O 00 N o v b W N P

W N N N N N N N N NN P P P P P RP R P R
©O W 00 N o L1 B W N P O O ®O® N O U1 M W N L O

Rule 4. Effective Date: November 1, 2013

Rule 4. Appeal as of right: when taken.

(a) Appeal from final judgment and order. In a case in which an appeal is permitted
as a matter of right from the trial court to the appellate court, the notice of appeal
required by Rule 3 shall be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the
date of entry of the judgment or order appealed from. However, when a judgment or
order is entered in a statutory forcible entry or unlawful detainer action, the notice of
appeal required by Rule 3 shall be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 10 days
after the date of entry of the judgment or order appealed from.

(b) Time for appeal extended by certain motions.

(b)(1) If a party timely files in the trial court any of the following motions, the time for
all parties to appeal from the judgment runs from the entry of the order disposing of the
motion:

(b)(1)(A) A motion for judgment under Rule 50(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil
Procedure;

(b)(1)(B) A motion to amend or make additional findings of fact, whether or not an
alteration of the judgment would be required if the motion is granted, under Rule 52(b)
of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure;

(b)(1)(C) A motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules
of Civil Procedure;

(b)(1)(D) A motion for a new trial under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure;
or

(b)(1)(E) A motion for a new trial under Rule 24 of the Utah Rules of Criminal
Procedure.

(b)(2) A notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, but before
entry of an order disposing of any motion listed in Rule 4(b), shall be treated as filed
after entry of the order and on the day thereof, except that such a notice of appeal is
effective to appeal only from the underlying judgment. To appeal from a final order
disposing of any motion listed in Rule 4(b), a party must file a notice of appeal or an
amended notice of appeal within the prescribed time measured from the entry of the

order.
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Rule 4. Effective Date: November 1, 2013

(c) Filing prior to entry of judgment or order. A notice of appeal filed after the
announcement of a decision, judgment, or order but before entry of the judgment or
order shall be treated as filed after such entry and on the day thereof.

(d) Additional or cross-appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, any
other party may file a notice of appeal within 14 days after the date on which the first
notice of appeal is docketed, or within the time otherwise prescribed by paragraphs (a)
and (b) of this rule, whichever period last expires.

(e) Extension of time to appeal. The trial court, upon a showing of excusable neglect
or good cause, may extend the time for filing a notice of appeal upon motion filed not
later than 30 days after the expiration of the time prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b)
of this rule. A motion filed before expiration of the prescribed time may be ex parte
unless the trial court otherwise requires. Notice of a motion filed after expiration of the
prescribed time shall be given to the other parties in accordance with the rules of
practice of the trial court. No extension shall exceed 30 days past the prescribed time or
10 days from the date of entry of the order granting the motion, whichever occurs later.

(f) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in criminal cases. Upon a
showing that a criminal defendant was deprived of the right to appeal, the trial court
shall reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct appeal. A defendant seeking such
reinstatement shall file a written motion in the sentencing court and serve the
prosecuting entity. If the defendant is not represented and is indigent, the court shall
appoint counsel. The prosecutor shall have 30 days after service of the motion to file a
written response. If the prosecutor opposes the motion, the trial court shall set a hearing
at which the parties may present evidence. If the trial court finds by a preponderance of
the evidence that the defendant has demonstrated that the defendant was deprived of
the right to appeal, it shall enter an order reinstating the time for appeal. The
defendant's notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days
after the date of entry of the order.

(g) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in civil cases.

(a)(1) The trial court shall reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct appeal if the

trial court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that:
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(a)(1)(A) The party seeking to appeal lacked actual notice of the entry of judgment at

a time that would have allowed the party to file a timely motion under paragraph (e) of

this rule;

(0)(1)(B) The party seeking to appeal exercised reasonable diligence in monitoring

the proceedings;

(0)(1)(C) The party, if any, responsible for serving the judgment under Rule 58A(d)

of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure did not promptly serve a copy of the signed

judgment on the party seeking to appeal.

(0)(2) A party seeking such reinstatement shall file a written motion in the trial court

within one year from the entry of judgment. The party shall comply with Rule 7 of the

Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and shall serve each of the parties in accordance with

Rule 5 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.

(0)(3) If the trial court enters an order reinstating the time for filing a direct appeal, a

notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after the date of entry of the order.

Advisory Committee Note
Subsection (f) was adopted to implement the holding and procedure outlined in
Manning v. State, 2005 UT 61, 122 P.3d 628.



