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Rule 14-712. Qualifications for admission based on UBE. 1 

(a) Timing of application and admission. An application may be filed at any time. 2 
Processing of the application and the character and fitness investigation require a 3 
minimum of four months to complete. 4 

(ba) UBE score transferability. An Applicant who has taken and completed the UBE 5 
in a single administration in a jurisdiction other than Utah may transfer the UBE score 6 
and by filinge an application at any time provided: 7 

(ba)(1) the Applicant meets all the requirements of Rule 14-703 or Rule 14-704; 8 

(b)(2) the Applicant has not been denied by any jurisdiction on character and fitness 9 
grounds; 10 

(ba)(32) the UBE score is 270 or above; and 11 

(ba)(43) the Bar receives the Applicant’s UBE score no later than nine months after 12 
the filing of the application. To transfer a UBE score, an Applicant must send a written 13 
transfer request, along with the prescribed fee, to the NCBE. 14 

(cb) Time limitations on transferability. The transferability of the UBE score will be 15 
subject to the following time limitations: 16 

(cb)(1) the UBE score is transferable for all Applicants only if the UBE was 17 
administered within three prior examinations of the date the application is 18 
filedapplication is filed within 24 months of the administration of the UBE in which the 19 
passing score was earned; 20 

(cb)(2) the UBE may be transferable for up to five years from the administration of 21 
the UBE in which the passing score was earned if the Attorney Applicant can prove by 22 
clear and convincing evidence that she or he has been admitted to a U.S. state, territory, 23 
or the District of Columbia and has been Actively and lawfully engaged in the Full-time 24 
Practice of Law as defined in Rule 14-701(b), (t) and (ffee) in one or more jurisdictions 25 
since the administration of the UBE in which the passing score was earnedfor at least 26 
one-half of the time period since the score was earned. 27 

  28 

(dc) Utah legal education requirement. Applicants who gain admission by transferring 29 
a UBE score and who have less than two years of legal practice must complete the New 30 
Lawyer Training Program as outlined in Rules 14-404 and 14-808. 31 

(dc)(1) Those Applicants who gain admission by transferring a UBE score that have 32 
two or more years of legal practice shall complete and certify no later than six months 33 
following the Applicant’s admission that she or he has attended at least 15 hours of 34 
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continuing legal education on Utah practice and procedure and ethics and civility 35 
requirements. 36 

(dc)(2) The Board may by regulation specify the number of the required 15 hours that 37 
must be in particular areas of practice, procedure, ethics and civility. Included in this 38 
mandatory 15 hours is attendance at the Bar’s OPC ethics school.  39 
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