« Wireless Password: daisy | Main | Citizenship Day »

New Utah Judges

ct up.jpgThe Utah State Senate yesterday voted to confirm David Hamilton (Second District), Michelle Heward (Second District Juvenile), Noel Hyde (Second District), Jeffrey Noland (Second District Juvenile), and Karla Staheli (Fith District Juvenile) as new Utah State Court judges.

For information about the new judges, check out Governor Herbert's news release announcing his nominations. The news release about Judge Staheli is here; the news release about the four other judges is here. After the governor makes his nominations, the Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee convenes to discuss the character and fitness of the nominees. The audio recordings, agenda and committee reports are available online. To find recordings and reports about these five judges, select the August 31, 2010 and September 1, 2010 meeting dates.

In this case, the committee gave a favorable report for the five nominees, so their names were forwarded to the entire senate, which met yesterday, September 15, in the 2010 11th Extraordinary Session to vote on the governor's nominations. The audio recording and related materials are also available online.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)