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Rule 6-601. Mental health commissioners. 1 

Intent: 2 

To identify the types of cases and matters which commissioners are authorized to 3 

hear, to identify the types of relief which commissioners may recommend, and to 4 

identify the types of orders which may be issued by commissioners. 5 

To establish a procedure for judicial review of commissioners' decisions. 6 

Applicability: 7 

This rule shall govern mental health proceedings for involuntary commitment of an 8 

individual. 9 

Statement of the Rule: 10 

(1) Types of cases and matters. All applications for involuntary commitment of 11 

individuals alleged to be mentally ill, which are filed in the district or Juvenile Court in 12 

counties where mental health commissioners are appointed and serving, shall be 13 

referred to the commissioner upon filing with the clerk of the court, unless otherwise 14 

ordered by the Ppresiding Jjudge of the District Court. 15 

(2) Authority of commissioner. 16 

(2)(A) The Except as limited in paragraph (4), the commissioner shall have the has 17 

authority to grant relief as set forth in Utah Code Section 62A-15-601 et seq Title 62A, 18 

Chapter 15, Part 6, Utah State Hospital and Other Mental Health Facilities. 19 

(2)(B) The commissioner shall have the has authority to sign orders directing 20 

individuals specified as designated examiners by the State Division of Mental Health to 21 

conduct examinations of proposed patients to determine whether the individual is 22 

mentally ill and should be involuntarily hospitalized. 23 

(2)(C) The commissioner shall have the has authority to recommend dismissal of the 24 

application based on the report of the examination. 25 

(2)(D) The commissioner shall have the has authority to hold an evidentiary hearing 26 

and make findings of fact, conclusions of law and recommendations to the court 27 

regarding the order for involuntary commitment of the proposed patient. 28 

(2)(E) The commissioner's recommendation has the effect of an order of the court 29 

until it is modified by the court. 30 
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(3) Judicial review. Any person hospitalized or a person's legally designated 31 

representative who is aggrieved by the findings, conclusions, and order of the court, has 32 

the right to a rehearing upon a petition filed with the court within 30 days of the entry of 33 

the court order. 34 

(3)(A) A petition for a new hearing under Section 62A-15-631(13) shall be filed within 35 

30 days after entry of the commissioner’s recommendations. 36 

(3)(B) If the new hearing is held before a commissioner, the person committed or 37 

that person’s representative may object to the commissioner’s recommendations under 38 

Rule of Civil Procedure 108. 39 

(4) Prohibitions. 40 

(4)(A) Commissioners shall not make final adjudications involuntarily hospitalizing an 41 

individual. 42 

(4)(B) Commissioners shall not serve as pro tempore judges in any matter, except 43 

as provided by Rule of the Supreme Court. 44 

 45 


