
 

 

CR1004  Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol, Drugs, or Combination. 
 
(DEFENDANT'S NAME) is charged [in Count ____] with committing Driving Under the Influence of [Alcohol][Any 
Drug][the Combined Influence of Alcohol and Any Drug] [on or about (DATE)]. You cannot convict [him] [her] of 
this offense unless, based on the evidence, you find beyond a reasonable doubt each of the following elements: 
 
1. (DEFENDANT’S NAME) intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly 

a. operated a vehicle; or  
b. was in actual physical control of a vehicle; and 

2. (DEFENDANT’S NAME): 
a. [had sufficient alcohol in [his][her] body that a subsequent chemical test showed that [he][she] had a 

blood or breath alcohol concentration of [.05][.08] grams or greater at the time of the test;] 
b. [was under the influence of [alcohol][any drug][the combined influence of alcohol and any drug] to a 

degree that rendered [him][her] incapable of safely operating a vehicle; or] 
c. [had a blood or breath alcohol concentration of [.05][.08] grams or greater at the time of operation or 

actual physical control][.][; and] 
3. (DEFENDANT’S NAME): 

a. [operated the vehicle in a negligent manner which was the proximate cause of bodily injury upon 
[VICTIM’S NAME];] 

b. [had a passenger under 16 years of age in the vehicle at the time of the offense;] 
c. [was 21 years of age or older and had a passenger under 18 years of age in the vehicle at the time of the 

offense;] 
d. [operated a vehicle onto or from any controlled-access highway except at entrances and exits 

established by the appropriate highway authority; or] 
e. [on or after July 1, 2020, without being directed or permitted by a traffic-control device or peace officer: 

i. operated a vehicle on a divided highway using the left-hand roadway; or 
ii. operated a vehicle over, across, or within any dividing space, median, or barrier of a divided 

highway.] 
4.  [The defense of ________ does not apply.] 
 
After you carefully consider all the evidence in this case, if you are convinced that each and every element has 
been proven beyond a reasonable doubt, then you must find the defendant GUILTY.  On the other hand, if you 
are not convinced that each and every element has been proven beyond a reasonable doubt, then you must find 
the defendant NOT GUILTY. 
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Committee Notes 
This instruction is intended to be used in prosecuting Class A Misdemeanor driving under the influence.  For 
Class B Misdemeanor or Third Degree Felony driving under the influence instructions, use CR1003 or CR1005, 
respectively.  An alternative method to instruct the jury would be to use CR1003 (MB Instruction) in combination 
with SVF1001 (“Driving Under the Influence Offenses”). 
 



 

 

In the realm of DUI, courts often give instructions at the request of the parties that comment on the sufficiency, 
or relative quality, of evidence.  These instructions are disfavored and may run afoul of the Utah Supreme 
Court’s admonition that trial courts should not comment upon the evidence.  See State v. Pappacostas, 407 P.2d 
576 (Utah 1965); Utah R. Crim. P. 19(f) ; and CR1001 “Preamble to Driving Under the Influence Instructions.” 
 
It is an open question whether a mens rea is required with respect to the operation or actual physical control 
element of DUI.  As of July 1, 2020, Utah Code was amended to explicitly state that driving under the influence is 
a strict liability offense (see HB0139-2020, line 164).  For any offense committed prior to July 1, 2020, there is 
divergent legal authority on whether driving under the influence is a strict liability offense with respect to the 
operation or actual physical control of the vehicle.  See Utah Code § 76-2-101(2) (no mental state generally 
required for traffic offenses), State v. Higley, 2020 UT App 45, and State v. Thompson, 2017 UT App 183; but see 
State v. Vialpando, 2004 UT App 95, ¶ 26. 
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