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 Pursuant to Article II, Sections 1(f) of the By-Laws of the State of Utah Supreme 

Court Board of Continuing Legal Education, as amended, the Board of Continuing Legal 

Education  (the “Board”) hereby petitions the Court to amend Rule 14-414 (b), Rule 14-

417 (b), Rule 14-417 (d) and Rule 14-417 (e) of the Rules and Regulations Governing 

Mandatory Continuing Legal Education for the State of Utah (the “Rules”) to read as 

follows: 

Rule 14-414  

(b) Filing fee, late fees and reinstatement fees.   

(1) Each lawyer shall pay a filing fee in the amount of $15.00 at the time of filing 

the certificate of compliance under paragraph (a).   

(2) Any lawyer who fails to complete the MCLE requirement by the December 

31 deadline shall be assessed a $100.00 late fee.   

(3) Lawyers who fail to comply with the MCLE requirements and file within a 

reasonable time, as determined by the Board in its discretion, and who are 

subject to an administrative suspension pursuant to Rule 14-415, after the late 



fee has been assessed shall be assessed a $200.00 reinstatement fee, plus an 

additional $500.00 fee if the failure to comply is a repeat violation within the 

past 5 years. 

A lawyer who fails to comply with Rule 14-414 (b) or who files a certificate of 

compliance showing that he or she has failed to complete the required number of hours of 

MCLE shall be notified that unless all requirements are completed and reported within 30 

days, a petition for the lawyer’s suspension from the practice of law will be submitted to 

the Supreme Court.  The lawyer shall be given the opportunity during the 30-day period 

to file an affidavit with the Board, disclosing facts demonstrating that the lawyers 

noncompliance was not willful and tendering such documents, which, if accepted, would 

cure the delinquency.    

Rule 14-414 (b) of the Rules articulates the intention that the $15.00 filing fee 

should defray administrative costs of the MCLE program.  The $100.00 late fee is 

intended to defray the additional costs for extra administrative work associated with 

processing late reports or bringing late filers into last-minute compliance, and it should 

also serve as a penalty or disincentive for lawyers to file late or insufficient reports.  

However, in practice, the compliance fee and the late fees have proven inadequate for 

either of these purposes and should be increased. 

 

I. The $50.00 Late Fee and $100.00 Reinstatement Fee Are Inadequate as Incentives 

for Timely Compliance and Reporting.   



The Board believes increasing the late fees and reinstatement fees may result in a 

greater incentive for meeting the compliance deadline, thereby increasing the number of 

timely compliance reports. 

II. The $50.00 Late Fee and $100.00 Reinstatement Fee Are Inadequate to Offset 

Administrative Expenses Incident to Late Compliance and Reinstatment.  

To date, over each two-year period in which all Utah Bar members should have 

met their MCLE requirements, approximately 35% missed the compliance deadline.  The 

vast majority of these lawyers have complied before suspension, but the costs attendant to 

shepherding them through the process of late compliance are borne by the MCLE 

department and not by the non-compliant lawyers themselves.  There are additional costs 

to notify lawyers by certified mail, return receipt requested, that unless all requirements 

are completed and reported within 30 days, a petition for the lawyer’s suspension from 

the practice of law will be submitted to the Supreme Court.  The lawyer shall be given the 

opportunity during the 30-day period to file an affidavit with the Board, disclosing facts 

demonstrating that the lawyer’s noncompliance was not willful and tendering such 

documents which, if accepted, would cure the delinquency.  A hearing before the Board 

shall be granted if requested.  In addition, bringing late-filing lawyers into compliance 

requires several month’s work, delaying the suspension date and, in effect, allowing those 

lawyers who ignore the filing deadline extra time to practice law without being in 

compliance.  As a result, when Bar members fail to meet the reporting deadline, they 

receive an extension, and it is the MCLE program and its staff who are penalized in extra 

costs and extra work.   



If, after a hearing, or failure to cure the delinquency by satisfactory affidavit and 

compliance, the lawyer is suspended by the Supreme Court, the lawyer shall be notified 

once again by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

A lawyer suspended by the Supreme Court under the provisions of this rule may 

be reinstated by the Court upon showing that the lawyer has cured the delinquency for 

which the lawyer has been suspended.  If a lawyer has been suspended by the Supreme 

Court for non-compliance, the lawyer must then comply with all applicable rules to be 

eligible to return to active or inactive status.   

Rule 14-417  Miscellaneous fees and expenses. 

(b) A lawyer shall pay an administrative fee of $25.00 for preparation and mailing 

of Certificates of CLE compliance to other MCLE states, for filing of Reciprocal 

Certificates for lawyers admitted on Motion to the Utah State Bar, for filing of 

House Counsel Certificates of Compliance from the jurisdiction where the House 

Counsel maintains an active license, or for lawyers on active status who are not 

engaged in the practice of law in Utah and request a Certificate of Exemption.  

The Board may establish other fees to defer administrative costs related to 

requests for accreditation and Supreme Court approval. 

Pursuant to existing Rule 14-417(b) allowing the Board to establish other fees to 

defer administrative costs with the approval of the Court, the Board desires to assess an 

administrative fee of $25.00 for preparation and mailing of Certificates of CLE 

compliance to other MCLE states, for filing of Reciprocal Certificates for lawyers 

admitted on Motion to the Utah State Bar, for filing of House Counsel Certificates and 

for lawyers on active status who are not engaged in the practice of law in Utah and 



request a Certificate of Exemption.  These fees are necessary to cover administrative 

expenses of the Certificates.  A lawyer who fulfills the requirements for admission on 

motion must complete and certify with the MCLE Board no later than six months 

following the lawyer’s admission that he or she has attended at least 15 hours of NLCLE 

on Utah practice and procedure and ethics requirements.  House Counsel must file with 

the MCLE Board by January 31 of each year a certificate of compliance from the 

jurisdiction where House Counsel maintains an active license establishing that he or she 

has completed the hours of continuing legal education required of active lawyers in the 

jurisdiction where House Counsel is licensed. 

(d) All CLE sponsors who offer any course for a fee shall pay to the Board, within 

60 days of presenting the course, a fee of $1.50 per credit hour per attendee.  The 

$1.50 per credit hour fee will cap at $15 per attendee. 

Pursuant to existing Rule 14-417(d) allowing the Board to establish other fees to 

defer administrative costs with the approval of the Court, the Board desires to assess an 

administrative fee for all sponsors who offer Utah approved CLE courses that are held 

outside of Utah for a fee shall pay to the Board, within 60 days of presenting the course, a 

fee of $1.50 per credit hour per attendee.  The $1.50 per credit hour fee will cap at $15 

per attendee.  These additional fees for Utah approved CLE courses that are held outside 

of Utah are necessary to cover administrative expenses for reviewing CLE registration 

lists and for entering CLE registration lists in the database. 

(e) Any lawyer who is required by this article to apply to the Board for any 

special accreditation or approval of an educational activity shall pay a fee of $10 

at the time of application. 



Pursuant to existing Rule 14-417(e) allowing the Board to establish other fees to 

defer administrative costs with the approval of the Court, the Board desires to assess an 

administrative fee of $10 for any lawyer who is required by this article to apply to the 

Board for any special accreditation or approval of an educational activity.  These 

additional fees are necessary to cover administrative expenses with regards to reviewing 

CLE courses for accreditation, for entering information in the database and for 

preparation and mailing of CLE applications.   

SUMMARY 

 The Board hopes and believes that the requested modifications in the Rules will 

draw the attention of Bar members to the commitment of the Utah State Bar and the Utah 

Judiciary to continued improvement of the quality of legal services available in Utah. The 

modifications will reiterate and emphasize that compliance with Rule 14-414 (b) is a 

requirement for all Bar members, it will hasten the reduction of costs incident to 

prolonging the compliance of those who miss the deadline, and it will support the MCLE 

department’s efforts to administer and enforce both compliance and reporting 

requirements in accordance with the Rules.  The Board hopes that the requested 

implementation of the fees with Rule 14-417 (b) will help to defer administrative costs 

related to requests for compliance certificates in other MCLE States, filing of Reciprocal 

Certificates for lawyers admitted on Motion to the Utah State Bar, for filing of House 

Counsel Certificates and for lawyers on active status not engaged in the practice of law in 

Utah requesting a Certificate of Exemption.  The Board also hopes that the requested 

implementation of fees with Rule 14-417(d) will help to defer administrative costs related 

to reviewing CLE registration lists and for entering CLE registration lists in the database.  



Finally, the Board hopes that the requested increase of fees with Rule 14-417(e) will help 

to defer administrative costs related to reviewing CLE courses for accreditation, for 

entering information in the database and for preparation and mailing of CLE applications.  

 

 RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this ______ day of __________, 2007 

 
    _________________________ 
    Chair 


