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Rule 14-712. Qualifications for admission based on MBE scoresUBE. 1 

(a) MBE UBE score transferability. The Bar will not accept MBE scores transferred 2 

from another jurisdiction unless the MBE is taken in the same examination period that 3 

the written component is taken in Utah. 4 

(b) How to transfer MBE scores. To transfer MBE scores, an applicant must send a 5 

written transfer request, along with the prescribed fee, to the NCBE. A transfer request 6 

form and fee information is provided by the NCBE website. See NCBE website at 7 

www.ncbex.org.An Applicant who has taken and completed the UBE in a single 8 

administration in a jurisdiction other than Utah may transfer the UBE score and file an 9 

application at any time provided: 10 

(a)(1) the Applicant has not been denied by any jurisdiction on character and fitness 11 

grounds; 12 

(a)(2) the UBE score is 270 or above; and 13 

(a)(3) the Bar receives the Applicant’s UBE score no later than nine months after the 14 

filing of the application. To transfer a UBE score, an Applicant must send a written 15 

transfer request, along with the prescribed fee, to the NCBE 16 

(b) Time limitations on transferability. The transferability of the UBE score will be 17 

subject to the following time limitations: 18 

(b)(1) the UBE score is transferable for all Applicants only if the UBE was 19 

administered within three prior examinations of the date the application is filed; 20 

(b)(2) the UBE may be transferable for up to five years if the Attorney Applicant can 21 

prove by clear and convincing evidence that she or he has been Actively and lawfully 22 

engaged in the Full-time Practice of Law as defined in Rule 14-701(b), (t) and (ee) in 23 

one or more jurisdictions since the administration of the UBE in which the passing score 24 

was earned. 25 

(c) Utah legal education requirement. Applicants who gain admission by transferring 26 

a UBE score and who have less than two years of legal practice must complete the New 27 

Lawyer Training Program as outlined in Rule 14-808. 28 

(c)(1) Those Applicants who gain admission by transferring a UBE score that have 29 

two or more years of legal practice shall complete and certify no later than six months 30 

following the Applicant’s admission that she or he has attended at least 15 hours of 31 
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continuing legal education on Utah practice and procedure and ethics and civility 32 

requirements. 33 

(c)(2) The Board may by regulation specify the number of the required 15 hours that 34 

must be in particular areas of practice, procedure, ethics and civility. Included in this 35 

mandatory 15 hours is attendance at the Bar’s OPC ethics school. 36 


