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Draft: October 1, 2008

Rule 14-404. Active status lawyers: MCLE, NECLE-NLTP _and admission on
motion requirements.

(a) Active status lawyers. Commencing with calendar year 2004, each lawyer
admitted to practice in Utah shall complete, during each two-calendar year period, a
minimum of 24 hours of accredited CLE which shall include a minimum of three hours of
accredited ethics or professional responsibility. One of the three hours of ethics or
professional responsibility shall be in the area of professionalism and civility. Lawyers

on inactive status are not subject to the requirements of this rule, including NLTP MCLE

requirements.

(a)(1) Lawyers on active status who reside in Utah and who are subject to the NLTP

under Rule 14-808 must complete the NLTP MCLE requirements within a 12 month

period after admission to the Bar.

(a)(2) A new lawyer or mentor who successfully completes the requirements of the

Model Mentoring Plan or an approved plan, shall receive up to three hours of ethic or

professional responsibility credit.

(b) NECLENLTP. A lawyer who is obligated to and who successfully does fulfills the

requirements of the NECLE-NLTP pregram-shall be deemed to have satisfied the-12
accredited MCLE requirements—ot—this—+ule—hours for the reporting period ending

December 31 of the second complete year following the lawyer’s year of admission to

the Bar. Twelve additional MCLE hours must also be completed under this rule.New
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(c) Admission on motion lawyers. A lawyer who fulfills the requirements by
admission on motion as prescribed in Rule 14-705 shall be deemed to have satisfied
the accredited MCLE requirements of this rule for the reporting period ending December
31 of the second complete calendar year following the lawyer’'s year of admission. In
addition, the lawyer must complete and certify no later than six months following the
lawyer’s admission that he or she has attended at least 15 hours of NEGCEE-accredited
CLE hours on Utah practice and procedure and ethics requirements as follows.

(c)(1) Nine credit hours must be comprised of NECLE-accredited CLE courses.

(c)(2) Six credit hours must be comprised of the professional ethics course
presented in OPC'’s ethics school.

(c)(3) Twelve of the 15 hours may be completed through self-study through the Bar’s
online CLE system. The above 15 hours will apply towards the 24 hours required per
two-year compliance period. The Board of Bar Commissioners may specify the number
of the required 15 hours that must be in particular areas of practice, procedure and
ethics.

(d) Out-of-state CLE activities. CLE credit may be awarded for out-of-state activities
that the Board determines meet certain standards in furthering a lawyer’s legal
education. The Board shall determine whether to accredit the activities and, if so, the
number of hours of credit to allow for such activities. Out-of-state activities cannot
substitute for the 15 mandatory CLE hours described in paragraph (c) and Rulesl4-
705(d)(2) and 14-705(d)(3).

(e) Activities that may be regarded as equivalent to state-sponsored CLE may
include, but are not limited to, viewing of approved CLE audio and video presentations,
writing and publishing an article in a legal periodical, part-time teaching in an approved
law school, or delivering a paper or speech on a professional subject at a meeting
primarily attended by lawyers, legal assistants, or law school students.

() A lawyer's application for accreditation of a CLE activity must be submitted in
writing to the Board if the activity has not been previously approved for CLE credit in
Utah.



