, court employees or other government 
employees; or provide legal assistance.

The JCC can commence an investigation upon receipt of 
a written complaint. Most preliminary investigations are 
completed within 60 days from the date the complaint 
is received. Complaints that go beyond the preliminary 
investigation stage take longer to resolve. JCC proceedings 
are not open to the public. Except in certain limited 
circumstances, all complaints, papers, and testimony 
received or maintained by the JCC, and the record of any 
hearings conducted by the JCC, are confidential, and cannot 
be publicly disclosed. For more information, go to  
jcc.utah.gov.
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Code of Judicial Conduct*
The Code of Judicial Conduct, adopted by the Utah Supreme 
Court, consists of four principles—called “canons”—of 
ethical behavior. All state, county, and municipal judges 
are obligated to comply with the Code of Judicial Conduct. 
Each canon addresses a general topic and includes specific 
directives. The full text of the Code of Judicial Conduct is 
available at www.utcourts.gov/resources/ethadv.

• Canon 1 Integrity and Independence of the Judiciary 
and Impropriety and the Appearance of Impropriety

• Canon 2 Impartial and Diligent Performance of  
Judicial Duties

• Canon 3 Participation in Non-judicial Activities

• Canon 4 Political Activity

* Check the court website for current information.
     
ADMINISTRATIVE STRUCTURE 
OF THE COURTS
Judicial Council
The Utah Judicial Council directs the activities of all Utah 
courts. The Judicial Council is responsible for adopting 
uniform rules for the administration of all courts in the state 
and setting standards for judicial performance, as well as 
overseeing court facilities, support services, and judicial and 
nonjudicial personnel. The Judicial Council holds monthly 
meetings, typically at the Scott M. Matheson Courthouse 
in Salt Lake City. These meetings are open to the public. 
For dates and locations of Judicial Council meetings, go to 
www.utcourts.gov/knowcts/adm/

Boards of Judges
The Utah State Judiciary has four boards of judges 
representing each court level. The boards adopt and propose 
court rules, serve as a liaison between local courts and the 
Judicial Council, and plan budget and legislative priorities. 

Administrative Office of the Courts
The Court Administrator Act provides for the appointment 
of a state court administrator, with duties and 
responsibilities as outlined in Section 78A-2-107 of the 
Utah Code. Appellate, district, juvenile, and justice court 
administrators and local court executives assist the 
state court administrator in performing these duties and 
responsibilities. Also assisting the court administrator are 
personnel who work in finance, human resources, internal 
audit, judicial education, law, planning, public information, 
rules, security, and technology. Mediators, Office of 
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Guardian ad Litem, a capital case staff attorney, Juvenile 
Court law clerk, an interpreter coordinator, and Court Visitor 
Program administrator are also based at the Administrative 
Office of the Courts’ office. 

Local Court Administration
The presiding judge is elected by a majority vote of 
judges from the court or district and is responsible for 
effective court operation. The presiding judge implements 
and enforces rules, policies, and directions of the 
Judicial Council as well as schedules calendars and case 
assignments. A trial court executive assists 
the presiding judge in each judicial district. 

Trial Court Executives
The following is a list of trial court executives in each 
judicial district who can assist with media requests. The 
court executive can explain local procedure and practice and 
handle complaints and concerns expressed by the media 
and the public.

1st District and Juvenile Court-Corrie Keller  
(435) 734-4602, corriek@utcourts.gov

2nd District Court-Sylvester Daniels  
(801) 395-1050, syd@utcourts.gov

2nd District Juvenile Court-Travis Erickson  
(801) 626-3823, travise@utcourts.gov

3rd District Court - Peyton Smith 
(801) 238-7315, peytons@utcourts.gov

3rd District Juvenile Court-Neira Siaperas  
(801) 238-7899, neiras@utcourts.gov

4th District Court-Shane Bahr  
(801) 429-1038, shaneb@utcourts.gov

4th District Juvenile Court-Jim Peters 
(801) 354-7216, jamesp@utcourts.gov

5th District Court-Rick Davis  
(435) 867-3220, rickd@utcourts.gov

6th District and Juvenile Court-Wendell Roberts  
(435) 896-2710, wendellr@utcourts.gov

7th District and Juvenile Court-Terri Yelonek  
(435) 636-3401, terriy@utcourts.gov

8th District and Juvenile Court-Russell Pearson  
(435) 781-9301, russellp@utcourts.gov

Appellate Courts-Tim Shea  
(801) 578-3834, tims@utcourts.gov
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Common Legal Terms
Adjudicate-Giving or pronouncing a judgment or decree, 
or rendering a decision on a matter before the court. 

Adjudicatory Hearing-This is a Juvenile Court term 
that is referred to in District Court as the trial. 

Affidavit-A written and sworn statement witnessed by a 
notary public or another official possessing the authority to 
administer oaths. 

Aftercare-This is a Juvenile Court term that is referred to 
in District Court as parole. 

Alienist-Person qualified by experience, knowledge, 
and previous opportunities to express opinion as to a 
defendant’s mental condition at a particular time.

Arraignment-In a felony case, the proceeding after the 
indictment or bind over at which the defendant comes 
before a judge in District Court, is informed of the charges, 
and enters a plea. In a misdemeanor case, the initial 
appearance before a judge at which the criminal defendant 
enters a plea. In Juvenile Court, the first hearing after a 
petition has been filed. 

Bind Over-A judge’s decision to hold a criminal 
defendant for trial or “bind them over” for trial. 

Brief-A lawyer’s written statement of a client’s case filed 
in court. It usually contains a summary of the facts in the 
case, the pertinent laws, and an argument of how the law 
applies to the facts supporting the client’s position. 

Competency-Criminal defendants must be competent 
to stand trial; they must understand the nature of the 
proceedings and have the ability to assist their lawyers.

Denial-This is a Juvenile Court term that in District Court 
is referred to as a not guilty plea. 

Detention-This is a Juvenile Court term that in District 
Court is referred to as jail. 
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Disposition-What is referred to as sentencing in District 
Court is referred to as a disposition in Juvenile Court. 

Ex parte Order-By or for one party only. Ordinarily 
courts are not allowed to engage in communications with 
one party only (ex parte communications). Both parties 
must be heard. 

Fiduciary-A person who has assumed a special 
relationship to another person or another person’s property, 
such as a trustee, administrator, executor, lawyer, or 
guardian. The fiduciary must exercise the highest degree 
of care to maintain and preserve the person’s right and/or 
property that are within his/her charge. 

First Appearance-In a felony case, the initial court 
hearing at which the defendant is read the charges against 
him/her. 

Found Delinquent-This is a Juvenile Court term that in 
District Court is referred to as found guilty. 

Guardian ad Litem-In Utah State Court proceedings, a 
lawyer appointed by a court to look after the interests of an 
infant, child, or incompetent person during court proceedings. 

Impanel-To seat a jury. 

In Camera-In the judge’s chambers; in private. 

Indictment-An accusation of a criminal offense made by 
a grand jury. 

Information-The first paper filed in a criminal prosecution 
that states the crime of which the defendant is accused. 

Interlocutory Appeal-An appeal to an appellate court 
of a temporary or provisional order of a trial court. The 
appellate court is not required to hear the appeal. 

Judgment-The official decision of a court disposing 
of a case.

Mediation-A form of alternative dispute resolution in 
which the parties bring their disputes to a neutral third 
party who helps them agree on a settlement. 
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No Contest-A plea of no contest has the same legal 
effect as a plea of guilty for purposes of the action before 
the court; however, the plea may not be used against the 
defendant as an admission of guilt in a civil suit brought on 
the same facts. 

Offense-This is a Juvenile Court law term that in District 
Court is referred to as a crime. 

Petition (Juvenile Court)-The document filed by the 
state charging a juvenile with a crime or alleging that a 
child is abused, neglected, or dependent. (A private petition 
means an interested party is bringing the petition to court 
versus the state.) The petition alleges either delinquent 
conduct or that a child has been abused, neglected, or is 
dependent.  

Plaintiff-A person who files a lawsuit. 

Preliminary Hearing (Prelim)-A hearing to screen 
a felony criminal case to decide whether there is enough 
evidence to warrant a trial. If the judge determines there is 
sufficient evidence, the defendant is “bound over” for trial. 
The defendant may waive this hearing. 

Probable Cause (PC) Statement-A judicial finding 
that there were reasonable grounds for law enforcement 
officers to arrest or search someone. 

Pro Se-In one’s own behalf. Refers to a party representing 
himself or herself in a court action without an attorney. 

Roll Call Hearing-A hearing that addresses one of a 
number of actions such as scheduling, review status of the 
case, appoint counsel, set a preliminary hearing date. 

Sentencing-A court’s determination of punishment to be 
inflicted on person convicted of a crime. 

Concurrent-sentences for more than one violation that are to 
be served at the same time.  

Consecutive-sentences for more than one violation that are 
to be served one after the other. 

Suspended-A sentence ordered by the court but not 
executed, which gives the defendant an opportunity to 
complete probation. 
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Show Cause-An order requiring a person to appear in 
court and state why certain action should not be taken. 

Stipulation-An agreement by attorneys on opposite sides 
of a case on a matter pertaining to the proceedings. It is not 
binding unless agreed to by the parties. Most stipulations 
must be in writing. 

Suppression Hearing-A hearing on a criminal 
defendant’s motion to prohibit the prosecutor’s use of 
evidence alleged to have been obtained in violation of the 
defendant’s rights. 

Summary Judgment-A judgment for one party in a 
lawsuit before the conclusion of a full trial.

Summons-A notice to the named person that an action 
had been commenced against him/her in court and he/she 
is required to appear and answer the complaint. 

Take into Custody-This is a Juvenile Court term that in 
District Court is referred to as the arrest. 

Verdict-The formal and unanimous decision or finding 
made by a jury or the court as to the guilt or innocence of a 
defendant.

Voir Dire-The questioning of potential jurors by the judge 
and the lawyers to determine any biases, prejudices, or 
other reasons for disqualification. 

Writ of Certiorari-A procedure requesting appellate 
review. If the writ is denied, the higher court refuses to hear 
the appeal and the judgment in the lower court 
stands unchanged. If the writ is granted, the higher court 
hears the appeal. 

For a complete list of legal terms, go to www.utcourts.gov/
resources/glossary.htm
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District Court Felony Case Process
(Criminal Case)

Not guilty plea
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Acquittal &
defendant
released
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Preliminary
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dismissed &
defendant
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Bind
over

Plea bargain - 
Guilty plea

Arraignment in
District Court
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Court

Arrest without warrant

Crime observed  by police Crime reported to police

Pretrial motions/conference

Conviction

Guilty plea

Trial

Information/arrest warrant
or summons issued
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Not guilty plea

Sentencing

Acquittal &
defendant
released

Preliminary
hearing

Charges
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Bind
over

Plea bargain - 
Guilty plea
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phase

Arraignment in
District Court
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Conviction
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Trial/Guilty-Innoncent phase

District Court Capital Case Process
(Criminal Case)

Initial
appearance

Arrest without warrant

Crime observed  by police Crime reported to police

Information/arrest warrant
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Misdemeanor Case Process
(Criminal Case)

Not guilty plea

Sentencing

Acquittal &
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released
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or citation issued

Crime observed  by police Crime reported to police

Pretrial motions/conference

Conviction

Guilty plea

Trial

Information/arrest warrant
or summons issued



Small Claims Process

Small claims affidavit and order to appear

Small claims trial

Judgment

Appeal to District Court

Dismissed
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Defendant file answer or
initial motions

Defendant files no answer
within allotted time

Discovery (interrogatories,
depositions, etc.)

District Court Civil Case Process

Plaintiff files complaint in court

Trial (jury or bench)

Jury verdict/judgment

Post-trial motions

Appeal to Appellate Court

Complaint & summons served to defendant

Pretrial motions/conference

Default judgment.
Case resolved without trial
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Juvenile Court Time Requirements for
Dependency, Neglect and Abuse Cases

Removal

Shelter Hearing

Admits Petition

Denies Petition

Non-Compliance

Adjudication

Permanency Established

Permanency Hearing Trial Home Placement/PSS

Trial Home Placement/PSS*

Compliance Substantial

6 Month Review

* Protective Supervision Services

Reunification Services OrderedNo Reunification

Final Reviews (12-15 months)
(failed)

Reunification Complete
End Jurisdiction

Dismiss

Disposition Hearing

Pretrial
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Other
non-petition

closures

Non-judicial
contract

Case
closed after
successful

compliance*

Arraignment

Pretrial

Guilty Not Guilty

Disposition (Sentencing)

*If unsuccessful, a petition is filed.

Appeal to Appellate Court

DenyAdmit

Trial

No Petition
filed

Petition
filed

Certification
hearing

Tried as
an adult

Juvenile Court
Juvenile Case Process - Offenders Only

Preliminary
inquiry

Offense

Police Investigation

Juvenile court referral
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Appeals Route

Supreme Court

Court of Appeals

Juvenile Court

District Court

Justice Court

Other Administrative Agencies

Public Service Commission,
Tax Commission, Board of
State Lands, Board of Oil,

Gas & Mining, & State Engineer
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Court of Appeals Appellate Process

Appellant files notice
of appeal within

30* days after trial
court  judgment 

*Some cases have a shorter appeal deadline. 

Oral argument
before 3 judge

panel

Court opinion
is issued &

sent to counsel
& lower court

Petition for
review by
Supreme

Court

Both parties
file briefs

Trial record is sent
to appellate court

Trial record is sent
to appellate court

Both parties
file briefs

Civil Cases Criminal Cases
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Supreme Court Appellate Process

Appellant files notice
of appeal within

30* days after trial
court  judgment 

Oral argument
before 5 
justices

Court opinion
is issued &

sent to counsel
& lower court

Petition for
rehearing

within
14 days

Both parties
file briefs

Trial record is sent
to appellate court

Trial record is sent
to appellate court

Both parties
file briefs

Civil Cases Criminal Cases

*Some cases have a shorter appeal deadline. 
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Judicial District Locator Map

Legal Resources
•Utah State Courts:  

www.utcourts.gov
•Legal terms and definitions:   

www.utcourts.gov/resources/glossary
•Link to rules:  

www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules
•Utah State Bar website: 

www.utahbar.org (to locate an 
attorney’s contact information)
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