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Rule 4. Appeal as of right: when taken.1

(a) Appeal from final judgment and order. In a case in which an appeal is permitted as a matter of2

right from the trial court to the appellate court, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 shall be3

filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the date of entry of the judgment or4

order appealed from. However, when a judgment or order is entered in a statutory forcible entry5

or unlawful detainer action, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 shall be filed with the clerk6

of the trial court within 10 days after the date of entry of the judgment or order appealed from.7

(b) Time for appeal extended by certain motions. 8

(b)(1) If a party timely files in the trial court any of the following motions, the time for all parties9

to appeal from the judgment runs from the entry of the order disposing of the motion:10

(b)(1)(A) a motion for judgment under Rule 50(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; 11

(b)(1)(B) a motion to amend or make additional findings of fact, whether or not an alteration of12

the judgment would be required if the motion is granted, under Rule 52(b) of the Utah Rules of13

Civil Procedure; 14

(b)(1)(C) a motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil15

Procedure; 16

(b)(1)(D) a motion for a new trial under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; or17

(b)(1)(E) a motion for a new trial under Rule 24 of the Utah Rules of Criminal Procedure.18

(b)(2) A notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, but before entry of an19

order disposing of any motion listed in Rule 4(b), shall be treated as filed after entry of the order20

and on the day thereof, except that such a notice of appeal is effective to appeal only from the21

underlying judgment. To appeal from a final order disposing of any motion listed in Rule 4(b), a22

party must file a notice of appeal or an amended notice of appeal within the prescribed time23

measured from the entry of the order.(c) Filing prior to entry of judgment or order. A notice of24

appeal filed after the announcement of a decision, judgment, or order but before entry of the25

judgment or order shall be treated as filed after such entry and on the day thereof.26

(d) Additional or cross-appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, any other party may27

file a notice of appeal within 14 days after the date on which the first notice of appeal was filed,28

or within the time otherwise prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule, whichever period29
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last expires.30

(e) Extension of time to appeal. The trial court, upon a showing of excusable neglect or good31

cause, may extend the time for filing a notice of appeal upon motion filed not later than 30 days32

after the expiration of the time prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule. A motion filed33

before expiration of the prescribed time may be ex parte unless the trial court otherwise requires.34

Notice of a motion filed after expiration of the prescribed time shall be given to the other parties35

in accordance with the rules of practice of the trial court. No extension shall exceed 30 days past36

the prescribed time or 10 days from the date of entry of the order granting the motion, whichever37

occurs later.38

(f) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in criminal cases.  Upon a showing that a39

criminal defendant was deprived of the right to appeal, the trial court shall reinstate the thirty-day40

period for filing a direct appeal  A defendant seeking such reinstatement shall file a written41

motion in the sentencing court and serve the prosecuting entity.  If the defendant is not42

represented and is indigent, the court shall appoint counsel.  The prosecutor shall have 30 days43

after service of the motion to file a written response.  If the prosecutor opposes the motion, the44

trial court shall set a hearing at which the parties may present evidence.  If the trial court finds by45

a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant has demonstrated that he was deprived of his46

right to appeal, it shall enter an order reinstating the time for appeal.  The defendant’s notice of47

appeal must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the date of entry of the48

order.49

(f) (g) Appeal by an Inmate Confined in an Institution. If an inmate confined in an institution50

files a notice of appeal in either a civil or criminal case, the notice of appeal is timely filed if it is51

deposited in the institution's internal mail system on or before the last day for filing. Timely52

filing may be shown by a notarized statement or written declaration setting forth the date of53

deposit and stating that first-class postage has been prepaid. If a notice of appeal is filed in the54

manner provided in this paragraph (f), the 14-day period provided in paragraph (d) runs from the55

date when the trial court receives the first notice of appeal.56

Advisory Committee Note:57

Subsection (f) was adopted to implement the holding and procedure outlined in State v. Manning,58
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2005 UT 61, 122 P.3d 628.59
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