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Rule 14-705. Admission by motion. 1 

(a) Reciprocal admission. An Applicant is eligible to be admitted by motion if the 2 

Applicant meets all the requirements of this rule. Admission by Motion is not a right; 3 

the burden of proof is on the Applicant to establish by clear and convincing evidence 4 

that the Applicant: 5 

(1) has paid the prescribed nonrefundable fee and filed the required Complete 6 

Application as a Motion Applicant; 7 

(2) is at least 21 years old; 8 

(3) has been admitted by bar examination to practice law before the highest court of 9 

a U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia; 10 

(4) holds a First Professional Degree in law from an Approved Law School; 11 

(5) has successfully passed the MPRE; 12 

(6) has demonstrated that the U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia that 13 

licenses the Applicant reciprocally allows the admission of licensed Utah lawyers 14 

under terms and conditions similar to those set forth in this rule; 15 

(7) has been Actively licensed and engaged in the ly engaged in the Full-time 16 

Practice of Law as defined in Rule 14-701(b), (u), and (jj)  in the reciprocal 17 

jurisdiction(s) where licensed for 60 36 of the 8460 months immediately preceding 18 

the date the application for admission is filed. For purposes of admission under this 19 

rule and with the exception of lawyers licensed in Utah as House Counsel, any time 20 

practicing at an office located in Utah will not be counted as time practicing in a 21 

reciprocal jurisdiction; 22 

(8) is a member in good standing in all jurisdictions where currently admitted; 23 

(9) has a proven record of ethical, civil, and professional behavior and has never 24 

been disbarred or resigned with discipline pending, or their equivalent, in any 25 
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jurisdiction and is not currently subject to lawyer discipline or the subject of a 26 

pending disciplinary matter; and 27 

(10) is of good moral character and satisfies the requirements of Rule 14-708.  28 

(b) Exceptions. 29 

(1) Time practicing in Utah. Any time practicing at an office located in Utah will not 30 

be counted as time practicing in a reciprocal jurisdiction except to the extent that the 31 

lawyer has complied with Rule 5.5 of the Utah Rules of Professional Conduct 32 

(2) House counsel. Lawyers licensed in Utah as House Counsel may count time 33 

practicing in Utah toward the requirements of this rule.  34 

(3) Full-time law professors in Utah. Law professors at an Approved Law School in 35 

the state of Utah who have worked full-time as a law professor for 36 of the 60 36 

months immediately preceding the date the application for admission is filed are 37 

exempt from the requirement of being engaged in the Full-time Practice of Law. 38 

Working full-time as a law professor means working as a law professor at least 80 39 

hours per month. 40 

(bc) Application form and content. The Board may require additional proof of any facts 41 

stated in the application. If the Applicant fails or refuses to furnish any information or 42 

proof, or to answer any Board inquiry pertinent to the pending application, the Board 43 

may deny the application without hearing. 44 

(cd) Timing of application and admission. An application may be filed at any time but 45 

the Applicant must be able to demonstrate that the Applicant satisfies the requirements 46 

of this rule as of the date the application is filed. Processing of the application and the 47 

character and fitness investigation require a minimum of four months to complete. 48 

(1) An Applicant not eligible for admission pursuant to this rule may qualify for 49 

admission as an Attorney Applicant pursuant to Rule 14-704. 50 
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(2) Upon approval the Applicant must comply with Rule 14-716 concerning 51 

licensing and enrollment fees. 52 

(de) Practice pending admission. Only persons who are active, Bar licensees in good 53 

standing may engage in the practice of law in Utah. However, a Motion Applicant with 54 

a pending Bar application may be eligible to practice for a limited period upon 55 

satisfaction of all the requirements of Rule 14-809 and receipt of a Practice Pending 56 

Admission Certificate. 57 


