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Rule 4. Appeal as of right: when taken. 1 

(a) Appeal from final judgment and order. In a case in which an appeal is 2 

permitted as a matter of right from the trial court to the appellate court, the 3 

notice of appeal required by Rule 3 shall be filed with the clerk of the trial court 4 

within 30 days after the date of entry of the judgment or order appealed from. 5 

However, when a judgment or order is entered in a statutory forcible entry or 6 

unlawful detainer action, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 shall be filed 7 

with the clerk of the trial court within 10 days after the date of entry of the 8 

judgment or order appealed from. 9 

(b) Time for appeal extended by certain motions. 10 

(b)(1) If a party timely files in the trial court any of the following motions, the 11 

time for all parties to appeal from the judgment runs from the entry of the 12 

order disposing of the motion: 13 

(b)(1)(A) A motion for judgment under Rule 50(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil 14 

Procedure; 15 

(b)(1)(B) A motion to amend or make additional findings of fact, whether or 16 

not an alteration of the judgment would be required if the motion is granted, 17 

under Rule 52(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; 18 

(b)(1)(C) A motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59 of the 19 

Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; 20 

(b)(1)(D) A motion for a new trial under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil 21 

Procedure; or 22 

(b)(1)(E) A motion for a new trial under Rule 24 of the Utah Rules of 23 

Criminal Procedure. 24 

(b)(2) A notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, but 25 

before entry of an order disposing of any motion listed in Rule 4(b), shall be 26 

treated as filed after entry of the order and on the day thereof, except that 27 
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such a notice of appeal is effective to appeal only from the underlying 28 

judgment. To appeal from a final order disposing of any motion listed in Rule 29 

4(b), a party must file a notice of appeal or an amended notice of appeal 30 

within the prescribed time measured from the entry of the order. 31 

(c) Filing prior to entry of judgment or order. A notice of appeal filed after 32 

the announcement of a decision, judgment, or order but before entry of the 33 

judgment or order shall be treated as filed after such entry and on the day 34 

thereof. 35 

(d) Additional or cross-appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, 36 

any other party may file a notice of appeal within 14 days after the date on 37 

which the first notice of appeal is docketed in the court in which it was filed, or 38 

within the time otherwise prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule, 39 

whichever period last expires. 40 

(e) Motion for Eextension of time to appeal.  41 

(e)(1) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause, may extend the time 42 

for filing a notice of appeal upon motion filed before the expiration of the time 43 

prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule. Responses to such motions 44 

for an extension of time are disfavored and the court may rule at any time 45 

after the filing of the motion. No extension shall exceed 30 days beyond the 46 

prescribed time or 14 days beyond the date of entry of the order granting the 47 

motion, whichever occurs later.   48 

(e)(2) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause or excusable neglect 49 

or good cause, may extend the time for filing a notice of appeal upon motion 50 

filed not later than 30 days after the expiration of the time prescribed by 51 

paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule. A motion filed before expiration of the 52 

prescribed time may be ex parte unless the trial court otherwise requires. 53 

Notice of a motion filed after expiration of the prescribed time shall be given to 54 
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the other parties in accordance with the rules of practice of the trial court. The 55 

court may rule at any time after the filing of the motion. That a movant did not 56 

file a notice of appeal to which paragraph (c) would apply is not relevant to the 57 

determination of good cause or excusable neglect. No extension shall exceed 58 

30 days past beyond the prescribed time or 140 days frombeyond the date of 59 

entry of the order granting the motion, whichever occurs later. 60 

(f) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in criminal cases. 61 

Upon a showing that a criminal defendant was deprived of the right to appeal, 62 

the trial court shall reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct appeal. A 63 

defendant seeking such reinstatement shall file a written motion in the 64 

sentencing court and serve the prosecuting entity. If the defendant is not 65 

represented and is indigent, the court shall appoint counsel. The prosecutor 66 

shall have 30 days after service of the motion to file a written response. If the 67 

prosecutor opposes the motion, the trial court shall set a hearing at which the 68 

parties may present evidence. If the trial court finds by a preponderance of the 69 

evidence that the defendant has demonstrated that the defendant was 70 

deprived of the right to appeal, it shall enter an order reinstating the time for 71 

appeal. The defendant's notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the 72 

trial court within 30 days after the date of entry of the order. 73 

(g) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in civil cases. 74 

(g)(1) The trial court shall reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct 75 

appeal if the trial court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that: 76 

(g)(1)(A) The party seeking to appeal lacked actual notice of the entry of 77 

judgment at a time that would have allowed the party to file a timely motion 78 

under paragraph (e) of this rule; 79 

(g)(1)(B) The party seeking to appeal exercised reasonable diligence in 80 

monitoring the proceedings; and 81 
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(g)(1)(C) The party, if any, responsible for serving the judgment under 82 

Rule 58A(d) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure did not promptly serve a 83 

copy of the signed judgment on the party seeking to appeal. 84 

(g)(2) A party seeking such reinstatement shall file a written motion in the 85 

trial court within one year from the entry of judgment. The party shall comply 86 

with Rule 7 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and shall serve each of the 87 

parties in accordance with Rule 5 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 88 

(g)(3) If the trial court enters an order reinstating the time for filing a direct 89 

appeal, a notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after the date of entry 90 

of the order. 91 

Advisory Committee Note 92 

SubsectionParagraph (f) was adopted to implement the holding and 93 

procedure outlined in Manning v. State, 2005 UT 61, 122 P.3d 628. 94 


