
Rule 26. Rights of minors in delinquency proceedings. 1 

(a) A minor who is the subject of a delinquency petition filed pursuant to Section Utah 2 

Code section 78A-6-103 or a criminal information filed pursuant to Utah Code section 3 

78A-6-103.5 shall be advised of the following rights: 4 

 (a)(1) to appear in person and to defend in person or by counsel; 5 

 (a)(2) to receive a copy of the petition which contains the allegations against the 6 

minor; 7 

 (a)(3) to testify in the minor's own behalf; 8 

 (a)(4) to be confronted by the witnesses against the minor; 9 

 (a)(5) to have compulsory process to ensure the attendance of witnesses in the 10 

minor's behalf; 11 

 (a)(6) to be represented by appointed counsel at all stages of the proceedings and 12 

if indigent, to have appointed counsel; 13 

 (a)(7) to remain silent and to be advised that anything the minor says can and will 14 

be used against the minor in any court proceedings; and 15 

 (a)(8) to appeal any adjudication against the minor in the manner provided by 16 

law. 17 

 (b) If the minor or the minor's parent, guardian or custodian is found to be indigent and 18 

request counsel, the court shall appoint counsel at public expense in the manner provided 19 

by law. Where necessary to protect the interest of the minor, the court may appoint 20 

counsel without the request of the minor or parent, guardian or custodian. 21 

 (c) If the parent, guardian or custodian of a minor is found not to be indigent, but does 22 

not or will not retain counsel for the minor and the minor has no means to retain counsel, 23 

the court may appoint counsel at public expense. However, the court may order, after 24 

giving the parent, guardian or custodian reasonable opportunity to be heard, that the 25 



parent, guardian or custodian reimburse the county for the cost of appointed counsel, in 26 

whole or in part, depending on ability to pay. 27 

(db) Parties other than the minor have the right to be represented by counsel retained by 28 

them and to participate as provided in these rules. 29 

(e) A minor 14 years of age and older is presumed capable of intelligently comprehending 30 

and waiving the minor's right to counsel as above and may do so where the court finds 31 

such waiver to be knowing and voluntary, whether the minor's parent, guardian or 32 

custodian is present. A child under 14 years of age may not waive such rights outside of 33 

the presence of the child’s parent, guardian or custodian. 34 

(c) A minor may not waive the right to counsel before: 35 

(1) the minor has consulted with counsel; and 36 

(2) the court is satisfied that in light of the minor's unique circumstances and 37 

attributes: 38 

(A) the minor's waiver is knowing and voluntary; and 39 

(B) the minor understands the consequences of the waiver. 40 
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