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Rule 38. Appeals from justice court to district court. 1 

(a) Appeal of a judgment or order of the justice court is as provided in Utah Code 2 

Section 78A-7-118. A case appealed from a justice court shall be heard in a district 3 

courthouse located in the same county as the justice court from which the case is 4 

appealed. In counties with multiple district courthouse locations, the presiding judge of 5 

the district court shall determine the appropriate location for the hearing of appeals. 6 

(b) The notice of appeal. 7 

(b)(1) A notice of appeal from an order or judgment must be filed within 30 days of 8 

the entry of that order or judgment. 9 

(b)(2) Contents of the notice. The notice required by this rule shall be in the form of, 10 

or substantially similar to, that provided in the appendix of this rule. At a minimum the 11 

notice shall contain: 12 

(b)(2)(A) a statement of the order or judgment being appealed and the date of entry 13 

of that order or judgment; 14 

(b)(2)(B) the current address at which the appealing party may receive notices 15 

concerning the appeal; 16 

(b)(2)(C) a statement as to whether the defendant is in custody because of the order 17 

or judgment appealed; and 18 

(b)(2)(D) a statement that the notice has been served on the opposing party and the 19 

method of that service. 20 

(b)(3) Deficiencies in the form of the filing shall not cause the court to reject the filing. 21 

They may, however, impact the efficient processing of the appeal. 22 

(c) Duties of the justice court. Within five days of receiving the notice of appeal, the 23 

justice court shall transmit to the appropriate district court a certified appeal packet 24 

containing copies of: 25 

(c)(1) the notice of appeal; 26 

(c)(2) the docket; 27 

(c)(3) the information, citation, or abstract of citation; 28 

(c)(4) the judgment and sentence, if any; and 29 

(c)(5) any other orders and papers filed in the case. 30 
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(d) Duties of the district court. 31 

(d)(1) Upon receipt of the appeal packet from the justice court, the district court shall 32 

hold a scheduling conference to determine what issues must be resolved by the appeal. 33 

The district court shall send notices to the appellant at the address provided on the 34 

notice of appeal. Notices to the other party shall be to the address provided in the 35 

justice court docket for that party. 36 

(d)(2) If the defendant is in custody because of the matter appealed, the district court 37 

shall hold the conference within five days of the receipt of the appeals packet. If the 38 

defendant is not in custody because of the matter appealed, the court shall hold the 39 

conference within 30 days of receipt of the appeals packet. 40 

(e) District court procedures for trials de novo. An appeal by a defendant pursuant to 41 

Utah Code Ann. §78A-7-118(1) shall be accomplished by the following procedures: 42 

(e)(1) If the defendant elects to go to trial, the district court will determine what 43 

number and level of offenses the defendant is facing. 44 

(e)(2) Discovery, the trial, and any pre-trial evidentiary matters the court deems 45 

necessary, shall be held in accordance with these rules. 46 

(e)(3) After the trial, the district court shall, if appropriate, sentence the defendant 47 

and enter judgment in the case as provided in these rules and otherwise by law. 48 

(e)(4) When entered, the judgment of conviction or order of dismissal serves to 49 

vacate the judgment or orders of the justice court and becomes the judgment of the 50 

case. 51 

(e)(5) A defendant may resolve an appeal by waiving trial and compromising the 52 

case by any process authorized by law to resolve a criminal case. 53 

(e)(5)(A) Any plea shall be taken in accordance with these rules. 54 

(e)(5)(B) The court shall proceed to sentence the defendant or enter such other 55 

orders required by the particular plea or disposition. 56 

(e)(5)(C) When entered, the district court’s judgment or other orders vacate the 57 

orders or judgment of the justice court and become the order or judgment of the case. 58 
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(e)(5)(D) A defendant who moves to withdraw a plea entered pursuant to this section 59 

may only seek to withdraw it pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. § 77-13-6. 60 

(e)(6) Other dispositions. A defendant, at a point prior to judgment, by plea or trial, 61 

may choose to withdraw the appeal and have the case remanded to the justice court. 62 

Within 10 days of the defendant notifying the court of such an election, the district court 63 

shall remand the case to the justice court. 64 

(f) District court procedures for hearings de novo. If the appeal seeks a de novo 65 

hearing pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 78A-7-118(3) or (4); and 66 

(f)(1) the court shall conduct such hearing and make the appropriate findings or 67 

orders. 68 

(f)(2) Within 10 days of entering its findings or orders, the district court shall remand 69 

the case to the justice court , unless the case is disposed of by the findings or orders, or 70 

the district court retains jurisdiction pursuant to §78A-7-118(6). 71 

(g) Retained jurisdiction. In cases where the district court retains jurisdiction after 72 

disposing of the matters on appeal, the court shall order the justice court to forward all 73 

cash bail, other security, or revenues received by the justice court to the district court for 74 

disposition. The justice court shall transmit such monies or securities within 20 days of 75 

receiving the order. 76 

(h) Other bases for remand. The district court may also remand a case to the justice 77 

court if it finds that the defendant has abandoned the appeal. 78 

(i) Justice court procedures on remand. Upon receiving a remanded case, the justice 79 

court shall set a review conference to determine what, if any proceedings need be 80 

taken. If the defendant is in custody because of the case being considered, such 81 

hearing shall be had within five days of receipt of the order of remand. Otherwise, the 82 

review conference should be had within 30 days. The court shall send notice of the 83 

review conference to the parties at the addresses contained in the notice of appeal, 84 

unless those have been updated by the district court. 85 
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 (j) During the pendency of the appeal, and until a judgment, order of dismissal, or 86 

other final order is entered in the district court, the justice court shall retain jurisdiction to 87 

monitor terms of probation or other consequences of the plea or judgment, unless those 88 

orders or terms are stayed pursuant to Rule 27A. 89 


