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Rule 4-907. Effective Date: April 1, 2012

Rule 4-907. Mandatery-dDivorce education_and divorce orientation courses.

Intent:

To establish-a

policies for the implementation of the divorce education course required by Utah Code

Section 30-3-11.3 and the divorce orientation course required by Utah Code Section 30-
3-11.4.

Applicability:

This rule shall apply to all diveree-proceedings in which-the-parties-have-a-child-or
children-underthe-age-of-18-ora-dependentadult Utah Code Section 30-3-11.3, Utah

Code Section 30-3-11.4 or a court order require attendance at one or both courses.

Statement of the Rule:

(1)

to-an-administraterir-The education department within the Administrative Office of the

Courts-

(3) The program administrator shall:
(1)(A) establish uniform specifications and standards for the_courses; eufriculum-and

MaiFheAdministrafmm—Q#iee—shail—(l)(B) issue a request for proposals te-providers-of
divorce-education-setting forth the uniform established-specifications and standards:;

thejudges-in-each-district—shall-(1)(C) award the-contracts for live courses; and

(1)(D) produce the courses by video and other effective formats.

£H-(2)(A) Each party te-a-complaintfor-diverce-required to attend one or both
courses shall—pHeHe—the—enfer—ef—the—deeFee—ef—dweree— attend the divorce-education

live course g

location at which it is offered.
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(2)(B) A party required to attend one or both courses may watch a video of the

course if:

(2)(B)(i) the party lives out of state or more than 60 miles from the nearest live class;

(2)(B)(ii) the party is in prison, jail or other detention facility;

(2)(B)(iii) the party is an in-patient at a medical facility; or

(2(B)(iv) the party’s request to watch the video is approved by the divorce education

administrator.

(2)(C) The party may purchase the video or watch it at any district court courthouse.

(3) The course provider or the custodian of the video shall provide the party with a
certificate of completion-te-the-coutt.

8y Fhe-clerk-shallatthe-time-a-complaintfor-diverce-(4) When the petition is filed,
the clerk shall notify the party-fiting-the-complaint-petitioner of the course requirement.

The party-filing-the-complaint-petitioner shall notify the etherparty-respondent of the
requirement and file a certificate-with-the-court-that- netice-has-been-given-and
identiying-the-type-of-notice-given of service of the notice.

46)-Each-party-(5) Any person attending a course shall present a valid form of photo
identification, and pay the course fee-irthe-mannerrequired-by-the providerto-the

orderto-determine-whetherthe-party-is-Hnpecunious an order waiving the fee or a

motion to waive fees that has been filed with the court. If the court determines that the

party is not impecunious, the court may enter judgment for the amount of the course
fee.

41)-(6) The course-fee foreach-participant-shall-for attending the education course

or watching the video is $35.00, which includes $8.00 which-the-course-providershall
remit-to-the-court-for deposit in the Children's Legal Defense Fund. The fee for attending
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the orientation course or watching the video is $20.00, which includes $5.00 for deposit

in the Children’s Legal Defense Fund. Fhe-course-providershallcomplete-a-certificate

cboopeplolon el c e e o e coee b

2)-(7) The course provider shall, within 72 hours of each course, provide the court

with an alphabetized list of each party who attenrded-and-completed the course.




