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Rule 4-907. Divorce education and divorce orientation courses. 1 

Intent: 2 

To establish policies for the implementation of the divorce education 3 

course required by Utah Code Section 30-3-11.3 and the divorce orientation 4 

course required by Utah Code Section 30-3-11.4. 5 

Applicability: 6 

This rule shall apply to all proceedings in which Utah Code Section 30-3-7 

11.3, Utah Code Section 30-3-11.4 or a court order require attendance at one 8 

or both courses. 9 

Statement of the Rule: 10 

(1) The education department within the Administrative Office of the Courts 11 

shall: 12 

(1)(A) establish uniform specifications and standards for the courses; 13 

(1)(B) issue a request for proposals setting forth the uniform specifications 14 

and standards; 15 

(1)(C) award contracts for live courses; and 16 

(1)(D) produce the courses by video and other effective formats. 17 

(2)(A) Each party required to attend one or both courses shall attend the 18 

live course at any location at which it is offered. 19 

(2)(B) A party required to attend one or both courses may watch a video of 20 

the course if: 21 

(2)(B)(i) the party lives out of state or more than 60 miles from the nearest 22 

live class; 23 

(2)(B)(ii) the party is in prison, jail or other detention facility; 24 

(2)(B)(iii) the party is an in-patient at a medical facility; or 25 

(2(B)(iv) the party’s request to watch the video is approved by the divorce 26 

education administrator. 27 
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(2)(C) The party may purchase the video or watch it at any district court 28 

courthouse. 29 

(3) The course provider or the custodian of the video shall provide the party 30 

with a certificate of completion. 31 

(4) When the petition is filed, the clerk shall notify the petitioner of the 32 

course requirement. The petitioner shall notify the respondent of the 33 

requirement and file a certificate of service of the notice. 34 

(5) Any person attending a course shall present a valid form of photo 35 

identification, and pay the course fee or present a copy of an order waiving 36 

the fee or a motion to waive fees that has been filed with the court. If the court 37 

determines that the party is not impecunious, the court may enter judgment for 38 

the amount of the course fee. 39 

(6) The fee for attending the education course or watching the video is 40 

$35.00, which includes $8.00 for deposit in the Children's Legal Defense 41 

Fund. The fee for attending the orientation course is $15.00 for petitioners 42 

who attend the course within 30 days of filing and for respondents who attend 43 

the course within 30 days of service. Otherwise, Tthe fee for attending the 44 

orientation course, taking the course online, or watching the video is $230.00, 45 

which includes $5.00 for deposit in the Children’s Legal Defense Fund. 46 

(7) The course provider shall, within 72 hours of each course, provide the 47 

court with an alphabetized list of each party who completed the course. 48 


