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Rule 14-705. Admission by Motion. 1 

(a) Reciprocal admission. An Applicant is eligible to be admitted by motion if the 2 
Applicant meets all the requirements of this rule. Admission by Motion is not a right; the 3 
burden of proof is on the Applicant to establish by clear and convincing evidence that she 4 
or he: 5 

(a)(1) has paid the prescribed nonrefundable fee and filed the required Complete 6 
Application as a Motion Applicant; 7 

(a)(2) is at least 21 years old; 8 

(a)(3) has been admitted by bar examination to practice law before the highest court of a 9 
U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia; 10 

(a)(4) holds a First Professional Degree in law from an Approved Law School; 11 

(a)(5) has successfully passed the MPRE; 12 

(a)(6) has demonstrated that the U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia that 13 
licenses the Applicant reciprocally allows the admission of licensed Utah lawyers under 14 
terms and conditions similar to those set forth in this rule; 15 

(a)(7) has been Actively licensed and lawfully engaged in the Full-time Practice of Law 16 
as defined in Rule 14-701(b), (t) and (ffee) in the reciprocal jurisdiction(s) where licensed 17 
for 60 of the 84 months immediately preceding the date of the filing of the application for 18 
admissionin one or more reciprocal jurisdictions where licensed for at least five of the 19 
previous seven years immediately preceding the date of the filing of the application for 20 
admission under this rule. For purposes of admission under this rule, any time practicing 21 
at an office located in Utah will not be counted as time practicing in a reciprocal 22 
jurisdiction; 23 

(a)(8) is a member in good standing in all jurisdictions where currently admitted; 24 

(a)(9) has a proven record of ethical, civil, and professional behavior and has never been 25 
disbarred or resigned with discipline pending, or their equivalent, in any jurisdiction and 26 
is not currently subject to lawyer discipline or the subject of a pending disciplinary 27 
matter; 28 

(a)(10) is of good moral character and satisfies the requirements of Rule 14-708;  29 

(b) Continuing legal education requirement. All Applicants admitted to practice law 30 
pursuant to this rule shall complete and certify no later than six months following the 31 
Applicant's admission that she or he has attended at least 15 hours of continuing legal 32 
education on Utah practice and procedure and ethics requirements.  33 
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(b)(1) The Board may by regulation specify the number of the required 15 hours that 34 
must be in particular areas of practice, procedure, and ethics. Included in this mandatory 35 
15 hours is attendance at the Bar's OPC ethics school.  36 

 (c) Form and content of application. The Board may require additional proof of any facts 37 
stated in the application. In the event of the failure or the refusal of the Applicant to 38 
furnish any information or proof, or to answer any inquiry of the Board pertinent to the 39 
pending application, the Board may deny the application without hearing.  40 

(d) Timing of application and admission. An application may be filed at any time but the 41 
Applicant must be able to demonstrate that she or he satisfies the requirements of this 42 
rule as of the date the application is filed. Processing of the application and the character 43 
and fitness investigation require a minimum of four months to complete. 44 

(d)(1) An Applicant not eligible for admission pursuant to this rule may qualify for 45 
admission as an Attorney Applicant pursuant to Rule 14-704. 46 

(d)(2) Upon approval the Applicant must comply with the provisions of Rule 14-716 47 
concerning licensing and enrollment fees. 48 
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