

Copy Services for Prisoners

The Utah State Law Library provides copy services for prisoners in Utah. Limited service is provided to prisoners outside of Utah.

Services Provided for Prisoners in Utah

We will copy cases, statutes, treatises, journal articles, Utah appellate briefs, and other legal materials from our library's print or electronic collection and will KeyCite (Shepardize) citations for prisoners in Utah.

Services Provided for Prisoners Outside of Utah

We will only copy superseded Utah code sections or Utah appellate briefs for prisoners outside of Utah. We do not provide any other resources to prisoners outside of Utah.

We cannot do legal research or provide legal advice. We will send – at no charge – copies of sections from an index or a table of contents when possible to help you narrow your request.

Charges

Copies	25d open
Copies	25¢ each
	We will copy two book pages on one side of paper, and copy on both sides of a page to save paper. You are charged for each side.
Postage	\$3.00
	If you are incarcerated at Salt Lake County Jail, Utah State Prison, or Central Utah Correctional Facility, we will send your request by interoffice mail so there is no postage charge .

Paying for Copies

- Advance payment is required. We will not process your request until we have received payment.
- There is no minimum deposit. The maximum balance is \$100.
- We can provide an estimate of how much your request will cost.
- Make checks or money orders payable to Utah State Law Library.
- Friends or family may deposit money into your account using a credit card (Visa or MasterCard).

How to Make a Request

Make your requests specific and provide citations.

Examples of specific requests	Examples of vague requests §
State v. Smith, 1 P.3d 100 (1988)	Cases on sentencing
Utah Code 76-3-101 as it was in 1999	Anything you have on the Fourth Amendment
Court of Appeals briefs for State v. Smith, no. 8900024	Recent changes to drug statutes
Docket for district court case no. 153153153	A narrative description of things that happened in your case

Mail your request to:

Utah State Law Library 450 S. State St., W-13 P.O. Box 140220 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0220

What You Can Expect from the Utah State Law Library

- We will do our best to process your request within five business days of receiving it. Large requests will take longer.
- We will send you a receipt for your deposit.
- We will include a letter with your copies explaining how we filled your request, how much
 you were charged, and the amount of your current balance. If we cannot fill some or all of
 your entire request, we will explain why.
- We will send you an annual letter notifying you of your balance and ask if you want to maintain the account, or have your balance refunded to you.

NOTICE: WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.