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Approved Effective April 1, 2009
Rule 38. Frials—denoveo—of-justice Appeals from justice court to district court court
proceedings.

(a) Appeal of a judgment or order of the justice court is as provided in Utah Code Section

78-5-120. A case appealed from a justice court shall be heard in a district courthouse located in the

same county as the justice court from which the case is appealed. In counties with multiple district

courthouse locations, the presiding judge of the district court shall determine the appropriate location

for the hearing of appeals.

te) (b) The notice of appeal. The

(b)(1) A notice of appeal from an order or judgment must be filed within thirty 30 days of the

entry of jadgmer appeat that order or

judgment.
(b)(2) Contents of the notice. The notice required by this rule shall be in the form of, or

substantially similar to, that provided in the appendix of this rule. At a minimum the notice shall

contain:

(b)(2)(A) a statement of the order or judgment being appealed and the date of entry of that order

or judgment;

(b)(2)(B) the current address at which the appealing party may receive notices concerning the

appeal;

(b)(2)(C) a statement as to whether the defendant is in custody because of the order or judgment

appealed; and
(b)(2)(D) a statement that the notice has been served on the opposing party and the method of

that service.

(b)(3) Deficiencies in the form of the filing shall not cause the court to reject the filing. They

may, however, impact the efficient processing of the appeal.

(c) Duties of the justice court. Within five days of receiving the notice of appeal, the justice

court shall transmit to the appropriate district court a certified eopyofthedocket appeal packet
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containing copies of:

(c)(1) the notice of appeal;
(¢)(2) the docket;
(c)(3) the information or watverof-mformatton; citation;

(c)(4) the judgment and sentence, if any; and

(c)(5) any other orders and papers filed in the case.

(d) Duties of the district court.

(d)(1) Upon receipt of the appeal packet from the justice court, the district court shall hold a

scheduling conference to determine what issues must be resolved by the appeal. The district court

shall send notices to the appellant at the address provided on the notice of appeal. Notices to the

other party shall be to the address provided in the justice court docket for that party.

(d)(2) If the defendant is in custody because of the matter appealed, the district court shall hold

the conference within five days of the receipt of the appeals packet. If the defendant is not in custody

because of the matter appealed, the court shall hold the conference within 30 days of receipt of the

appeals packet.

(e) District court crocedures for trials de novo. An appeal by a defendant pursuant to Utah Code

Ann. § 78A-7-118(1) shall be accomplished by the following procedures:

(e)(1) If the defendant elects to go to trial, the district court will determine what number and level

of offenses the defendant is facing.

(e)(2) Discovery, the trial, and any pre-trial evidentiary matters the court deems necessary, shall

be held in accordance with these rules.

(e)(3) After the trial, the district court shall, if appropriate, sentence the defendant and enter

judgment in the case as provided in these rules and otherwise by law.

(e€)(4) When entered, the judgment of conviction or order of dismissal serves to vacate the

judgment or orders of the justice court and becomes the judgment of the case.

(e)(5) A defendant may resolve an appeal by waiving trial and compromising the case by any
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process authorized by law to resolve a criminal case.

(e)(5)(A) Any plea shall be taken in accordance with these rules.

(e)(5)(B) The court shall proceed to sentence the defendant or enter such other orders required

by the particular plea or disposition.

(€)(5)(C) When entered, the district court’s judgment or other orders vacate the orders or

judgment of the justice court and become the order or judgment of the case.

(e)(5)(D) A defendant who moves to withdraw a plea entered pursuant to this section may only

seek to withdraw it pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. § 77-13-6.

(e)(6) Other dispositions. A defendant, at a point prior to judgment, by plea or trial, may choose

to withdraw the appeal and have the case remanded to the justice court. Within 10 days of the

defendant notifying the court of such an election, the district court shall remand the case to the

justice court.

(f) District court procedures for hearings de novo. If the appeal seeks a de novo hearing pursuant

to Utah Code Ann. § 78A-7-118(3) or (4); and

(H)(1) the court shall conduct such hearing and make the appropriate findings or orders.




88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107

Approved Effective April 1, 2009

(H)(2) Within 10 days of entering its findings or orders, the district court shall remand the case

to the justice court asrequired-by Ytahr-Code-Seetton78=5=126-, unless the case is disposed of by the

findings or orders, or the district court retains jurisdiction pursuant to § 78A-7-118(5).

(2) Retained jurisdiction. In cases where the district court retains jurisdiction after disposing of

the matters on appeal, the court shall order the justice court to forward all cash bail, other security,

or revenues received by the justice court to the district court for disposition. The justice court shall

transmit such monies or securities within 20 days of receiving the order.

(h) Other bases for remand. The district court may also remand a case to the justice court if it

finds that the defendant has abandoned the appeal.

(1) Justice court procedures on remand. Upon receiving a remanded case, the justice court shall

set a review conference to determine what, if any proceedings need be taken. If the defendant is in

custody because of the case being considered, such hearing shall be had within five days of receipt

of the order of remand. Otherwise, the review conference should be had within 30 days. The court

shall send notice of the review conference to the parties at the addresses contained in the notice of

appeal, unless those have been updated by the district court.

(1) During the pendency of the appeal, and until a judgment, order of dismissal, or other final

order is entered in the district court, the justice court shall retain jurisdiction to monitor terms of

probation or other consequences of the plea or judgment, unless those orders or terms are stayed

pursuant to Rule 27A.




