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Rule 4. Appeal as of right: when taken. 1 
(a) Appeal from final judgment and order. In a case in which an appeal is permitted as a matter of 2 

right from the trial court to the appellate court, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 shall be filed with 3 
the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the date of entry of the judgment or order appealed from. 4 
However, when a judgment or order is entered in a statutory forcible entry or unlawful detainer action, the 5 
notice of appeal required by Rule 3 shall be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 10 days after the 6 
date of entry of the judgment or order appealed from. 7 

(b) Time for appeal extended by certain motions. 8 
(b)(1) If a party timely files in the trial court any of the following motions, the time for all parties to 9 

appeal from the judgment runs from the entry of the order disposing of the motion: 10 
(b)(1)(A) A motion for judgment under Rule 50(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; 11 
(b)(1)(B) A motion to amend or make additional findings of fact, whether or not an alteration of the 12 

judgment would be required if the motion is granted, under Rule 52(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil 13 
Procedure; 14 

(b)(1)(C) A motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil 15 
Procedure; 16 

(b)(1)(D) A motion for a new trial under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; or 17 
(b)(1)(E) A motion for relief under Rule 60 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure if the motion is 18 

filed no later than 28 days after the judgment is entered; or  19 
(b)(1)(F) A motion for a new trial under Rule 24 of the Utah Rules of Criminal Procedure. 20 

(b)(2) If a party files a motion or claim for attorney fees under Rule 73 of the Utah Rules of Civil 21 
Procedure or a claim for costs under Rule 54 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and if the trial court 22 
extends the time to appeal under Rule 54, the time for all parties to appeal from the judgment runs from 23 
the entry of the order disposing of the motion or claim.  24 

(b)(3) A notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, but before entry of an order 25 
disposing of any motion listed in Rule 4paragraph (b), shall be treated as filed after entry of the order and 26 
on the day thereof, except that such a notice of appeal is effective to appeal only from the underlying 27 
judgment. To appeal from a final order disposing of any motion listed in Rule 4paragraph (b), a party must 28 
file a notice of appeal or an amended notice of appeal within the prescribed time measured from the entry 29 
of the order. 30 

(c) Filing prior to entry of judgment or order. A notice of appeal filed after the announcement of a 31 
decision, judgment, or order but before entry of the judgment or order shall be treated as filed after such 32 
entry and on the day thereof. 33 

(d) Additional or cross-appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, any other party may 34 
file a notice of appeal within 14 days after the date on which the first notice of appeal is docketed in the 35 
court in which it was filed, or within the time otherwise prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule, 36 
whichever period last expires. 37 

(e) Motion for extension of time. 38 
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(e)(1) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause, may extend the time for filing a notice of 39 
appeal upon motion filed before the expiration of the time prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 40 
rule. Responses to such motions for an extension of time are disfavored and the court may rule at any 41 
time after the filing of the motion. No extension shall exceed 30 days beyond the prescribed time or 14 42 
days beyond the date of entry of the order granting the motion, whichever occurs later.   43 

(e)(2) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause or excusable neglect, may extend the time 44 
for filing a notice of appeal upon motion filed not later than 30 days after the expiration of the time 45 
prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule.  The court may rule at any time after the filing of the 46 
motion. That a movant did not file a notice of appeal to which paragraph (c) would apply is not relevant to 47 
the determination of good cause or excusable neglect. No extension shall exceed 30 days  beyond the 48 
prescribed time or 14 days beyond the date of entry of the order granting the motion, whichever occurs 49 
later. 50 

(f) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in criminal cases. Upon a showing that a 51 
criminal defendant was deprived of the right to appeal, the trial court shall reinstate the thirty-day period 52 
for filing a direct appeal. A defendant seeking such reinstatement shall file a written motion in the 53 
sentencing court and serve the prosecuting entity. If the defendant is not represented and is indigent, the 54 
court shall appoint counsel. The prosecutor shall have 30 days after service of the motion to file a written 55 
response. If the prosecutor opposes the motion, the trial court shall set a hearing at which the parties may 56 
present evidence. If the trial court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant has 57 
demonstrated that the defendant was deprived of the right to appeal, it shall enter an order reinstating the 58 
time for appeal. The defendant's notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 59 
days after the date of entry of the order. 60 

(g) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in civil cases. 61 
(g)(1) The trial court shall reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct appeal if the trial court 62 

finds by a preponderance of the evidence that: 63 
(g)(1)(A) The party seeking to appeal lacked actual notice of the entry of judgment at a time 64 

that would have allowed the party to file a timely motion under paragraph (e) of this rule; 65 
(g)(1)(B) The party seeking to appeal exercised reasonable diligence in monitoring the 66 

proceedings; and 67 
(g)(1)(C) The party, if any, responsible for serving the judgment under Rule 58A(d) of the 68 

Utah Rules of Civil Procedure did not promptly serve a copy of the signed judgment on the party 69 
seeking to appeal. 70 
(g)(2) A party seeking such reinstatement shall file a written motion in the trial court within one year 71 

from the entry of judgment. The party shall comply with Rule 7 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and 72 
shall serve each of the parties in accordance with Rule 5 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 73 

(g)(3) If the trial court enters an order reinstating the time for filing a direct appeal, a notice of appeal 74 
must be filed within 30 days after the date of entry of the order. 75 

Advisory Committee Note 76 
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Paragraph (f) was adopted to implement the holding and procedure outlined in Manning v. State, 77 
2005 UT 61, 122 P.3d 628. 78 
 79 


