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Rule 7. Initial proceedings for class A misdemeanors and felonies.
(a) First appearance. At the defendant's first appearance, the court must inform the defendant:
(@)(1) of the charge in the information or indictment and furnish a copy;

(@)(2) of any affidavit or recorded testimony given in support of the information and how
to obtain them;

(@)(3) of the right to retain counsel or have counsel appointed by the court without
expense if unable to obtain counsel;

(a)(4) of rights concerning pretrial release;-neluding-bat; and

(a)(5) that the defendant is not required to make any statement, and that any statement the
defendant makes may be used against the defendant in a court of law.

(b) Right to counsel. If the defendant is present at the initial appearance without counsel, the
court must determine if the defendant is capable of retaining the services of an attorney withina
reasonable time. If the court determines the defendant has such resources, the court must allow
the defendant a reasonable time and opportunity to retain and consult with counsel. If the court
determines the defendant is indigent, the court must appoint counsel pursuant to Rule 8, unless
the defendant knowingly and intelligently waives the right to counsel.

(c) Release conditions.

(c)(1) Except as provided in paragraph (c), ; the court must address-whetherthe defendant
is-entitled-to-pretrialreleaseissue a pretrial status order pursuant to Utah Code § section

77-20-1. Parties should be prepared to address this issue, including notice requirements
under Utah Code sectlon 77 37-3 and Utah Code section 77 38 3. —and—#—se—whataﬁany

(c)(2) A motion to modify the pretrial status order issued at initial appearance may be

made by either party at any time upon notice to the opposing party sufficient to permit the
opposing party to prepare for the hearing and to permit each alleged victim to be notified
and be present.

(c)(3) Subsequent motions to modify a pretrial status order may be made only upon a
showing that there has been a material change in circumstances.
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(c)(4) A hearing on a motion to modify a pretrial status order may be held in conjunction
with a preliminary hearing or any other pretrial hearing.

(d) Continuances. H-counsel-are-not-preparedUpon application of either party and a showing

of good cause, the court shall may allow up to a seven day continuance of the hearing to allow
for preparation, including notification to any victims. The court may allow more than seven days
with the consent of the defendant.

40 | (e) Right to preliminary examination.
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(e)(1) The court must inform the defendant of the right to a preliminary examination and
the times for holding the hearing. If the defendant waives the right to a preliminary
examination, and the prosecuting attorney consents, the court must order the defendant
bound over for trial.

(e)(2) If the defendant does not waive a preliminary examination, the court must
schedule the preliminary examination upon request. The examination must be held within
a reasonable time, but not later than 14 days if the defendant is in custody for the offense
charged and not later than 28 days if the defendant is not in custody. These time periods
may be extended by the magistrate for good cause shown. Upon consent of the parties,
the court may schedule the case for other proceedings before scheduling a preliminary
hearing.

(e)(3) A preliminary examination may not be held if the defendant is indicted.
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