Utah State Courts
Utah State Courts - Court Performance Measures

Access and Fairness Survey

Access and Fairness - Question 17
  • 1st District (Box Elder County | Cache County | Rich County)
  • 2nd District (Davis County | Morgan County | Weber County)
  • 3rd District (Salt Lake County | Summit County | Tooele County)
  • 4th District (Juab County | Millard County | Utah County | Wasatch County)
  • 5th District (Beaver County | Iron County | Washington County)
  • 6th District (Garfield County | Kane County | Piute County | Sanpete County | Sevier County | Wayne County)
  • 7th District (Carbon County | Emery County | Grand County | San Juan County)
  • 8th District (Daggett County | Duchesne County | Uintah County)
Why Access and Fairness in the Courts is Important
A fair decision under the law is the cornerstone of the Utah courts. Fairness is just a word if the people cannot access their courts. The Judicial Council remains committed to achieving both access and fairness, and measuring progress towards those goals through the opinions of the people who use the courts.

The Access and Fairness Survey is conducted annually in each district courthouse in the state for one full court day. All court "customers" are asked to take the survey as they leave the courthouse. A customer includes attorneys, litigants and their families and friends, witnesses, victims, social service agency staff, jurors, paralegals and other law office staff, and law enforcement. Not included in the customer category are court staff, court security officers and anyone else who works for the court or in the courthouse.