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Rule 14-808. New lawyer training program. 1 

(a) Applicability. All new lawyers admitted to practice law in Utah on active status 2 

and unless otherwise specified in this rule must timely complete the requirements of the 3 

Bar’s NLTP unless otherwise specified in this rule. 4 

(a)(1) It is the new lawyer's responsibility to ensure that all aspects of the NLTP 5 

requirements are met within the required 12 month period in order to renew licensure. 6 

This includes but is not limited to filing a Mentoring Completion cCertification executed 7 

by the assigned mentor attesting to evidencing successful completion of the 8 

programNLTP.  9 

(a)(2) The NLTP is intended to fulfill the requirements of new lawyer MCLE within 10 

the first year of the lawyer’s two-year compliance period. The remaining 12 hours 11 

required in the two year compliance cycle may be fulfilled at anytime by attending other 12 

accredited CLE in accordance with the MCLE rules.  13 

(b) Appointment of qualified mentors. The Court will appoint qualifying mentors in 14 

accordance with the NLTP guidelines. 15 

(bc) Deferrals.  16 

(bc)(1) Those newly admitted lawyers serving judicial law clerkships may apply for 17 

temporary deferral at the Bar’s NLTP office until completion of the clerkship. Upon 18 

completion of the clerkship, the lawyer must enroll and complete the NLTP's 19 

requirements in a 12 month period.  20 

(bc)(2) Those newly admitted lawyers who are otherwise not engaged in the practice 21 

of law as defined by Supreme Court rules or who are unemployed may petition the 22 

NLTP offices for temporary deferral of these requirements.  23 

(cd ) Exemptions. Those lawyers exempt from completing the NLTP are limited to: 24 

(cd )(1) Newly admitted lawyers on active status who do not reside in Utah. Such 25 

lawyers are required to fulfill  MCLE requirements in their state of residency under the 26 

Supreme Court's approved MCLE rules.   27 

(cd)(2) Newly admitted Utah lawyers on active status who were have been admitted 28 

to practice by motion as defined under the Bar's Rules Governing Admissionon active 29 

status who have practiced law elsewhere for two years or more.  30 
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(c)(3) Newly admitted lawyers who were admitted to practice in Utah after being 31 

actively engaged in the practice of law for at least two years in another state prior to 32 

admission in Utah.  33 

(de) Cost. There is a fee associated with enrollment in the NLTP of $300. One half of 34 

the amount is due at time of enrollment after admission and the remainder at time of 35 

completion of the program.  36 

(ef) Administrative suspension and non-renewal of license for non-compliance. 37 

Unless otherwise approved by the NLTP office for good cause, failure to timely 38 

complete the program will result in administrative suspension of the lawyer’s license for 39 

non-compliance with this rule.  40 

(fg) NLTP curriculum and other information. Complete information relating to the 41 

NLTP requirements and guidelines may be found on the Bar's website or through the 42 

Bar’s NLTP office. The Bar has developed a proposed NLTP Manual which delineates 43 

the requirements that must be completed during the 12 month period. The Manual also 44 

includes a Model Mentoring Plan, a time line, necessary forms and suggestions for 45 

developing effective mentoring relationships. The proposed NLTP Manual may be found 46 

by contacting the Bar or on the Bar’s website. 47 

 48 


