
Rule 4-613. Draft: December 16, 2010 
 

Rule 4-613. Intercounty jJail prisoner transportation. 1 

Intent:  2 

To establish a procedure for designating on the statewide warrants system offenses 3 

which require transportation of an individual arrested in a county other than the county 4 

from which the warrant was issued.  5 

Applicability:  6 

This rule shall apply to all courts.  7 

This rule shall apply only to the transportation of individuals arrested in a county 8 

other than the county from which the warrant was issued.  9 

Statement of the Rule:  10 

(1) All offenses designated in the Uniform Fine/Bail Schedule as "mandatory 11 

appearance" shall be considered "transportable" from any location in the state for 12 

purposes of applying Utah Code Ann. § 76-3-201 regarding intercounty transportation, 13 

except that the judge shall have the option of indicating on the warrant "transport only if 14 

arrest is made 100 miles or less from initiating court," to allow the court to determine the 15 

advisability of transporting based on factors in an individual case.  16 

(2) On the statewide warrants system each "mandatory appearance" offense shall 17 

include a designation of "transportable" or "transport only if arrest is made 100 miles or 18 

less from initiating court" or "transport only if arrest is made within a number of miles 19 

from the initiating court designated by the judge" to notify law enforcement officers 20 

whether intercounty prisoner transportation shall be effected pursuant to Utah Code 21 

Ann. § 76-3-201.  22 

(3) The judge may change a "non-mandatory appearance" designation to 23 

"mandatory appearance" for purposes of applying this rule.  24 

(4) The judge may change a "mandatory appearance" designation to "non-25 

mandatory" for purposes of applying this rule. 26 

(1) Unless otherwise ordered by the court, warrants for the following offenses will 27 

require transportation from the county in which the defendant is arrested: 28 

(1)(A) felonies; 29 

(1)(B) class A misdemeanors; and 30 
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(1)(C) class B misdemeanors charged under Utah Code Title 76 Chapter 5 31 

(Offenses Against the Person), Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 5 (Weapons), and Title 41, 32 

Chapter 6a, Part 5 (Driving Under the Influence and Reckless Driving). 33 

(2) Unless otherwise ordered by the court, warrants for the following offenses will 34 

require transportation only within the county from which the warrant originates: 35 

(2)(A) class B misdemeanors not included in paragraph (1); and 36 

(2)(B) class C misdemeanors. 37 

 38 


